Break the Silence Event-extended!
skip

Reviews for "ants........................"

zendada
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 19, 2008 @ 5:13 PM
Mystro’s music evokes a blend of Ravel’s “Bolero” and Led Zeppelin’s “Kashmir”, a Persian carpet of ostinato strings, electronic textures, and a driving beat. Over, under, and between this backdrop Anchor Mejans weaves a mesmerizing vocal spell that calls to question rationality and our perception, or mis-perception of reality. Much food for thought here which can also be digested thoroughly on a level of pure visceral enjoyment.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Sat, Sep 20, 2008 @ 3:42 AM
ZendaDa! nice to hear from you. Thanks for the insightful review and summing up exactly what I had intended in those lyrics!
duckett
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 19, 2008 @ 5:27 PM
Wow Anchor- each time I stop and check in to see what you’ve been up to, I’m very pleasantly surprised! Though you’ve stayed true to your personal vision, there seems to be an increasing confidence and expansion with each upload, and this remix is a perfect example… so many little touches that add to the overall effect. Cinematic, and unafraid to travel from micro- to macrocosm, the steady propulsion of mystro’s sample provides all the steam needed for this eclectic excursion

PS: between my “hornet” and your “ants”, we are definitely on the forefront of the entomologically-oriented remix universe ;-)
 
.
permalink   Anchor Sat, Sep 20, 2008 @ 3:43 AM
Sir Duck - thanks…its always a pleasure to hear your point of view - so well expressed!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 19, 2008 @ 6:04 PM
Try as I do everytime I hear the word ANTS I think of Dreamworks ANTZ!!

Good fit of the lyrics to the music but I can still hear Woody Allen’s “Z” in the background!!

I thank God the child is still in me!!
 
.
permalink   Anchor Sat, Sep 20, 2008 @ 3:39 AM
Thanks RT - I did not see that film so the reference is lost on me, but I do understand associations. I always think of Salvador Dali and his ants…but actually, the ants are only symbols of the many activities and destinies of mankind…and I hoped the song would not be taken purely as song about insect life…but you knew that, being used to complex themes!
panu
.
permalink   Fri, Sep 19, 2008 @ 6:15 PM
a fine outing & a fitting tome to the little buggers who keep the world clean. as always your excellent vocal defies genre and is a breath of fresh air for straying far forward of fashion. p
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Sep 24, 2008 @ 11:41 AM
thanks for constant support Sahib!
essesq
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 20, 2008 @ 5:04 PM
Your stuff never ceases to amaze me, Anchor. A perfect blend of provocation and amusement, intellectual challenge and fancy-tickle. You’ve added some great sounds to this instrumental, but also picked such a good match for your subject, that sense of marching ever onward really carries through.

As a recently disappointed owner of an ant farm (ants arrived and 80% lie dead in the farm while a couple of guys do all the work and it all seems rather sad seeing the corpses just laying there with the few live ones scurrying around. Not exactly the demo of society I was expecting to witness…) this struck a peculiar chord with me.

Very well done.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Tue, Sep 23, 2008 @ 5:40 AM
Thanks my dear essesq -
I love reading your reviews…always thoughtful and clear…so one knows you really did listen!
places_to_know
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 20, 2008 @ 5:43 PM
Man, this is excellent.
Just can’t place exactly what it puts me in mind of, but it ticks along with much style and grace and off-kilterness. And ants are wonderful.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Tue, Sep 23, 2008 @ 5:43 AM
thanks for taking a moment to review this piece…(I really like your avatar image by the way)
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 22, 2008 @ 11:52 PM
crazy! it’s got this byrne/morrisey quality to the vocals that is so both spot on and over the top at the same time it’s scary. and the harmony vocals too. great stuff anchor.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Tue, Sep 23, 2008 @ 5:44 AM
MCJ!
appreciate the insightful review…
and musical references!
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 24, 2008 @ 7:04 AM
just nuts and wonderful all at once. This one is definitely in the ‘awestruck’ camp mon ami!
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Sep 24, 2008 @ 11:37 AM
thankyou m’dear - I know you understand my quirky psyche!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 24, 2008 @ 11:15 AM
Some years ago i holidayed with a lady friend at a beach house in Cyprus.

On the second night ants broke in and ate her favourite underwear that she had folded freshly in a drawer.

Retaliation was swift and the following nights she would ambush them with a slipper.

There was much sport on her part, but little romance, so i never really forgave them.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Sep 24, 2008 @ 11:40 AM
what a great little anecdotal story - a whole short story or film script could develop out of that tale…but I can sympathize about the downside, especially during a holiday!
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 24, 2008 @ 11:23 AM
A voice from nowhere..a music from nowhere..Each of your song is new world..i love that..!!! You are an E.T..
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Sep 24, 2008 @ 11:35 AM
Thanks D.D. - I appreciate the kind accolades. Regarding my E.T. status -
ma famille serait d’accord avec vous………….
Johnny SockHead
.
permalink   Wed, Sep 24, 2008 @ 6:58 PM
Weirdly enough, the strings remind me of an old Led Zep tune. (thetitle eludes me). The lyrics are modern, scientific jargon reformed to be observational statements on human activity? Great combo of talent.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 9, 2008 @ 1:54 PM
I am still translating(or better I am trying to) all these phrases. You_re right, these are words normally not found in songs. What a collection of words and ciphers. Don_t know if I understand completely everything. This is amazing, what a subject. I saw the recommends on the original track and people like fourstones,Clarence Bodicker and duckett love these beats that remind on a more hiphop track. But you wrapped it around and made it to your own style. Very good with a lot of neat details like the efx on polyglots in babel e.g. really thoughtful songwriting.
I regret not being able to express my thoughts in decent English.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Fri, Oct 10, 2008 @ 4:42 AM
J -
thanks for keeping an eye on me! AS for your ability to express yourself in English - I wouldn’t worry much about that…you manage to convey your thoughts quite well outside of your native German!