Temperate Transitions Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » Jeris » I am a Stone » Reviews

Reviews for "I am a Stone"

I am a Stone
by Jeris
Recommends (27)
Fri, Mar 2, 2012 @ 4:46 PM

Samples are used in:

 
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 1:56 AM
Your voices go great together. I like this a lot. No retro, no specific genre, no cheap tricks, just…new. And good.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 11:36 AM
Thanks man! Yeah..I think retro and cheap tricks is really who I am though…lol

I really like working with Kaer’s voice, it’s almost like an effect the way she really cuts through in a mix. I really like how a lot of her stuff does avoid specific genres too. I always liked what John Medeski calls it ..”homeless music”
 
.
permalink   timberman Mon, Mar 5, 2012 @ 8:43 PM
Yeah, that was indeed a good advice from colab. It’s even better now. I agree with him that it’s one of the best things here in a while. Really.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 5:33 AM
Wow, thanks man!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 2:02 AM
Smoove
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 11:36 AM
Thanks TRF!
Javolenus
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 2:05 AM
Thanks for this. You do really original stuff—exceptional work!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 11:37 AM
Thanks…btw I downloaded ALL of your stuff yesterday!!
I’m working another one too. I just love your acoustic stuff in particular!
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 5:33 AM
excellent from concept to hitting the stop button.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 11:37 AM
Thanks Panu!!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 12:52 PM
I think this is the second time you’ve sung with Kaer, unless I’ve missed one? It’s a fantastic combination. And, naturally, the backing track is superlative.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 1:25 PM
Thanks Ciggi!! I think I have one or two more with her but not published yet.
Carosone
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 3:31 PM
Great! I love the harmonies, the piano-guitar interaction and the slide effects. The duet form is intriguing, it was some time that I hadn’t heard Kaer’s voice and I’m also happy of this.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sat, Mar 3, 2012 @ 5:10 PM
Thanks!!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 2:51 PM
The new version is even better. I downloaded it in case you should change your mind about it!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 3:05 PM
lol, I’m really bad about that. I’m pretty happy with this one now. I tightened up the percussion yesterday. Glad you like it : )
KungFu
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 4, 2012 @ 6:12 PM
Wow… You did it again. Great work for a really solid tune!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Mar 4, 2012 @ 6:18 PM
Thanks!!
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 4, 2012 @ 7:20 PM
Hey now. This is just lovely. The music and vocals are pure excellence. All elements work together so well - like how the slide guitar complements the soundscape of the bass/piano/guitar. Beautiful.

I think the fast drums are a bit out of place with this track though - both in mixing and the style. Maybe if they were half the current tempo?

That said, this track is still one of the best things I’ve heard in a while.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Mon, Mar 5, 2012 @ 5:50 AM
Thanks man, that’s sound advice. I’ll probably revisit this one tonight.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Mon, Mar 5, 2012 @ 3:44 PM
Man you have good ears. I just tried listening to it without the drums, but I left the percussion track in..I like it way better. I’m leaving both versions in the downloads, but without the drums will be the preview.

Thanks man.
 
.
permalink   colab Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 5:15 AM
Wow - thanks for going through the effort of doing this. Really appreciate it. I would ed-pick in a heartbeat.

Thanks again. I feel like I just got a Christmas wish granted. :)
 
.
permalink   Jeris Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 5:32 AM
Thanks man, I’m glad you pointed it out. Good to get fresh ears on something sometimes. I think the percussion during the guitar solo needs some tightening up. I’ll probably tweak that a bit sometime this week.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 7:08 AM
Oh yes - this tweaked version brings out the soul of the song so that it’s even more beautiful. Colab’s quite useful sometimes.
 
.
permalink   Javolenus Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 11:18 AM
A good track just got better! Really brilliant!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 11:34 AM
Thanks, your parts were the glue!
 
.
permalink   Jeris Tue, Mar 6, 2012 @ 11:33 AM
Thanks Ciggi!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 7:47 PM
Stunning. Ed picked.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Thu, Mar 8, 2012 @ 9:16 PM
Oh wow, thanks Susan, glad you like it!