Secret Mixter Tracks
skip
Home » People » TheJoe » Today » Reviews

Reviews for "Today"

Today
by TheJoe
Recommends (25)
Sat, Jun 27, 2009 @ 10:58 AM
Play Today

Uses samples from:

 
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 27, 2009 @ 11:36 AM
Honestly, I’m not really drawn to Kristin’s raw power vocal style. That said, you’ve produced a rich, warm backing that soothes and relaxes. The lower frequencies sound well inter weaved on my cans and the higher end strings keep things fresh (love string work near the end). Yup, I likes.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 2:22 PM
Thanks Scott!

Always nice to get a review from the (other) master of dancefloor and uptempo tracks.
Kristin_s vocals: always a matter of taste of course, but I like her voice and didn_t dared till now to do something on it.

Cheers!
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 27, 2009 @ 12:10 PM
You put Kristin against an unexpected (not from you, but for her) backdrop and make it sound good and natural. Good stuff!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 2:24 PM
Thank you Michel!

You already know, I am not that experimental music guy. My comfort zone is pop music, but your comment made me think about to leave this area once and do sort of “wild” thing though :-)
narva9
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 27, 2009 @ 8:46 PM
Lovely. Just lovely.
I imagine this is what Joe Cocker would sound like as a woman :-)

Thanks for sharing,
n9
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 2:26 PM
Thanks narva9 for the lovely review!

Your Joe Cocker idea made me smile and laugh a lot!!
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 1:04 AM
Really nice Joe. I do like Kristins smokey vocals and you’ve managed to fit her against a contrasting backing.
Love the bass, and as always your keys and strings are right on!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 2:29 PM
Scomber, thanks a lot for reviewing!

I put up the instrumental and the mid. files. See my details!
fourstones
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 6:23 PM
well I am drawn to her vocals (more than is probably healthy) and this treat is just plain wild.

Please don’t take this wrong way but I’m thinking it was all done with a big wink - the same way Sid Vicious covered “My Way” and Patti Smith doing “You Light Up My Life”.

Putting everything else aside, this arrangement is quite the achievement - I mean just knock-your-socks-off melding of the vocals with the arrangement.

Now, please, stems… ;)

 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 2:34 PM
Thanks fourstones!

Well, I didn_t intended to do something like your mentioned artists. I had a listen on youtube today and was pretty surprised about both versions. And so I know now what you meant by that.

I put up the instrumental and mid. files for any different try on this. See my update for further explications in the details.

Thanks again and now, please, remixes… ;-)
Anchor
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 7:01 AM
J
this has your full blown love of lush orchestration - perhaps part of your signature style. Nice job in production - carries the mood of the vocal. Enjoyed it!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 2:38 PM
Thanks Anchor,

I was always addicted by strings and “cheezy” chord progressions ;-).

This indeed carries a sort of a beloved personal mood.

Love your term “signature style”!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 8:17 PM
I had to come back to let you know that I love hearing Kristin’s raw, emotional voice in the context of your lush, satiny mix — this juxtaposition is inspired!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 10:54 AM
Thanks a lot for the review Susan!

Glad you like it, even if this backing is another recycled one.

I definetly should make something new…
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 5, 2009 @ 9:34 AM
The “rockeuse”, and the “po├Ęte”..Nice union..I like the way that you serve this very beautiful voice and this beautiful melody..Simply..Modestly..Good and emotional work..
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Mon, Jul 6, 2009 @ 9:18 AM
Thanks ditto ditto!

I was a bit surprised that an 13
year old song/arrangment can suit the extraordinary vocals of Kristin Hersh.
Sometimes recycling is worth the procedure ;-)!