Perfect Harmony Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Tenny » Just You And Me » Reviews

Reviews for "Just You And Me"

Just You And Me
by Tenny
Recommends (19)
Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 2:47 AM
 
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 3:05 AM
Well i love your track. There’s a lot of musical references here from inside such a simple groove.

However what i equally appreciate is allowing you enthusiasm to spill over into your notes.

Being part of this or any remix site is not about being aloof but sharing your skills and abilities along with your experience with others here and clearly you had a great time.

I have had a long debate about why we do this for free. In between the lines of your notes is a clearer reason than any i have heard.

Well Done.
 
.
permalink   Tenny Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 11:03 AM
LS, I am humbled by your appreciation of my track. Also as a huge supporter of “free” music. While I would love to get paid at some point for my music, I never want to stop giving my musical creations away for free. I love music; it makes me feel alive.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 4:20 AM
This remix involves a lot of detailed construction—a lot of snipping and threading and intense needlework. You manage to pull off a really nice mix. I like the way the vocals are used in particular, woven into the piece with a sense of confidence and expertise. A very good mix.
 
.
permalink   Tenny Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 11:08 AM
I love the way you describe this song!! Every bit of it is true true true! I spent more time on the smallest of details but that was something I challenged myself to do. I was seriously humbled by this experience and cannot wait to use some of the same song development thoughtfulness on future remixes. I appreciate your kind feedback!!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 5:36 AM
Tenny! This is fantastic! I have a big ol’ smile on my face. The music on it’s own generates that (nothing like a great tribal beat to whet my whistle) — but your notes too, really enhance the experience of this track. Great job!
 
.
permalink   Tenny Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 11:50 AM
*blush* Well now I got a big ol’ smile on my face! Thank you for the super kind words and I couldn’t agree with you more about tribal beats. There is something about a tribal beat that moves a song along so well.
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 6:05 AM
What LS said.

Seriously - I love this track. Very much like how it evolves throughout the track, and you’ve made really good use of the source materials with a very clean production.

Nice nice nice. Great work.
 
.
permalink   Tenny Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 11:57 AM
Mikael, Thank you for the positive review! It is an awesome feeling to get a review like this from a fellow musician you highly respect. I am so glad you feel the evolution of the track. I think I worked on that more then anything else. In the past I have been know to blanket a track in effects, but this time I made sure to spend a tremendous amount of time toying with the effects through out the track. I really felt it helped with the end result. I think while working on this track I found like 10 more uses for your sample too, lol. Either way, thanks for the praise.
HEKTOR THILLET (coffeeeurope)
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 11:37 AM
Wop! Wop! lol As a percussion addict—you know I love this. Good job! Anyway! Back to shaking…
 
.
permalink   Tenny Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 5:29 AM
Thanks Hektor! Appreciate the feedback and I couldn’t agree with you more on the percussion, man can that get me movin ‘n shakin!!
spinmeister
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 12:04 PM
A musical delight indeed! Skilled and caring craftsmanship combined with the pure joy of making music is calling out loud from your work. Most excellent!
 
.
permalink   Tenny Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 5:31 AM
Thank you for the kind feedback! I am also glad I could connect up with you on twitter. This music community is one of the best in the world!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 3:22 PM
your mix become even more inspiring to me while reading your story about creating it. excellent work!
 
.
permalink   Tenny Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 5:36 AM
Thanks Emily! I am so glad you enjoyed the song and the story. I read your blog post on your remix as well and it brought a smile to my face. I am so glad as a community we can share so much of our creation process with one another without greed or capitalism clouding our judgment.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 10:43 AM
yes! i believe music has this power to bring out the very best in humanity….and i believe we may all just be a part of that needed transformation….
wellman
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 4, 2009 @ 6:48 PM
Amazing!! What a great use of the beat!!! Very Very Cool indeed! I really like it! Congratulations!
 
.
permalink   Tenny Thu, Nov 5, 2009 @ 5:28 AM
Thanks!! I am super happy you like it. Also If you listen carefully with a bass heavy system you may hear a recognizable bass line at various times ;) I used the Bass line from your sample pack as well, ran it through a vocoder as the modulation envelope, using it as a trigger for a bottomed out bass. Not something that is easy to pick out, but it helped smooth out the side-chain effects of the strings & piano.
DJ_Evermix
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 21, 2013 @ 6:13 PM
my hats off to you man…this stuff has great percussion! It’s definitely a toe tapper or better yet…it’s the kind of stuff in the club that could make the people move. Props.