Vid of Perspectives at Art City!
skip
Home » People » SackJo22 » The Boy Loves » Reviews

Reviews for "The Boy Loves"

The Boy Loves
by SackJo22
Recommends (39)
Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 9:19 AM
 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 9:27 AM
I love it when people are able to create actual songs out of the samples they’re working with. I’d claim to hear a hint of Joni Mitchell, or hear a hint of Chris Isaak in Haskell’s playing, but really this is a very original and artistic creation, and its so cool that even the lyric is a remix of song titles. :)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 9:28 AM
Thanks Admiral! This one was a beast…and now that it’s up (although not necessarily done) I can join the secret mixter listening party! Hooray!!!!!
 
.
permalink   Anchor Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 2:48 PM
Quote: SackJo22Thanks Admiral! This one was a beast…and now that it’s up (although not necessarily done) I can join the secret mixter listening party! Hooray!!!!!

I second that!!
copperhead
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 9:30 AM
Your vocal lines always amaze me Susan! I could listen to this all day! It reminds me of the Paul Simon album Graceland.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 9:32 AM
Wow! What a compliment. Thanks Greg! I’m enjoying listening now to the uploads… I look forward to hearing yours! (I’m a bit ocd about my secret mixter listening… I listen in chronological order and make it a point to listen to everyone’s offering).
mdp
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 9:51 AM
Nice Song susan
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 9:52 AM
Thank you so much.
Abstract Audio
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 10:14 AM
Once again your voice amazes me me, very nice recordings btw. Love the short reverb you used.

And like AB said I like the idea of remixing the song titles I think that’s a first time that’s done.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 10:18 AM
Thank you so much. I actually thought of you a lot as I was mastering… Interestingly, I was just listening to your secret mixter offering…
Alex
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 10:34 AM
A very relaxing and enjoyable listen Susan! Nice! Your vocal is a beauty as always!!! Beautiful!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 11:25 AM
Thank you Alex. It pleases me to hear you enjoyed my work!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 11:22 AM
your creativity always amazes me! how very cool to create lyrics from vidian’s song titles - i love that! is that you on the low harmonies too? those are so tasty! you have such a natural sense for melody and song structure. this is a perfect blend of you and Vidian (and Haskel of course ) - a great example of what a Secret Mixter is all about!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 11:27 AM
Thank you Emily. And yes, the low harmonies are me too (the only benefit of laryngytis perhaps). I’m so happy I was able to finish… it was a close call!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 11:34 AM
you would never know about the laryngitis of the possibility of not finishing! you’ve really done another amazing mix!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 11:32 AM
Such a sweet, creative, beautiful, uplifting, infectious treat! Well done, Susan!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 12:19 PM
Thank you Kara for such nice words! You made me a bit happier today.
Down With Ben
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 12:11 PM
This is great stuff. Gentle, poetic, soothing. I could listen to this for hours.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 12:19 PM
Thank you Ben. You probably need something soothing after you get your brood to bed! ;)
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 12:12 PM
I love you as well, SackJo if that’s any consideration? ;)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 12:20 PM
Totally — cuz’ tis all about being loved baby! Thank you. :)
HEJ31
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 12:29 PM
You made a song out of samples. Laryngytis suits you, ‘cause the vocals are very good. Poetic lyrics. “Dance to shed his sin” combined with the disco beat does take me to the era of post-punk- electro-bowie-homage-ism. Which I don’t mean as a bad thing.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 12:31 PM
You know me all too well Mr. Joseph. Thanks for playing guitar too — as always, you delivered the goods!
debbizo
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 12:58 PM
Gorgeous harmonies and lovely lyrics!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 4:32 PM
Thank you Deb. I appreciate that you listened and have such kind thoughts to share with me. The lyrics were written from a place of love so I hope that came across.
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 1:26 PM
very, very nice.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 4:33 PM
Thank you Mr. Moon. Thank you.
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 1:27 PM
I was searching my memory for references so I could write a smart review but I really couldn’t come up with something or someone that this sounds like. It’s just…new…and you!
New without being difficult or avant garde isn’t easy but you’ve done it. A very pleasant aural experience and it’s ready for the radio.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 4:35 PM
Thank you Per. I’m happy to have your sincere support and encouragement. It means a lot.
Vidian
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 5:35 PM
Hay :D This is awesome! I’m so glad you got me… The Lyrics were very personal. Its like you used everything you knew about to me to an audio connection. Its awe-ing. Thank you Susan :) of course I like the lyrics, but the low droning you did with the music was awesome :D
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 5:37 PM
I am so glad (and relieved) to hear that you like the song V. It was really written with love and care. We’re so lucky that we have music to communicate with each other in this way.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 5:40 PM
btw — those are your drones!
 
.
permalink   Vidian Sun, Jun 5, 2011 @ 12:53 PM
I’m having a bad day today, I came on wanting to forget everything I’m dealing with right now, and I just re-found this and listened again, and seriously.. my plan didn’t work, I’m crying right now :( But its good I guess.. I have to deal with it sooner or later, and It starts now. Thanks again for this remix. I
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Jun 5, 2011 @ 12:54 PM
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 7:55 PM
Dreamy Indeed
Once again your vocals shine
Top notch production as always
Great Mix
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Sun, Mar 27, 2011 @ 8:22 PM
Thank you thank you J. It’s always such a treat to get your positive vibe feedback.
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 29, 2011 @ 9:27 AM
Lyrically a painting of healing and growth, resoundingly blue in tone, The Boy Loves is as so many mixters have echoed, a mix that has no end, even after the song is over. NIce work Sackjo22!
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Wed, Mar 30, 2011 @ 11:21 AM
Thank you dear Spinning M.
HEKTOR THILLET (coffeeeurope)
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 29, 2011 @ 11:40 PM
You know this boy loves it! B-)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Wed, Mar 30, 2011 @ 11:22 AM
Thanks doll — so nice to know you listened and enjoyed. xx
djolliej
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 30, 2011 @ 10:38 AM
Did I ever tell you that I am addicted to your voice?

I have really liked mixing the both (Vidian) of you. I thought it would be odd if I used your vocals often in my remixes, but I really don’t care now.

 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Wed, Mar 30, 2011 @ 11:25 AM
Wow! You made my day with this very nice review. Thank you so very much — I’m glad my voice pleases you.
Carosone
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 30, 2011 @ 1:43 PM
My favourite secret-mixter remix so far. You write you rushed to have it completed, I see you might go back to the master in the future, in the first part voices sound separated from music as if they had a different reverb and this does not fit. In the middle, when you start singing Vidian’s titles, the song lifts up in the sky above: the sound is stellar, your multiple voices are not second to Frank Carter III and very original. The way you use voice as a brass instrument, with long tones of increasing loudness, is incredible and beautiful. Keys and guitars do an enchanting job and are well mixed, everything is perfect till the end and I was pushed to play again the song, and after that, to download it to my portable mp3 for tomorrow’s car. Glad you uploaded the voices as well. Creative.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Wed, Mar 30, 2011 @ 3:15 PM
Thank you so much for this amazing review and feedback. I really appreciate your notes about the seapration of the vocal at the beginning, and hope I can make improvements. I am still learning how to master tracks, so that type of specific feedback is very helpful. And it makes me very happy when people let me know they enjoy my music, especially when they like it enough to save to an ipod. Thank you again.