Secretly Mixing! Snow & Sleet
skip
Home » People » Quarkstar » Space Fiction » Reviews

Reviews for "Space Fiction"

Space Fiction
by Quarkstar
Recommends (16)
Sat, Mar 10, 2018 @ 10:51 PM
 
Siobhan Dakay
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 1:58 AM
Ah….I like this.
I can’t help myself - this could be a manga style scifi soundtrack.
Pretty cool mix.
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 3:34 AM
Thanks very much, thats the area I was aiming for. A big over the top scifi track.
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 4:50 AM
I could see this in a trailer for a space fiction. Very cool.
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 5:07 PM
Thank you, I was aiming for that sort of use.
Bluemillenium
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 5:43 AM
C’est du grand art, un excellent mix, bravo à vous !
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 5:08 PM
Thank you.
mwic
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 6:28 AM
Love it. Reading your “how I did it” makes clear that you put 10 times as much knowledge and thought into this as I did into the sample. :)

To get an idea how old that lick is: it was done with the best sequencer of all time — Opcode Vision
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 4:57 PM
Thats OK, I started out splicing with magnetic tape, cutting the angle to change the attack and decay.
I only came back to music around 2010, having done none in the intervening years.
I was worried when arranging the tune, but very glad you liked it in the end.
airtone
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 6:36 AM
I recognised the sample before reading the description, excellent track
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 4:59 PM
Thank you, I listened to your version from 2007 and thought it was excellent.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 1:48 PM
i imagine it must quite an honor to be your victim of interstellar sonic delight!!! i love the growing depth of the bass and rhythm. captivating. the melodies are so hooky, yet with enough variation to keep me wanting more, waiting for the next phrase. yes!! great mix.
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 5:06 PM
Thank you very much!!
It was stressful mixing this one and I needed another ear to say it was OK, so thanks to ElectricLandlady.

There is a How I Did It
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 6:26 PM
I find this complete absorbing. This is my third listen now… Thank you for sharing your thoughts and process. You put so much into your mixes and it’s totally obvious. Very well done, QS!!!
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Sun, Mar 11, 2018 @ 11:33 PM
Thank you, I try to respect the original source or concept, and although I create emotion or energy I cannot describe how I do that. That is more instinctive and feeling, so my music and remixes are left to talk because I am mute on the why and how. Its like cooking, each chef can use the same ingredients with different results. I am fast on the technical side and that is the part that I am left to describe.
The remix took about 4 to 6 hours, then I left it to set and kept coming back days later to add the topping.
onlymeith
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 13, 2018 @ 10:13 AM
From the first second addictive and intense remix. Excellent the “how i did it”.
 
.
permalink   Quarkstar Fri, Mar 23, 2018 @ 1:55 AM
Thank you very much for for your lovely review, glad you enjoyed.