inTENtions Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Niemandsland » Santiago » Reviews

Reviews for "Santiago"

Santiago
by Niemandsland
Recommends (19)
Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 5:21 AM
 
Speck
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 5:57 AM
That’s a very nice sound carpet. Thick and rich, a wonderful mix. The CiggiBurns inclusion is perfect.
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 6:53 AM
Wow. Excellent soundscape.

I love how it evolves and how the changes sneak in. The intro has an urgency to it hidden behind the ambient calm surface - and once the bass hits later it’s a very natural fit.

I also love the CB vocals - terrific ending to the track.

I like this very very much.
iamvox
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 7:08 AM
Absolute ditto on colab’s comment. That’s exactly what I was going to say.

I decided to listen to it on my iPod. It’s actually a pretty chilly day in Texas (for Texas anyway). There’s a chilly wind and the sky is dark and dreary. I was drinking a cup of coffee and smoking a cigarette (not a French one though, hehe) and the music complimented the mood PERFECTLY. I felt like I was in a scene from a Wim Wenders film.

Absolutely beautiful remix. Very well done my friend.
 
.
permalink   iamvox Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 10:11 AM
I posted your remix on my Twitter account and I got these responses…

“Santiago (remix) leaves me speechless, it is Absolutely Wonderful (completely inadequate description, but it will have to do)”

“This is fabulous! Dark & hopeful simultaneously … like early pre-dawn, right before the sun crests the horizon.”
wellman
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 8:50 AM
Very well produced remix.. I really like it.. Love the sound scape u created!
spinmeister
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 9:25 AM
Thanks for remixing us! This song is the first one Vox (iamvox) and I wrote and recorded together after having met at another remixing site and it represents the beginning of the journey that eventually led us here to ccM. Tomorrow happens to be the 3 year anniversary of us registering the domain name aminortheory.com - so your remix brings back fond memories.

Your remix strikes me as a floating in space-time continuum kind of reference. Maybe Vox and Ciggi meeting at the restaurant at the end of the universe. I can’t imagine anyone better than Ciggi cast in the video as the “Lady in Black” from the song. :-)

 
.
permalink   iamvox Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 10:14 AM
Likewise, this remix really brought back fond memories. It was very pleasant dusting off the song and hearing a fresh spin on it. Maybe it’s time to bring out AMT for another song!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 11:17 AM
Quote: iamvoxMaybe it’s time to bring out AMT for another song!now there’s an idea :-)
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 10:27 AM
How could I ever be angry with you, Jurgen?! You create wonderful music and write lovely things about my singing. Thank you for including me in this spectacular mix. xxxx
timberman
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 10:37 AM
I’ll continue where the last reviewer ended. Spectacular is really good word to describe this music. Don’t think I’ve ever heard anything like this before, the mix of the sax, synths, bass and the pellas makes this song completely unique. Great soundscape, great energy/tempo/drive. Very much like a theme to a sci-fi movie.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 8:20 PM
Dramatic, expressive, interesting. Your musical sensitivty is so well captured in this track. I was swept away in the story of the song, the journey of the sound. And when Ciggi came in, I melted. And your saxophone, Jurgen, is an incredible voice! WOW!!!!
HEJ31
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 27, 2009 @ 9:19 PM
To quote Sun Ra - “space is the place”. This really kept me interested. Nice build up.
Anchor
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 28, 2009 @ 5:02 AM
rich,exotic - excellent sound-forging
really enjoyed listening Jurgen