Break the Silence Event
skip

Reviews for "Robots walk on water"

Robots walk on water
by Fireproof_Babies
Recommends (16)
Tue, Jul 14, 2009 @ 8:27 PM

Samples are used in:

 
duckett
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 12:00 AM
The mix of loops and live instruments is really well-done. Your lyrics and sense of musical theatre are always a pleasure for me. I’m listening on headphones, so some of the panning seems a bit extreme- but probably sounds just right over speakers. I can feel you! ;-)
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 3:08 PM
Thank you duckett. I mixed it on the monitors, and I can hear the extremities of which you speak, concerning the panning. I’ll let it ride though…I want it to have an edge. Hey, what happened to that poem we were workin’ on before I went into hospital? You still down with it dawg?
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 3:35 PM
Absolutely! Lemme dig through my email and see where we were at, we’ll get things percolating…
Calling Sister Midnight
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 7:00 AM
The sound here reminds me of a very specific aesthetic. Proto Punk - Proto New Wave.

I remember the day Brian Eno announced, through David Bowie in a live radio interview on WMMS FM, that he was going to produce Devo. I almost steered my car off the road (I grew up in Akron, Ohio, and, fleetingly, dated the drummer, Alan Myers, prior to Devo, when he was in the band Jazz Death).

I hope you don’t mind if I say this takes me back to that time — when Devo was debuting at The Crypt, a biker bar across from Goodyear Tire Plant B.

This reminds me of the best theater-grime rock that grew out of the Midwest industrial flatlands.

I love this stuff.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 3:19 PM
You dated Alan Myers? Wow…That’s incredibly cool. Haven’t heard of Jazz Death. Did they record? I’d never heard that Bowie announced Eno’s production of Devo on radio. All those guys are my “Heroes”; and I’m flattered that you can hear their influence in my stuff. I really wasn’t trying to emulate any of those artists in this piece. I thought I was doing my own thing; but the conscious mind is an amalgamation of all it knows, loves, and hates. Must have came through a backwater brain-channel. Thanks for the review.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 8:25 AM
I share some of Sister M’s associations — post-punk, new wave days in darkened clubs with folks falling over into the stairwell…kind of like that, yeah.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 3:23 PM
Thank you SackJo! Like I told Sister Midnight, I wasn’t really going for that feel; but hey, I guess our influences can come out unbidden.
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 8:27 AM
http://jobobarikan.devianta...

used your tune here
thanks,
jb
 
.
permalink   Calling Sister Midnight Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 9:22 AM
Hey - Made you a comment over at http://deviantart.com
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 3:26 PM
Great…glad you could use it. I must admit that I’ve not seen it yet. I’ve been incredibly busy. Promise to check it out. FB
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 4:25 PM
Just watched the vid. Pretty cool…I was unaware of that site. I’ll have to take it on a test drive; if I ever get some spare time. Thanks for using my stuff, appreciate it!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 8:34 AM
You Got my head boppin… Nice!!!!!!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 3:28 PM
¬°Excellente! Thanks for the sweet sample.
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 10:31 AM
I get what Duckett says about “musical theatre” - but what I particularly like about your music is that yeah, there’s that side of it, but it also has a very unique musical point of view.

You done good to honour his memory. Giuseppe and Maria would be proud.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 3:57 PM
Giuseppe and Maria were proud of their son; However, I’d bet they’d be taken aback both by this song, and what there son’s product has degenerated into. Thanks for reviewing, my friend!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 15, 2009 @ 5:58 PM
Another original take on the samples and some great FPB additions.

Very nice work.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 4:00 PM
Thanks RT. When you say “original take”, I appreciate that, in light of your own originality.
panu
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 2:46 AM
once again the talent & humor that is FPB is revealed & remember, ‘don’t eat the yellow spaghetti’.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 4:10 PM
Oh my, the spaghetti is the foulest thing on his brand’s current roster. I actually like the SpaghettiOs with meatballs. You should check-out some of Chef Boyardee’s commercials on Youtube. Very entertaining. Thanks for listening!
Anchor
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 5:47 AM
your penetrating sense of humor and talents shine in this one FB!
Avant-garde and laced with content….a great combo plate - both intellectual & emotional.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 4:14 PM
Thank you very much Anchor! I love to penetrate with humor and talent. Many times, I find both in short supply within myself; but I have my moments.