Us Universe Remixes
skip
Home » People » Abstract Audio » Sax » Reviews

Reviews for "Sax"

Sax
by Abstract Audio
Recommends (20)
Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 12:42 PM
Play Sax
 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 1:27 PM
There are some notes on the sax that seem to leave the scale of the pads, but I don’t find it really glaring.

It might be hard to come up with a vocal for this. The song’s already fairly complete in that the lead instrument is pretty much already all over the track, and there’s not a lot of room for a vocal.
 
.
permalink   Abstract Audio Tue, Nov 23, 2010 @ 8:55 AM
Quote: There are some notes on the sax that seem to leave the scale of the pads, but I don’t find it really glaring
Do you think it would improve the song if I tried to follow sax with the other parts?
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 7:41 PM
You created a very evocative atmosphere. As a composition, I think the track works really well. I really like how you used the vocals. I agree with the Admiral that there is not much room for vocals, at least a voice singing a song. However, it would be interesting to hear some vocalese singing along with the sax at times, perhaps in unison, perhaps in harmony. Altough, quite frankly, I don’t know that necessarily add anything to the composition.
 
.
permalink   Abstract Audio Tue, Nov 23, 2010 @ 9:01 AM
And that’s exactly why asked advice on vocals. These days I use vocals on allmost every song I make and I wanted to use them here aswell, but a part of me was in doubt. Reading both your and AB’s review I will leave the vocals for this on.

Thanks for your reply!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 22, 2010 @ 9:38 PM
Cool and interesting, AA. It’s like a jazz and pad piece that brings to mind Marvin Gaye’s Sexual Healing passages where the soft female voice is saying “get up, get up”.
 
.
permalink   Abstract Audio Tue, Nov 23, 2010 @ 9:08 AM
Haha thanks, something completly diffrent and still a great song.
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 23, 2010 @ 8:13 AM
I like this idea very much. The sax is particularly good when the blip synth enters because it makes the chord/harmony structure a bit more clear.

I am interested in what it would sound like with bass notes added, but then it wouldn’t be the same track anymore - so I would leave this version the way it is.

Nice one.
 
.
permalink   Abstract Audio Tue, Nov 23, 2010 @ 9:07 AM
Quote: colabI would leave this version the way it is.


The song was created in 30 minutes and uses very little parts and something in me says that thats not enough. Maybe I just need to give it some time and let it grow on me.

Thanks for your input!
 
.
permalink   colab Tue, Nov 23, 2010 @ 10:16 AM
Haha. Some of the tracks I’ve spent the least time on have had the best reviews. :)

Listen - it all depends on what you hope to achieve with it. This track inspired me and gave me ideas to do something myself, and that’s worth a lot.
Darkroom
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 23, 2010 @ 9:08 AM
Nice and simple. Something to chill to.
debbizo
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 24, 2010 @ 4:16 AM
I absolutely love it as is. The sax is wonderful and I like the way you have used snowflake’s vocals. Part of my agrees with others that there isn’t any room left for vocals, but part of me is inspired to try putting some minimal and spaced out spoken word to it. It’s very relaxing to listen to and I’ve added it to my favourites. Yes, I think it is wonderful as is
Zapac
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 9, 2010 @ 7:04 AM
I think, I was fallen in love with your “sound-management” :)
septahelix
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 11, 2010 @ 8:01 AM
think i’m gonna make a sax track after hearing that.
i might try to chop up some vocals in a way that’ll harmonize with the sax solo.
Speck
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 21, 2010 @ 5:55 AM
Ooh I like this very much. Loose but logical. And I’m always on the look-out for a great sax sample for thanks for the zip.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 6, 2011 @ 11:04 AM
so mysterious. so lovely. artistic. romantic.