Pollinators Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "Willing Friendships"

unreal_dm
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 6:02 AM
As always a great story Ciggi - great vocal liked the slightlyeccentric tag maybe I should have probablytooeccentric.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 1:08 PM
Thanks so much, UD. I don’t think you can be too eccentric. Go for it!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 6:10 AM
Wooooooooo! Love it, Ciggi! The precious slideshow, your storytelling!, the doo-doo-doo’s (you should do more of that kinda thang!), Magmavander’s backing track… the whole THING! It’s relatable, incredibly touching, and well-written! WOOO!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 1:11 PM
Wooooo too!! Thank you, MMT. I’m so pleased you liked the slideshow and everything. I had such fun looking through all my old photos and choosing favourites. Your reviews always make me feel terrific.
annabloom
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 6:58 AM
a great song, touching and true
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 1:12 PM
Many thanks, Anna. I hope you might be able to use something - even if it’s only the doo-doo-doos!
 
.
permalink   annabloom Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 2:33 PM
the doo-doo-doos would be perfect for mapping in Kontakt indeed
Jeris
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 7:35 AM
Oooh..nice pell! Enjoyed the slideshow as well. That’s a cool track by Magmavander.

Here’s another vimeo that really gets to the soul:
http://vimeo.com/29632448
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 3:43 PM
Thanks for your nice words, Jeris, and thank you for directing me to that truly moving film on vimeo. How sad deterioration is in all animals but the photographer has captured each subject’s dignity. It’s made me cry.
Speck
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 8:34 AM
You always bring something a little less the same than others might. And it’s always good. This one is singably sad. I think you’ll find a lot of sympathetic listeners, given that there are 100,000,000 more dogs in America than people. I only know about a half dozen. The ones that people from neighboring streets bring over to our yard to deposit their excrement. We do have a few cats in the house but I’m inclined to agree with the comic who said “they just look at you like ‘you know if I was bigger I’d eat you’”. Still, when I’m old and infirm I’ll probably be able to muster up an anthropomorphic emotional/delusional dependency with the best of ‘em. (Sorry, I must be feeling especially curmudgeonly today. The sadness of this piece for me is that it seems like there is more ‘love’ being spent on animals than people.)
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 1:18 PM
Thank you, Speck, that’s a very thoughtful and intelligent review but I expect nothing less from you. I’m afraid I don’t find people a very lovable species. Other animals would be equally destructive and disagreeable I’m sure if they had our power. It’s sad to me that homo sapiens’s intelligence and power usually result in great ugliness and cruelty. Hey, I’m pretty curmudgeonly myself! Bloody life does that to you. Thanks again.
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 10:37 AM
beautifully well done song for the furry safety valves we call our pets.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 1:20 PM
Many thanks, Panu. I overheard what some pets call you the other day but I don’t think I’d better repeat it. Thank you, as always, for being my techie, on-site, sound wizard. xx
Wired Ant
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 2:25 PM
In summary a bad reference for the “human” beings. Sometimes just left behind and being overtaken by a “simple” dog when it comes to respect, indulgence or pitty!
I grew up with dogs and I learned one thing: if she or he can´t get along with dogs a closer friendship won´t work!

Sad, moving but true lyrics and a wonderful performance Ciggi
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 3:24 PM
A very sweet review to read, WA. I think we are like-minded and that is always such a valuable discovery.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 10, 2012 @ 3:55 PM
I really enjoyed the video. Your storytelling, as always, is marvelous. You are such a great writer. And, as always, I love your voice. Your “doodoodoo” bits are the perfect foil for the bittersweet undertone of the song. Bravo my dear! (As you going to upload the remix?)
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 8:08 AM
Many, many thanks, SJ, I don’t feel particularly great at anything at the moment and so it is especially pleasurable to read your review. At the moment, I’m just going to leave this as an a cappella.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 9:29 AM
I’d pretty much say the same thing speck did. The subject matter’s not only unique to CCMixter, but probably never written before at all.

And it is very true. I remember a couple of family members who could not have got through their tragedies without the unquestioning love of a dog.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 12:19 PM
Thank you for your review, AB. I know that there are always mixed feelings about ‘animal lovers’ but I was brought up to be one and have never found any reason not to carry on!
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 9:56 AM
I like it :-). There are countless boxes I have buried over the years, in various gardens and places one just before Christmas. 2 new kittens filled the gap.!

Liked you video too.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Mar 11, 2012 @ 12:22 PM
Thanks so much, LS. Just before Christmas must have been a very sad blow.

Kittens, though! I could waste whole days watching them learn and play. I hope they’re making you very happy.
VickyDan
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 12, 2012 @ 11:08 AM
I’m sorry, I missed this novelty …. and it’s damage, because it is once again fantastic purity of voice …. and the text is shouting of logic, and truth. A bit harsh perhaps (at least what I understand)
Vicky, Dipsy, Choco have listened…. and are in love.
It’s harder at to listen to cats ….
I could not now live without the love of my friends at 4 legged …. you well know, is not it. It is a certain philosophy of life, and I do not feel so crazy (^o^)

The vidéo, and music, fantactic …. Bravo!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Mon, Mar 12, 2012 @ 11:56 AM
Je vous remercie, mon ami. Qu’est-ce merveilleux compliments que vous me donnez au sujet de mon chant! Nous sommes du même avis quand il s’agit d’animaux. Merci beaucoup, Vicky. x Ciggi x
timberman
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 12, 2012 @ 12:47 PM
I’ve listened to this song a few times now on Vimeo and as you know I really love it. I’ve finally figured out what it reminds me of and why I was so drawn to it. Lyric aside, the construction of the vocal melody reminds me very much of very early David Bowie ca. 1969 and how he used to sing his songs. A man, I know, but still that’s a huge compliment because those songs are classics. At least for me they are and my life wouldn’t have been the same without them. I love this song. You’re a genius.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Mon, Mar 12, 2012 @ 1:02 PM
Crikey! Thanks, Per, what a fantastic review. Yes, I think I’ll go around thinking of myself as a genius now. It’s a pity about my pisshole-in-the-snow eyes though.
TheDICE
.
permalink   Sat, Mar 31, 2012 @ 2:59 PM
I love this song, and how you sing it. Especially when you sing “unspeakably sad” part, is very touching :)

Congratulations Ciggiburns, you are very skilled and you are really good-hearted (i hope you can understand my humble english)



ps: i enjoyed the video. Nice animals, i love them :)
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Apr 1, 2012 @ 1:45 PM
Thank you very much. You are skilled and good-hearted too! We are each other’s fan!!
Vidian
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 14, 2012 @ 10:27 PM
Haha I love this :D
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Apr 15, 2012 @ 7:37 AM
Glad you do too! Thanks for keeping up with my nutty postings, Vid. Let’s hug! xxxx