Waiting Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "After They've Gone"

After They've Gone
by CiggiBurns
Recommends (28)
Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 5:23 AM

Samples are used in:

 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 5:35 AM
Lyrical and lovely! Your writing skills are up there with the site’s best storytellers, like Panu himself.

The way the strings slowly build around the guitar part, and then reach a crescendo is really inspired.

And the song ends on a real grace note with panu’s guitar.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 1:56 AM
Thank you very much, AB. Your reviews are always very thoughtful and delightful to receive. The ending for the song was oldDog’s suggestion - I wish I’d thought of it myself! xxxx
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 5:40 AM
Beautiful voice as usual, Ciggi. A great remix! The lyrics are rather sad; With a floating feeling present in the backing track, that I find well suited. The girl in the lyric is doing a noble thing… Even if she is wistful for her old life.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 1:58 AM
Thank you, FB, especially for the ‘beautiful voice’! What a compliment. I do tend to write rather angry lyrics - which is why I’m so attracted to the anger and humour in yours. xxxx
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 5:45 AM
You paint a picture of a hard reality in a very touching way. I think the mix works really well. Thanks for including me in!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 2:00 AM
I couldn’t have done without you! Thank you very much for leaving such nice words. xxxx
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 6:26 AM
Outstanding and definitely your best offering here so far. Ambitius, yes but it was certainly worth the effort. For me this is like a sorrowful British folk song elevated to here and now 2010. As the admiral says, your lyrical skills are up there among the best (which I already knew), your vocal delivery of the lyric is full of sentiment and emotion and now you’re up there as a great remixer too. Congrats, Cig, it’s masterclass.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 2:03 AM
I shall have to keep re-reading your review whenever I’m feeling doubtful about what I’m doing (which is all the time!). Many thanks for your endless great feedback and encouragement. It’s just wonderful! xxx
debbizo
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 6:26 AM
This sad but beautiful and touching Ciggi. Very lovely to listen to.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 2:04 AM
Thank you, Deb. I am hoping to catch up with more of yours now. I’m a big fan. xxxx
Speck
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 6:56 AM
Once again you use song to express thoughts and emotions not generally shared. This time with a sweet & sour, somewhat discordant, backing to suggest/support that something may not be right. A doleful dose of another’s interior. I like it very much.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 2:05 AM
To get the thumbs up from you is a special treat and that’s the truth. Thank you very much. xxxx
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 7:57 AM
The lyrics and vocal are superb as they always are, and if there are any mistakes in the mix I can’t hear them.

 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 2:07 AM
Your review means a hell of a lot to me, Paul, and a special ‘thank you’ for not hearing those mistakes! xxxx
oldDog
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 8:05 AM
We are all used to Ciggi’s excellent singing and lyrics - but this is a great mix too.

Come on Ed’s, reach for that Pick button!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 2:09 AM
First, thank you for your advice and excellent suggestions. Second, thank you for believing it’s worth an Ed Pick. That’s an Ed Pick in itself! xxxxx
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 9:02 AM
the lyrics read like poetry. the vocal & mix are very British, and quite perfect.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 2:12 AM
I wish I knew what ‘very British’ is like from the outside - I’d keep milking it to get reviews like this! Your playing is my inspiration. xxxx
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 9:47 AM
Ah yes!!!! You did a wonderful job of combining a vast myriad of source material to create a song that has gorgeous melodic offerings, lovely dynamics (when the flute part comes in after “glass and chrome” my delight is ignited!) that remain gentle while moving the song along, your lyrics and singing continue to be unique, first class and delicious! You go girl!!!!!
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 2:14 AM
You write the most beautiful reviews, SJ. It’s obvious you give other people’s pieces your complete attention and appreciation. You are full of generosity and that’s why everyone on the site adores you - including me! xxxx
Anchor
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 26, 2010 @ 1:35 PM
I add my accolades to the above reviewers - the lyrics are full-blown poetic. Your singing so appealing - the various backing musics really enhance the longing and melancholy.
Truly splendid offering my Dear.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sun, Jun 27, 2010 @ 2:17 AM
Now to get compliments from you on the lyrics has just made my day, M. Mejans, because you are the master of magical, fabulous writing. Have you noticed that I associate magic with you? You have it in abundance. xxxxxx
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 28, 2010 @ 9:54 AM
The circle is complete when you move from working and adding to finished slabs of sound to creating your own tracks.

Its quite obvious a site like this has nurtured a new avenue for your creative output and kept you out of `the shed.’

Sounds to me like you are nicely on your way but get some tough boots, as its a road without an end.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Tue, Jun 29, 2010 @ 3:36 AM
Thank you very much, LS. Your words of wisdom do not fall on deaf ears (or only in mixing terms!); I did enjoy doing this one but it’s made me aware of just how fine and refined are the skills of you proper, top notch mixers. Daunting but inspiring. xxxx
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 29, 2010 @ 2:12 AM
Way cool, Ciggi. Big time story telling. 43, single and wants her parents dead! Very graphic.

Fade in intro worked well.

Your story had me flashing back to younger daze listening to the melancholy intro of “That’s the Way I’ve Always Heard It Should Be” by Carly Simon.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Tue, Jun 29, 2010 @ 3:40 AM
Hello, TRF. I’ll let you into a secret. The idea of the song was inspired by ‘Beaches’ which is an all time favourite of mine. I was thinking of the ending of your mix as the woman in my song finally breaking away and having a ball! Thanks so much for your review. xxxx
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 30, 2010 @ 2:56 PM
I finally get around to hearing this, and it’s rather lovely, now isn’t it?

Yes. Quite lovely.

All of it, actually. You should keep this up - making use of the vast library at ccm to create your own thing. You’re already quite good at it, and I can only imagine what it will sound like when you’ve done it for a while.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Mon, Jul 5, 2010 @ 9:54 AM
How rude of me not to answer your review Mr C! Well you know I greatly value your opinion and I’m very happy indeed you like this one. Thank you. xxxx
 
.
permalink   colab Mon, Jul 5, 2010 @ 10:19 AM
Well now, I don’t think I said that I actually like it. I’m sure I meant to say that it’s not terrible.

Yes. That’s more like it. Keep up the good work, young lady. :)
DeBenedictis
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 9, 2010 @ 9:16 AM
WOW! Another devestating lyric. I can identify with our heroine here…I think most people are afraid to express a dark or “selfish” persona in songwriting, but when someone actually does it, everyone can relate to it. I always feel a little self-conscious when I put a “mean” song out there, but then when people relate to them I stop feeling guilty because they make the listener feel not so alone and less guilty. Probably too long of a comment. Anyway great song, though I prefer a dry red with my solitude. :)
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Sat, Jul 10, 2010 @ 11:10 AM
Not too long at all because it’s fascinating stuff and I am so, so pleased that you ‘get’ the lyrics. I don’t feel guilty about this kind of subject because I think everyone has these thoughts and they are natural and human. I feel mean when I’m being bitchy!! Thanks, Lisa. What’s great about this site is that it pulls like-minded people closer. xxxx
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, Feb 14, 2012 @ 11:22 AM
Love it. Absolutely. The raw emotion… the honestly… Your voice is incredible (as usual) and your mixing skills impressive. This makes me think of Joni Mitchell… her “Blue” album… with James Taylor on guitar.
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Wed, Feb 15, 2012 @ 9:58 AM
Wow! I couldn’t ask for a better review than this one. I’m flabbergasted. Thanks so, so much, MMT. Hmmmm …. can’t stop reading it!