Black Lives Matter
skip
Home » People » Carosone » The Time Within » Reviews

Reviews for "The Time Within"

The Time Within
by Carosone
Recommends (19)
Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 9:25 AM

Uses samples from:

 
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 9:51 AM
very creative, listenable mix… +++
 
.
permalink   Carosone Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 2:57 PM
To tell the truth, I was late for the mix (I usually devote a couple of days to mix and master), which I didn’t do here. The vocal track is totally untreated, all instruments are in the same reverb (even voice, bass and drums) and a lot of automation and light compression should have been carried on. I uploaded today to comply with the 15 days of secret mixes and because we may have an idea of the composition, all in all words, music and arrangement are there. And you like the mix!! Too good..
Anchor
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 10:07 AM
you have a way…
thank you for this Life affirming upload.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 2:59 PM
Hallo Anchor, glad to see you here. I am starting writing lyrics, I will need singers..
 
.
permalink   Anchor Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 3:21 PM
great - you know where to find me ! Cheers!
kthugha
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 12:13 PM
Smiles! Very original and pleasing use of the source material. I’m impressed with lyricists in odd time signatures, my verbal brain can’t think like that.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 3:04 PM
Well, it’s easier than you think, I guess odd time signatures originate from lyrics. In the middle ages we had 11-syllabes poetry and music.

I really got deep into your rythms, a fascinating 15-day period. This would have likely been an ordinary ballad, if it were not for your 5/4..
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 12:15 PM
Lots of nice touches to fit the spirit of the vocal. I like the instrumental short break in the middle because it fits well—not something solo-ish but just a proper musical break.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 3:10 PM
Kthugha’s shakers were in 6, so I separated them from the kick by special software (talk like you do) and put 4 bars in 6 for the short break, using shifted isolated kicks. An indian sarangi does the melody, it’s different in the 2 repetitions (and in the 2nd it is helped by the cellos)
Bluemillenium
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 5, 2020 @ 10:33 PM
Bravo pour votre mixage frais et agréable à entendre.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, Apr 6, 2020 @ 12:29 AM
Merci beaucoup (en fait mixage est immature..)
Kraftamt
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 6, 2020 @ 1:05 PM
The mix sounds great. Very interesting arrangement. Good work.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, Apr 7, 2020 @ 1:55 PM
The 3rd review that states the mix is good, I think I may leave it as it is in the end.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 6, 2020 @ 1:12 PM
I find this to be incredibly inspiring, and by listening, I’m also discovering the spring within, finding that inner light. Beautiful Carl Jung adaptation — your vocals are quite lovely. Sending you hope and health in your quarantine. Thank you for your music!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, Apr 7, 2020 @ 2:02 PM
Jung was an enlighted soul. I may understand you are on the same vibe, we are on a similar path.
(I start liking expressing this kind of lyrics).

I had been abroad (before the virus started spreading in the west). So when I returned home my state put me in isolation at home for 15 days (so my quarantine was a preventive measure, I am not sick).
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 7, 2020 @ 7:12 PM
Lovely composition. Lovely lyrics. Lovely sound.

I hope you and yours are staying well.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Wed, Apr 8, 2020 @ 10:17 AM
Glad to see you here. We’re all well Susan (thanks for asking), how about you and yours?
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Thu, Apr 9, 2020 @ 3:39 AM
Nicely done, Carosone. I dig it.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Fri, Apr 10, 2020 @ 12:05 AM
Thanks for the comment. I’m very satisfied at most of the comments being “nice” and “lovely” when me and kthugha made the community listen a 5/4 song.