Firefly Secret Mixter Remixes!
skip
Home » People » Carosone » Give it up » Reviews

Reviews for "Give it up"

Give it up
by Carosone
Recommends (26)
Sun, May 29, 2011 @ 3:04 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, May 29, 2011 @ 7:52 PM
Great stems! Thank you!
Crystal clear production and lots of elements making up one of the best creative things Ive heard for a long time.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, May 30, 2011 @ 12:05 AM
Thanks Scomber for the instant edpick, I had seen from Jeris’s review that you had entered the staff. Glad you like this one, it took a lot to do it.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Mon, May 30, 2011 @ 12:36 AM
Instantly pickable because it was instantly likeable - more world music with a pop sensibility pls!
Jeris
.
permalink   Sun, May 29, 2011 @ 7:55 PM
World music makes me happy : )
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, May 30, 2011 @ 12:07 AM
I’ve spent 6 months in Bali and 3 months in India for their music..
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, May 30, 2011 @ 10:05 AM
LOVELY! Delicate, melodic and as rich as a multi-colored silk sari with golden threads that make it sparkle. Congrats on a well-deserved ed pick!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, May 30, 2011 @ 2:08 PM
Hallo S., all women should wear a sari one day in a lifetime, I hope you did it! it’s good to find old friends again with a song.
urmymuse
.
permalink   Tue, May 31, 2011 @ 12:45 AM
This is very lovely, uplifting happy sounding track - great start to the day thanks!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, May 31, 2011 @ 10:11 AM
And thanks to you for reviewing.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Tue, May 31, 2011 @ 11:04 AM
i love it! (funny, i’m still finishing up a Strike the Root remix too). we were listening to your Constitution remix in the car yesterday, commenting how much we love your work. your version of Emergence Sea is still one of my fav remixes of all time.

really love the tablas and world flavor. (now that you’ve suggested it, i would like to wear a sari!). you’ve given this song a happier, more uplifting tone. the melodic guitar solo rocks!

great remix. thank you for including me!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, May 31, 2011 @ 2:54 PM
I remember during the strike project I must have written about everyone just speaking and not actually singing, since a song of protest should have an aggressive voice and a distorted rock guitar to render the message. It’s so strange:you did it in the end, but this month I was in a completely different and more relaxed mood and I chose to turn your original into another one, with gamelan and tabla and a major scale. I am glad you like it, harmonisation was so different and the vocal cut so unrespectful of the original, that I wouldn’t have been surprised if you didn’t like it at all. The vocal part is astonishing and very pro.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Feb 22, 2012 @ 4:50 PM
i love this track!!!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, May 31, 2011 @ 1:22 PM
I believe your remixes have a dash of magic in them… Congrats on the Ed. Pick- you deserve it!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, May 31, 2011 @ 3:00 PM
..and I am not ed-picked every song I do, so I am very glad about it! Thanks MMT
copperhead
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 6, 2011 @ 5:36 PM
Well deserved Ed Pick Carosone! You would have more if it was up to me :) You are a total pro :)
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, Jun 7, 2011 @ 3:04 PM
Thanks a lot Copperhead, you move me with your words.
Anchor
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 17, 2011 @ 5:32 PM
Home after a very long journey…finally getting around to some reviews and listening.
As usual I always enjoy your style.
You really do have a knack and this is a charming offering.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Sun, Jun 19, 2011 @ 3:35 AM
Welcome back, Anchor, nice to hear from you again. Travelling is always exciting to me, and not many people can devote themselves to “long journeys”..
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 20, 2011 @ 11:37 AM
This is Awesome!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, Jun 20, 2011 @ 1:51 PM
Thanks, S. for listening!
economix
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 7, 2011 @ 7:44 AM
Carosone this instantly transported me to foreign shores and so I hope you like the slideshow from my travels at http://www.youtube.com/watc...