Time of Terror Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Apoxode » There is a Sound » Reviews

Reviews for "There is a Sound"

There is a Sound
by Apoxode
Recommends (15)
Thu, Oct 1, 2020 @ 12:38 PM
 
Darkroom
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 1, 2020 @ 2:28 PM
Nice track. The center is a bit crowded kind of like when you have headphones half plugged in. Digging it other than that though.
 
.
permalink   Apoxode Thu, Oct 1, 2020 @ 2:48 PM
Right on, thank you, Darkroom, I appreciate the feedback, any suggestions on how to fix it?
 
.
permalink   Darkroom Thu, Oct 1, 2020 @ 11:22 PM
I saw that you are using MadTracker. I am not familiar with that DAW but it should have some of the basic functions such as panning.

My standard process is

drums in the middle
synths, keys, strings, and other instruments panned outside of center

samples are normally panned out unless it is a dominant sample

reverbs and other effects are a good way to widen up the stereo field

Hope this helps
 
.
permalink   geoffpeters Thu, Oct 1, 2020 @ 11:30 PM
I think there are also special “Stereo Enhancers” effects that you can get as plugins to your DAW which can make the stereo image wider or narrower. And there are also a lot of cool tools available to create spatial audio as well, which allow you to position sounds around the listener’s head. Reaper has some cool free spatial audio tools that I have experimented with a bit.
 
.
permalink   Darkroom Fri, Oct 2, 2020 @ 12:00 AM
There are definitely a ton of stereo effects to enhance the stereo field. I always start with the basics first though by panning out sounds and then adding the effects. Keeping that order helps me stay in control of the mix. Good point though.
 
.
permalink   geoffpeters Fri, Oct 2, 2020 @ 12:06 AM
Yes good point, thanks!
 
.
permalink   Apoxode Fri, Oct 2, 2020 @ 12:37 AM
Sweet, thank you for the tips, geoffpeters. Quick question: do you know of any 32 bit VSTs that create the “stereo enhancer” effect you’re talking about? It would be for PC, if that helps narrow it down.
 
.
permalink   panu Fri, Oct 2, 2020 @ 5:45 AM
your track is fine but if you want to widen it pan stems 30-60% or use sheppi (https://www.kvraudio.com/product/sheppi_spatial_enhancer_by_open_ambience_project)
 
.
permalink   Apoxode Fri, Oct 2, 2020 @ 11:14 AM
Thank you, panu, I love trying out new VSTs, I can’t wait to get that one to work :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Oct 5, 2020 @ 1:37 PM
I agree! That’s a great plugin.
 
.
permalink   Apoxode Fri, Oct 2, 2020 @ 12:34 AM
Thank you, Darkroom, that does help tremendously — thank you for taking the time to explain it, I appreciate your advice.
geoffpeters
.
permalink   Thu, Oct 1, 2020 @ 2:28 PM
oooh this is so moody! Love the lower frequency treatment on this one. Thanks Apoxode for sharing and for the remix :) Best wishes, Geoff
 
.
permalink   Apoxode Thu, Oct 1, 2020 @ 2:50 PM
Awesome, geoffpeters, thank you so much! I’m glad you liked it :)
Many thanks for your sample shares!
Speck
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 2, 2020 @ 3:22 AM
I don’t know if you’ve made changes since Darkroom’s comment but for what it’s worth I rather like the sound. There’s a solidity to it and the high pass filter (?) is very effective in conveying “buried deep there is a sound”.

Nicely done.
 
.
permalink   panu Fri, Oct 2, 2020 @ 5:46 AM
me too…
 
.
permalink   Apoxode Fri, Oct 2, 2020 @ 11:15 AM
Sweet, thank you, panu, I appreciate that, I’m glad you liked it :)
 
.
permalink   Apoxode Fri, Oct 2, 2020 @ 11:09 AM
Thank you, Speck, I will keep the recording the way it is. I’m exploring the panning of frequencies rather than instances — the stereo equalizer I’m using allows me to flip-flop between each left and right band.
Thank you for noticing the filter metaphor, Kara’s vocals inspired it :)
Kara Square
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 5, 2020 @ 1:37 PM
Oh wah oh! This is great! I love how you used the vocals in such a creative way… hypnotic backing track. I like the darkness of it… Thanks for the include!

p.s. I love all the above shop talk. 🙌
 
.
permalink   Apoxode Mon, Oct 5, 2020 @ 6:03 PM
Yes! I love it when you like the mixes :) :)
You’re one of a kind, Kara, we all love you!!!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Oct 6, 2020 @ 9:03 AM
Wellllll, I can’t think of a mix of yours that I haven’t liked. :)

Lots of love back at ya’! Seriously. You are such an asset to the community. And such a kind guy!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 7, 2020 @ 12:29 PM
Very Nice . I love the feed back from everyone. I love suggestion on how to improve so that we can all get better. Nice Work Apoxode and thank you to everyone that gave suggestion on how to improve the mix. Sometime my ears are shot and I would appreciate suggestions on how to improve what I’m hearing.
 
.
permalink   Apoxode Wed, Oct 7, 2020 @ 10:45 PM
Right on, thank you so much, Jay!
Yeah, I agree with feedback — it’s beneficial for producing and for the community.
I got some good insight from a music vet and a good suggestion for a production tool. I’m all about that :)
JoeBone
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 20, 2020 @ 6:44 AM
Chilled out vibe ! Cheers
 
.
permalink   Apoxode Tue, Oct 20, 2020 @ 8:05 PM
EDIT 2:
Aargh! I just noticed that beta.ccmixter automatically converts the main website’s address to beta.ccmixter.
So those links I put in won’t work.
Okay, so the way to reply to reviews and comments is through the main website which is ccmixter.org
Hopefully that doesn’t get switched!


EDIT: I think I figured out the problem. Are you reading all of this from beta.ccmixter.org ?
If so, here is the link to the main website:
http://ccmixter.org/
and a link directly to this thread:
http://ccmixter.org/reviews/JoeBone/62306


Hi JoeBone,
Thank you for your review, I’m glad you liked the mix :)

I strongly recommend that you remove your email address from your review, though.
ccMixter has a safe and easy way to facilitate messages.
In my user page under the “Profile” tab, there is a “contact” section where you can click “email” to send me a message.
As long as you’re logged in to ccMixter, you won’t need to open any other account — you can type your message here and it will send it to me.

From there we can get to the bottom of why you can’t reply to comments, through troubleshooting with screenshots.
Take care, talk to you soon!