skip

Reviews for "aj's nebula remix of air_lomeg stardust"

aj's nebula remix of air_lome...
by Anomaly_Jonez
Recommends (16)
Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 1:53 AM

Uses samples from:

 
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:25 AM
it’s as if you’re at the State Fair, with the sounds of the midway, but then the ferris wheel goes above it all, and you hear a meditative silence, and see the prairie stretch for miles, and then you’re back on the midway, throwing hoops at soda cans, trying to win a panda, when suddenly you see the doorway to the modern art museum, and you step into the air-conditioned
darkness, and you see an image of a jellyfish, surrounded by a holy grail.

Exuberant first mix! A few of the sound level things didn’t work perfectly, but I liked the way in which you patched it up into a fun mix. I like that Air Lomeg sample, too.
 
.
permalink   Anomaly_Jonez Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 11:58 AM
Awhhh…that was sooo nice of you to paint such a lovely picture..I really like the part about stepping into the air-conditioned darkness espcially when you’ve been walking around the hot fair all day…So glad you think it ‘exuberant’ lovely words..I was so apprehensive now I’m just relieved it’s over and I made it across the finish line. Thanks for kind words they mean a lot.

AJ
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 10:17 AM
Stardust falls ever so gently over the aural scene you’ve created here AJ… I’m still stopped at the top of Gurdonark’s ferris wheel—over looking the great expanse, taking a deep breath. Very good first mix!



Jason
 
.
permalink   Anomaly_Jonez Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 12:01 PM
Thanks to you!!! At first I thought WHATTTT!!! not only do I have not idea what to do, I have not idea of the expection level..thankfully you calmed my fears with your just do it!!! encouragement.
Looking forward to the next one.

Anomaly
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 11:26 AM
I agree with Gurdonark in both ways - there are some absolutely lovely things in here, and some things that don’t work as well - but overall this gave me ideas and inspiration, and I value that more than most things.

Nice one.
 
.
permalink   Anomaly_Jonez Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 12:04 PM
I’m a bit lost for words…someone of your talent and ability saying something I attempted gave them ideas or inspiration is like Shaq tell me he likes my the way I dribble..lol..well this small fry sure apprecaites your words.

I’m found the transition of sounds to be the most difficult to master, I really see that production takes much more techincal ability then singing, which is fuel mostly by creative ability.

Thanks for listening and review.

AJ
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 1:33 PM
Nice use of the samples.
I don’t mind the bits that “don’t fit”
It creates a disconnect that works a treat when it resolves a moment later. Another one to close the eyes, listen and dream
 
.
permalink   Anomaly_Jonez Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 12:06 PM
Nice…to have someone say that to something I made…since I close my eyes to soo many peoples music..I feel I just graduated from first grade maybe I should get a little blue ribbon.

Lol

Thanks for reviewing.
AIR_LOMEG
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 7:40 PM
that was fun!!! and sorry for the challenge given… ;-) cheers and congratulations! b.k. and moi
 
.
permalink   Anomaly_Jonez Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 12:07 PM
It couldn’t have been a better challenge..it was definetly my pleausure I’m just glad you found it fun. Thank you.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 21, 2010 @ 9:04 PM
Good for you AJ! You created a rich sonic atmosphere with character and distinct moments of lovlieness. I think I may be with Gurdonark, stopped at the top of the ferris wheel — but where I live, I see the ocean, vast and expansive lapping along the edge of the shore on one side, and stretching beyond the horizon on the other.
 
.
permalink   Anomaly_Jonez Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 12:08 PM
Lovely word pic, must live in califorina tooo…yeah I love the ocean but this fog has gott me a little blue..lol..Thanks so much for reviewing, I was really trying to make something with movement and not boring. Thanks for supporting my endeavor.

AJ
error404
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 11:46 AM
Ugh but yummy music very well “floating”
I like the piano, the drums solid fine chill.
The whole is incredibly pleasant to listen to.

Excellent work
 
.
permalink   Anomaly_Jonez Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 12:10 PM
awhhh…you soo sweet…tooo kind…I like the floating thing, cause mostly I feel like my heads some where floating in the clouds so good my music should reflect that. “Incredibly pleasant to listen to” awhh…you making me blush..take care,

AJ
Down With Ben
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 11:49 AM
A nice ambient sound here. Very relaxing. I like your keyboard insertions. Not a bad pass for a first mix either… I’m still figuring things out myself… Keep it up! I look forward to your future contributions!
 
.
permalink   Anomaly_Jonez Mon, Mar 22, 2010 @ 12:11 PM
Yeah I did it!!!! Finally..you don’t know how long I been in fear of trying to put something together, I just feel good that I over came that fear, now for the really hard part…understanding this fine craft that is production and mastering the art of music in motion. Hope all your endeavors are successfull. Take care, AJ
Snowflake
.
permalink   Tue, Mar 23, 2010 @ 10:58 AM
i’m so impressed that this is your first mix! i’ve been listening to your vocals the past two weeks as spinningmerkaba was mixing you - and feel like i’ve gotten to know you through that experience. now that i’m listening to your first mix, well, i believe the stars are your limit!
EXPIRED MINDS
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 9:49 AM
there are many influences in here including jean michael jarre for one, i love the elctronic kaleidoscope of sounds with some african influence and some art of noise.ambient at times and very relaxing, the stages of time through music perhaps, creative work and original. EM
 
.
permalink   Anomaly_Jonez Wed, Nov 17, 2010 @ 6:14 PM
awh..what a lovely review..i was so down about this one..it makes me feel good that people find something good in my efforts. Though I haven’t tried to make any more tunes, this makes me what to. thanks you. AJ