Branching Out Secret Mixter Remixes!
skip
Home » Forums » DIY » A tone of questions and not sure who to ask -.-

A tone of questions and not sure who to ask -.-

Cloudjump3r
permalink   Sat, Aug 16, 2014 @ 9:56 AM
Hey everyone :)

I am getting more and more into the Jungle of DIY music and music biz. I have not done to much here on cc-mixer. But that is not for lack of interest but for lack of time. And I choose to ask here….well simply cause I feel safer here then in any other forum for a reason I don’t know. I have a tone of ??? and hope some people might be able to shed some light.

Briefly about myself. I am a Composer and Producer. I do some work for games and so on. Play live hen I can and teach music and Production lessons. I love the Idea of CC but I also need to come to the point where I can make some money from my music. And I am sure there must be a way is still about sharing and fair exchange.

1. As a CC artist do I still want a lable? And how would I best go about finding one?

2. Can I still register my music with ASCAP, BMI…etc.? And do I want to? Why?

3.Do any of you have experience with services like OneRPM, CDBaby…etc.? Can you recommend one? Is there a conflict with cc music?

4.How do all of you go about spreading their music? I feel somwwhat drowned in all the things your supposedly “NEED” to do. Social media, PR, Press kits…etc. I am very aware that being an Artist is a business as much as everything else is…if not more. But how to get this stuff running without others to help you?

5. A lot of what I can find in the vast Jungle of the internet applies to beats and EDM. But that is not really my focus…or not all the time. What about Orchestral? And expermental? and just cool melodic un-poppy stuff. There is surely scenes and subculture around that. But how do you get into that or find the right one?

….well these are some of theme and some more might follow later :)