Branching Out Secret Mixter Sign Ups
skip
Home » People » ScOmBer » The Saddest Story » Reviews

Reviews for "The Saddest Story"

The Saddest Story
by ScOmBer
Recommends (18)
Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 6:13 AM

Samples are used in:

 
Budapest BluesBoy
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 6:37 AM
Sweet the sixities - mid seventies flavours, perfect arrange, one of my secret favs from this site…
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 5:05 PM
Thanks hepepe.hu !
Don Meyer
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 6:57 AM
The mood of the lyrics matches the mood of the music extremely well, and the fact that it sounds mid-1970s fits in well with the lyrical content. Nice!
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 5:00 PM
Thanks Don for a wonderful upload.
I had heaps of fun developing RT’s story. Keep posting gems like this one Man!
panu
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 8:49 AM
so many beautiful tracks blow by, so fast on ccM it’s easy for a great one to be underappreciated. thank the god of all that’s digital for those who dig & curate & produce great tracks lying dormant. this is unquestionably one of the best songs i’ve heard here. and you all know why so i won’t pile on the gravy. and Scomber, the vocal & production on this are in your top three. peace out.
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 5:07 PM
Thanks Panu, I really do respect your opinion brother.
Thanks for the comment.
Would have finished this a few days ago but the surf has been too good.
Mak’n hay while the sun shines.
Frank
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 11:56 AM
Less PinkFloyd, it’s more sugar daddy. Great. Good vibe.
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 5:04 PM
Thanks Frank, I was tempted to pull out my old Gibson LP (glad you play one too) but I ran out of space trying to fit the story in.
Cheers :-)
Fireproof_Babies
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 4:44 PM
Great track Scomber. Reminds me a lot an Elton John Bernie Taupin piece in the overall production, phrasing of the lyrics/lyrical style, and retro-mood. Nice job.
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 5:02 PM
Thanks FB :). I suspect that Elton and Bernie are dirty old men too, though not that interested in 17 yr old girls in mohair sweaters. LOL
radiotimes
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 5:48 PM
Someone said on this site that whilst it’s great to upload stuff made from others samples there is something special about having something you’ve created taken an transformed into something more.

This is just great work and the way you developed the original lyrics and ideas is masterful.

If I could be Moses for a day I’d level that sea for a good few months and set the locusts on the board just to keep you in the studio!!
 
.
permalink   ScOmBer Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 6:04 PM
Thanks RT, I originally used your original laptop vox, (which BTW was really good) but I got the shits with Melodyne so I thought why not sing it myself and it just rolled on from there.
There are locusts in the surf, they are called “purple people eaters”, tiny marine stingers related to the deadly box jelly. Thankfully only about during the summer months and they really do make you feel alive when you get zapped. Often found myself in a swarm trying not to get stung on the face.
Thanks for the inspiration and kind words.
You are right, in saying one of the strengths of ccM is not just the resuse of samples but the anonymous development of ideas and themes.
PS. Was that song autobiographical old man?
 
.
permalink   radiotimes Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 6:09 PM
Everything I upload has a little bit of me in it. It’s great therapy for all the years I’ve put in!!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 16, 2009 @ 11:43 PM
One of your best, Scombers, as everyone has rightly said before me. I drank the words in as I listened to you singing them, the story’s so good. Being female, though, I wish I could see these dreadful clothes that you and RT have mentioned. Not Trevira pants with an elasticated waistband, are they? xxxx
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 19, 2009 @ 4:16 AM
Hey man..but this is a hit..!!!
I love the melody, a especially the harmonys on the chorus ..Great work…!!!!!