Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » Help » Regarding commercial use

Regarding commercial use

MoShang
permalink   Sat, Apr 22, 2006 @ 10:26 AM
I realize that you don’t offer legal advice, but I’m hoping you can help me in the right direction.

I’ve created a remix of David Byrne’s "My Fair Lady" that I want to include on an upcoming album. If I understand correctly, I’m free to do so under the Sampling Plus license 1.0 that allows commercial use of derivitive works. Is that really it, though, or should I contact someone representing Mr. Byrne regarding the track before I include it on the album.

The licence states that one "must attribute the work in the manner specified by the author or licensor." Where can I find specific info as to what Mr. Byrne’s wishes were in this regard. Or is there a generic example I can look at for liner notes on the CD.

Like most people, I’m new to CC and just want to make sure that I understood correctly.
teru
permalink   Sat, Apr 22, 2006 @ 1:45 PM
Sorry I don’t have an answer for you. I just wanted to say I really enjoyed your FM mix (Chinese Ambient?) and look forward to your uploads. : )

Great question though.
MoShang
permalink   Sat, Apr 22, 2006 @ 2:39 PM
Haha, that’s Chinese Chill ;-) Thanks so much. I’ll definitely be posting stuff here - just want to get the album out first. Hmmm, the Crammed Contest looks tasty, though…

I’m just a great David Byrne fan and having a track with him on my album would be a dream come true. But I’d hate to pi$$ him off, or worse, get into legal trouble because I misunderstood the CC license…
MarcoRaaphorst
permalink   Sat, Apr 22, 2006 @ 3:52 PM
In Holland this same license is much more simple:
Quote: De gebruiker dient bij het werk de door de maker of de licentiegever aangegeven naam te vermelden.

Something like:
The user needs to state the author’s or license-holder’s name for this work.