Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » Features » I'm not a professional

I'm not a professional

Bearfoot
permalink   Thu, Jan 20, 2005 @ 2:21 PM
And I’d personally appreciate some clarifaction on things like the difference between a "Cut-up" and a complete remix.

I don’t plan on performing or otherwise distrubiting my work outside of "Hey, can you take a listen to what I got?"

I’m doing this purely for my own entertainment.

In other words a FAQ regarding the actual content instead of the "Is it legal" section.

(Boy, did I just scream "n00b!" Or what there? :P Oh, well, we were all new once, eh?)
admin
permalink   Thu, Jan 20, 2005 @ 4:34 PM
Thanks Bearfoot,

Suggestion definitely noted because no, getting confused over the genre or process terminology is hardly just a problem for those new to the field.

As far as I understand it, the folks that are running the contests are looking for "highly transformative" re-workings — hence the sentence "Let your imagination run wild - and get creative!" in the contest descriptions. You can freely interpret the word "creative" to mean: "really different from the original"

The rest (the definition of the terms ‘remix’ and ‘cut-up’) can lead to some interesting, if highly emotional and subjective debates.

Hope this helps while we consider a "content faq."

Victor
Bearfoot
permalink   Thu, Jan 20, 2005 @ 8:27 PM
Fair enough…

It’s just that this is the first time I’ve ever heard the term "Cut up" used as a musical term.

Thanks for the prompt replies. I look forward to being let loose in the proverbial sandbox to play.
admin
permalink   Thu, Jan 20, 2005 @ 8:53 PM

This is probably the best cut-up (imvho) ever:

http://www.djfood.org/rt20c...

Victor
Bearfoot
permalink   Fri, Jan 21, 2005 @ 9:11 PM
Good stuff. And considering that I listened to it a couple times it HAS to be.. :D
creativelycommon
permalink   Tue, Feb 1, 2005 @ 9:29 AM
so, how did he acquire rights to all this material?