Perfect Harmony Remix Event
skip
Home » People » texasradiofish » Listen » Reviews

Reviews for "Listen"

Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 6:43 AM
Nicely done and a special treat having Manda Zamolo in there. Some real clean funk.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 12:12 PM
Thanks for digging the funky mash, Speck.
timberman
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 7:16 AM
Wonderful true to the Ohio players genre funk. Love the dry and distinct rhythm elements.
Personally, I think the french voice would have fitted better in a ballad than in this uptempo context but that’s just me.
But TRF don’t do ballads, do you? :)
Overall, very very nice work.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 12:57 PM
Thanks for listening, reviewing, and the Ohio Players reference, Per. One of my favorite funk bands.

With respect to selecting Manda’s killer pell and best fit, it was largely the happy result of a random search of my pell library. The pell was the right tempo, somewhat in key with the song, the lyrics convey a sentiment worthy of a listen, and it was the “next pell” in a search to find a fit for J Lang’s call to Listen. Once a practical, yet musically tangential, fit was located, I stopped looking. I like to mix and mash contrasting samples and pells.

If I had written a backing track for the Morcheeba pell, agree classic funk would not have been my first or second choice. But a ballad by TRF? Have not thought about it until you mentioned it. Recall writing and recording slow instrumentals and backing tracks. Will have to look back through the decades of recordings and remixes. You may be correct. TRF may be no balladeer “:0)
VickyDan
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 8:49 AM
Funky, again and again …. Excellent compilation.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 1:02 PM
Merci pour le commentaire encourageant, Vicky
Jacob Nowak
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 9:23 AM
Interesting combination ballad and funk, T. I don’t listen funk too much, but I really like what you did.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 1:03 PM
Thanks, Statvolt ‘:0)
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 9:40 AM
nice funky soulful fusion. Manda has a great voice, vaguely reminiscent of Sade only she’s French & stays on pitch. a true double bonus. great sound & feel to this.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 1:06 PM
Thanks for listening and the Sade analogy, P.
error404
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 9:58 AM
We pay attention but you’re a master of funk :D
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 1:09 PM
Köszönöm, hogy meghallgattak, és kommentálja, Error
Darkroom
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 2:13 PM
Undeniable funk.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 2:43 PM
Thanks for listening, D
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 3:15 PM
Right on!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 3:29 PM
Thanks, Sue. Appreciate ya!
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 29, 2010 @ 12:44 AM
Exquisite production classic funk.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Mon, Nov 29, 2010 @ 12:49 AM
Thanks for the thumbs, DM
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 29, 2010 @ 8:56 AM
Haha. I love your description of how something happened on the way to the forum. That’s my favourite way of making music. :)

I like this blend of elements very much - great mix of beats and lovely vocals. Nice one.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Mon, Nov 29, 2010 @ 12:22 PM
“:0) Thanks, Colab
debbizo
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 3:51 AM
Beautifully funky! I love it and the clarity of that pell is amazing.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 9:08 AM
Thanks, Deb. Manda’s pell is very clean. It’s a well recorded track. There is only slight bleed through from other instruments that is not audible in this mix.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 8:26 AM
You got me listening… and smiling.
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 9:08 AM
“:0)
Donnie Drost
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 11:05 AM
Excellent!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 11:18 AM
Thanks for listening to Listen and commenting, Donnie
Clarence Simpson
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 1, 2010 @ 6:44 AM
Fantastic and clever usage of all those promos. I never would have thought to do that. Well done!

And of course the music itself is great too. Love those horns!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Wed, Dec 1, 2010 @ 11:54 AM
Thanks for the positive feedback, Clarence.
Zapac
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 9, 2010 @ 1:30 PM
Hey, FunkMaster, it’s fantastic!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Thu, Dec 9, 2010 @ 3:37 PM
Thanks for listening and for the thumbs, Z
DCMsc
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 6, 2011 @ 9:01 PM
Wow! I Listened that funk! Amazing work!