Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "April: When It's Seeding Time"

April: When It's Seeding Time
by Subliminal
Recommends (15)
Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 11:10 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 2:46 PM
Your guitar playing is very fine - the tone and clarity are as clear as a bell…and suits the lyric…the Calendargirl voice is couched perfectly in the simplicity of the supporting music. Beautiful.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 11:08 AM
Thank you very much! Your kind words are appreciated as always. But I have to be totally honest with you, the guitar is ‘played’ by Virtual Guitarist 2. I only wrote the chords, selected the style (and riffs) and tweaked the effects somewhat. I felt a bit guilty about the amount of work I had put into this remix, but why add things to a song just for the sake of adding things? In the end it worked best the way it is right now (at least for me).
onlymeith
.
permalink   Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 2:54 PM
Yes of course, very fine guitar on this. Today is a good day for the sensivity on music. Thanks
 
.
permalink   onlymeith Tue, May 6, 2008 @ 4:59 PM
I see Japan (night porter).Good influence.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 11:14 AM
Quote: onlymeithI see Japan (night porter).Good influence.

Actually, I don’t really know any music from Japan, although I like David Sylvian’s stuff very much. I will check that song out, though. Thanks for your review.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 6:44 AM
At this moment in time I’m a bit Calendergirled out!! Too many versions to be really objective anymore.

However I like what you have done here and the guitar is really nice and puts a new angle on the vox.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 11:19 AM
There are now 320 remixes over at CG’s website, so I kinda understand your feeling about just another one of those. I appreciate it that you took the time to listen to it anyway. I am still planning on remixing all twelve of them, so…;-)
TheJoe
.
permalink   Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 10:16 AM
Detecting your profile with a new remix, I expected something like electronic and ambient with a portion experimental.
What a disappointment! ;-)
And what a surprise to hear an “Acoustic” version from you. I like it and if you wouldn_t had made in the details for VG, I would have thought you_re a guitar player too at the end :-)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 11:27 AM
I am always happy to disappoint. ;-) After getting compliments on ‘my’ guitar-playing in Blind Date, I thought that it would be best to refer to my virtual pal VG. Thanks for dropping by and for your kind words.
AT
.
permalink   Wed, May 7, 2008 @ 8:15 PM
This took me by suprise, think I was expecting some of your usual sounds but suprised in a very nice way. I dont think it needs anything else, very fine as it is.
(Do check out nightporter, a fav of mine)
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 8:39 AM
I did check out Night Porter. It sounds very good, but I didn’t actually hear the similarities. But I guess that such a thing is in the eyes (ears) of the beholder. Anyway, thanks for the comment.
spinmeister
.
permalink   Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 1:20 AM
lovely idea - very nice choice of chords. Totally works for me!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 8:45 AM
Thank you for your kind words. The chords are sometimes hit or miss and the stupid thing is that when it’s a miss then I have a hard time coming up with something better. I guess that it comes from a lack of a decent theoretical background. Luckily, this time it worked right away.
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 5:23 AM
A very different remix from all those 320,original for me at least :D
like the feel of it
and really something different from your style of sound
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, May 8, 2008 @ 8:50 AM
My December remix is also of a more ‘acoustic’ nature, but I agree that must of my stuff has a different character.

I used to try and keep up with all the remixes over at CG’s website, but now it’s just too much. A pity, because I probably miss quite a lot of gems.

Thank you for taking the time to listen to and review this one. Appreciated.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sat, May 10, 2008 @ 11:52 AM
I play guitar but it wouldnt stop me from using VG or anything else for that matter to get a result.

Use whatever tools you need to make the music you want to.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Mon, May 12, 2008 @ 9:12 AM
You’re absolutely right. That’s why I decided to leave it the way it was in stead of adding superfluous parts just to make it more ‘my own’.
pyrex
.
permalink   Wed, May 14, 2008 @ 11:08 AM
schön!!!
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Thu, May 15, 2008 @ 8:49 AM
Danke sehr!
vo1k1
.
permalink   Sun, May 18, 2008 @ 2:07 PM
Beautiful and minimal. The performance and production on the guitars is absolutely gorgeous - love the way the texture and melodic movement complement the timbre of CG’s voice and images behind the lyrics.
 
.
permalink   Subliminal Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 8:41 AM
Thank you very much for your kind words. It feels good that such positive reviews keep coming.