Momentum Secret Mixter Playlist
skip
Home » People » spinmeister » BBQ » Reviews

Reviews for "BBQ"

BBQ
by spinmeister
Recommends (19)
Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 1:52 AM
Play BBQ

Uses samples from:

 
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 3:03 AM
Oh, great. Now I’m not going to be able to get that out of my head. It is very strangely addicting. :D
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 12:36 PM
lol - you gotta blame Doghouse for that - imagine how long it’s gonna stay in my head after spending several days with it?
essesq
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 3:14 AM
Pigs everywhere are shouting for liberation, and there is comfort in knowing that at least one is safe.

Thanks for calling attention to Mr. Dog’s pell, I had no idea he too had come out from behind the shining curtain to bestow the sound of his voice upon our ears.

If “hillbilly techno” becomes a radio format anytime soon, I’ll eat my usb keyboard.

Now would you please untie the real Spinmeister and go back to wherever you came from ;-).

(on a serious note: great job, very very funny, and quite infectiously hooky. If your work dries up maybe you can write for the Country Bears Jamboree in Disney World.)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 12:58 PM
if the trend of country music trailing mainstream popular music by about a decade or two continues, you may have to hope that USB keyboards will become smaller and better tasting :-)
Doghouse Riley
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 7:46 AM
Wail, this here’s more like it. Angst. Treachery. The complete breakdown a civilization on a dang global scale. Plus the pathos of a motherless child. But that there sanger is drunk.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 1:06 PM
I’m glad you noticed the socio-economic statement in the remix. And yeah, the singer kept pounding down the martinis so by the third verse things got a little rough :-)

… gotta go now, clean up the olive pits around the microphone.
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 8:34 AM
Absolutely…genius..!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 1:07 PM
thanks DD! I think you were looking for the word “foolishness” though :-)
 
.
permalink   ditto ditto Fri, Jul 25, 2008 @ 12:33 AM
Genius foolishness..! That’s it..!
Subliminal
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 9:26 AM
This is pure madness and way too short. ;-)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 1:09 PM
yes “madness” is a much better word! thanks Mr. S.! :-)
Anchor
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 10:04 AM
humor is an essential ingredient for sanity in todays world. Creatively, this is not only real funny but also artistic in a gingerly, idiosyncratic and high-spoof way. Great work, and nice production too, Mr. Spin.
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 1:21 PM
thank you for those very kind words, AM! I wasn’t sure if the little musical “storyline” would make sense to anyone, but me.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 2:25 PM
I sa… I say… Hell Yeah! (spits into a bucket)…(misses)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 7:01 PM
hehe - I better get a bigger bucket then!
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 3:09 PM
i have to get some time off get a ticket and travel all the way to your part of the world and meet you gyus :D
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 7:08 PM
would love to jam with you, George!

However just to give you an idea, Doghouse and I live over 3000 km apart!
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 8:27 PM
Tell ya what George, ol pal. You come over here to the bad (formerly good) ol USofA and I’ll not only cook you my famous shrimp n grits in dark roux, I’ll make shore yor staggerin around the backyard after about umpteen martinis as well!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 5:52 PM
Hey what’s going on here!!

I’m going all deep and serious and your going paradocsically jingley and Hillbilly humourous!! With a techno woof!!

Great stuff and goes to show that music can be fun as well!!
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 7:26 PM
thanks, RT! fortunately music covers the whole thing
duckett
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 6:49 PM
Wooftastic! I’m only mad you beat me to remixing this (and you know I have to…)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 7:27 PM
sorry D! — can’t wait for your version!
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 8:28 PM
I had to listen to this quite a few times before I could write anything.

Partly it brings back really distressing memories of a Swedish band called Rednex and their “Cotton-eyed Joe” track from many moons back (a black stain on the old homeland, that was); but on the other hand it’s quite brilliantly done.

All the humour in the world can’t mask the fact that it’s one hell of a well-produced track - the transition from hillbilly to dance is so smooth, and you have some excellent touches in there.

Nice work.
 
.
permalink   Doghouse Riley Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 8:35 PM
Oh shore, this you like. As you should, acourse, but not even one mention of whether them cartoon effects or this instrument or that was “distractin” or not. Or whether or not the “cymbals” was too dang hot or somethin. I’m beginnin ta thank you Canadians might be nothin more than a cabal a geniotically uber-talented haters after all. Or are ya?
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 11:04 PM
only ├╝ber-love from this western part of the great white north. :-)
 
.
permalink   colab Thu, Jul 24, 2008 @ 5:38 AM
Ach, herr Doughauser; the first rule of the Great Northern Cabal is that we don’t talk about the Great Northern Cabal.

Now you’ve gone done it.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 8:55 PM
You know, I’m usually pretty laid-back and non-comment-crazy…
but did you really feel it necessary to bring up “Cotton-Eye Joe” as rendered by “Rednex”? Ouch.
And “Ouch.” again. I’m sure they meant well… but that doesn’t quite cover it.
Ow. My head hurts from the sheer memory of it. I’ll forgive you, Colab- eventually..
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Wed, Jul 23, 2008 @ 8:58 PM
thanks for your kind words Colab! And sorry for invoking such stressful memories!
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 28, 2008 @ 12:46 PM
Sorry Spin for coming over here so late and then, I don_t know what to write for a review, because I can_t while laughing all the time.
It_s probably more humoristic than I expected while reading the title, but you showed on the other side something very intelligent and funny musical work. I_ve just read the comment on Rednex “Cotton eye Joe”. I think about to change my profile name now! :-)
 
.
permalink   spinmeister Mon, Jul 28, 2008 @ 1:41 PM
lol! No need to change your name, after all you are not just any Joe - cotton eyes or not - you are THE Joe!
Minus Kelvin
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 30, 2008 @ 2:17 AM
hahahaha… awesome