Holiday Funk & Blues Event
skip
Home » People » Snowflake » Higher » Reviews

Reviews for "Higher"

Higher
by Snowflake
Recommends (30)
Fri, Aug 8, 2014 @ 7:12 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 8, 2014 @ 8:20 PM
F***in’ amazing my dear! You did a great job arranging and producing this deliciously positive track. I thought I had it stuck in my head before… what did I know? It may never leave now. Everybody sounds great and the lyrical integrity is stellar. I’m so pleased to be a part of it. You’re an inspiration!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Aug 8, 2014 @ 9:35 PM
oh thank you Susan! i so appreciate your beautiful contribution. i love that we’re all together :D
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 8, 2014 @ 8:39 PM
Hit!!! Nothing more need be said. Big.radio.hit.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Aug 8, 2014 @ 9:36 PM
oh thanks Admiral! i love your section! are you still in the woods? :D
debbizo
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 8, 2014 @ 10:10 PM
An inspiring collaboration!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Fri, Aug 8, 2014 @ 10:24 PM
thanks deb :D
earritation
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 8, 2014 @ 11:49 PM
~ Yeah! Wobblie greetings!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 8:39 AM
thanks for the great musical stems. they are the foundation :)
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 1:30 AM
Haven’t been here for a while, this is the first thing I clicked on. What a great track, not least from a production perspective, it’s a helluva job to mix different voices, each with their own frequencies and characteristics. Here everybody sounds as if they’re in the same room, singing in the same mic and the almost hypnotic music effectively carries the voices. I hate referring to other artist but this grooves like the best things Staples singers did.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 8:42 AM
oh thank you Paul! this was a naive undertaking on my part ;) it was very challenging to get all of the vocals to sound relative and i had to keep recording doubles and EQing and a few other adjustments to get it to work. i so appreciate you noticing and taking the time to review. we’ve missed you!
copperhead
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 3:44 AM
This is so awesome! Great production just oozing with talent.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 10:26 AM
thanks Greg! and wow, an Ed Pick! i’m psyched!!! :D
panu
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 4:53 AM
nice, nice work…. !!!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 10:26 AM
thank you Panu!! :)
Speck
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 5:51 AM
Very cool gathering of talent in a modern spiritual, inspiring beautiful truths to help combat the ugly ones.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 10:28 AM
thank you Speck. i so desperately needed these lyrics and music all week — the voices of these fellow mixters got me through a difficult journey that has just begun. the healing power of music is real.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 8:15 AM
Ditto, ditto, ditto! This is brilliant, snow. Your production skills are shinning! Probably the most amazing part (production-wise) is how it’s easy to pick out everyone’s voices in the chorus… you found the sweet spot for everyone… excellent mixing. I’m so happy to be part of this… thank you.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 8:17 AM
Also… IT IS SO JOYFUL! Wow.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 10:29 AM
oh thanks Kara! i was very challenged in trying to give each voice some clarity in the choir. in addition to panning each to its own space in the stereo spectrum, i created a “main” channel straight up the middle — so each line of the chorus has someone different singing “lead” on rotation. thank you so much for your amazing contribution. your lyrics are amazing!
Stefan Kartenberg
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 3:10 PM
uuuhhh - very good this is a ready for radio track
 
.
permalink   Citizen C Mon, Aug 11, 2014 @ 2:53 PM
just edit out a few samples or one would have to negotiate with the estates of and Nasa.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Aug 13, 2014 @ 4:15 PM
they are in public domain…..
robwalkerpoet
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 9, 2014 @ 11:47 PM
I can’t really add much to the glowing reviews here except to say that as well as being deep and intelligent this is also commercially accessible. Congratulations to all!
 
.
permalink   Citizen C Mon, Aug 11, 2014 @ 2:56 PM
Is the deep your mean ref to the word “Soul” their is 3 meaning listed now..googledfied it! ..I will take the African-American culture or ethnic pride..one… short for Soul music. I digs it…i started out simple plan to end that way. What is Hip! that Tower of Power!
diaphane
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:16 AM
This time, in french :)
Un superbe exemple de hip-hop élégant et positif. Parfait équilibre masculin-féminin, viril et sensuel à la fois.Et comme le dit Robwalkerpoet,un travail de grande qualité mais aussi accessible Bravo :)
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 29, 2014 @ 11:53 AM
Ah yes, this is all sorts of awesome.

Has a 90’s vibe IMO, which ticks all the boxes for me.

 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Sep 29, 2014 @ 12:30 PM
killer. i love 90’s music - especially CAKE. much gratitude.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Mon, Sep 29, 2014 @ 12:30 PM
killer. i love 90’s music - especially CAKE. much gratitude.