Perspectives Playlist at Art Gallery Oct 12
skip
Home » People » Snowflake » Climb » Reviews

Reviews for "Climb"

Climb
by Snowflake
Recommends (40)
Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 10:05 AM
Play Climb

Uses samples from:

 
Jeris
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 10:31 AM
Very cool…sounds like a Fiona Apple track!
Sounds complete to me…but yeah, I think a heavier and even more sinister remix could be good too.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 10:35 AM
wow i LOVE Fiona! i’m honored by the comparison. it all started with your drum track! i wrote the entire song based on it. so thank you for the inspiration. i’d love to hear a sinister remix (hint hint)…..
 
.
permalink   Jeris Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 7:55 PM
:)
 
.
permalink   Citizen C Tue, Jul 22, 2014 @ 2:02 AM
I heard that Crim resemb also.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 11:04 AM
Umm… killer. Flippin’ killer. Can’t wait to hear where this goes… And yeah, Jeris’ Fiona comparison is perfect. (I love her, too!)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 12:01 PM
thanks Kara!! i appreciate your supportive encouragement :)
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 11:40 AM
Wow, that’s a lot of vocal parts! :)

They sound really good though. Like an a cappella rock band. :)

I have to admit though, a 106.67 bpm tempo is really throwing down the gauntlet! it does have a bit of a “Sober” vibe, but won’t be able to get it unless I can get drums to that speed. :)
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 12:00 PM
i blame the BPM on Jeris ;) that’s what he used for his drum track that i wrote the song too! i’m sorry! i didn’t think about how it would impact its remix-ability :/
 
.
permalink   copperhead Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 6:33 PM
Easy in protools.Set the bpm to 106.67, bring all the tracks in, click tick base for all tracks then change tempo to 107. All tracks will conform then put it back to sample.
 
.
permalink   copperhead Fri, Jul 11, 2014 @ 8:38 PM
If you conform the tracks to 106 bpm then set the tempo to 79.5 and the meter to 6/8, every thing lines up.
copperhead
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 6:37 PM
Listened 4 times and it gets better each time. So many ideas in my head. Did you upload the piano? So good!
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 7:25 PM
Oh yayyyy! Thank you! Yes, uploaded everything :)
 
.
permalink   copperhead Fri, Jul 11, 2014 @ 7:26 PM
I think you meant E dim in the naming of the chords. We move so fast here.

The second time around you use a C7. When I took jazz harm in college, it’s burnt in my brain to this day, you can substitute any chord as long as it has 2 tones the same. C7 has C E G Bb
E dim has E G Bb.
G min would also work G Bb D and so on.

The spelling of the chord is E G Bb, not E G A# which some people often do. Even though A# and Bb are tonally the same, when you spell a chord it had to go by every other note name. E the root, skip F, some kind of G,which in this case is G, skip A and some kind of B which is flatted to get the diminished.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sat, Jul 12, 2014 @ 9:22 AM
oh this is great information Greg!

in my years of piano theory with piano nerds, we were taught there are three types of minor chords — minor, diminished and augmented. although its official name is e diminished, it is a type of minor chord so i included the minor reference. the chord root is E but both the third and the firth are minor (flat) — and i definitely thought of it in my head as a B flat, not an A sharp! :) (i didn’t look that closely at the website i referenced, was just trying to help give go1dfish a reference point for the chord structure since he asked for it).

i explored using g minor but it sounded wrong to me — i should have excluded the D. thanks for your sharing about the two notes — i’ve i’d just used two notes (G and B flat) instead of three i bet it would have worked :)

i love this little music theory discussion!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 9, 2014 @ 9:14 PM
Love where your voice goes when it goes so low…mmmm. The tone is just absolutely delicious. Great vocal arrangement.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Jul 10, 2014 @ 8:26 AM
Thank you Susan! I had to really warm up to hit those low ones so thanks for noticing! :)
Speck
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2014 @ 3:45 AM
A rousing vocal arrangement of desperation and hope. I like the piano too.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Jul 10, 2014 @ 8:28 AM
It’s amazing how desperate I felt singing all of those Climb Outs — not sure what came over me, but I actually ended up sobbing after the last note in one take. (I guess I got a little too into character??) I’m glad the hope comes through too. Thanks for your observant review.
keytronic
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2014 @ 1:38 PM
Great Track…..Kara got it to the point…Ms Apple should listen carefully….epic.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Thu, Jul 10, 2014 @ 7:49 PM
Wow, thank you for your kind and supportive review. that means a lot! If only I could perform with Fiona Apple……(dream……)
VickyDan
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2014 @ 3:35 AM
Very good pella for this dynamic concept… A special page that I discovered with great pleasure…
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2014 @ 5:30 AM
Great piece of musical theatre.
Quarkstar
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 12, 2014 @ 12:05 PM
Pulled in and carried on a wave of your emotion. Beautiful.
morgantj
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 2, 2014 @ 1:28 PM
OMG! I absolutely LOVE this! The lyrics are perfect and as a whole it has a very trip-hop vibe. I like the minimal production and I think it does sound complete. I was looking for some more samples that I would like to work with, but I would not want to change this at all. Downloaded and will be listening to it over and over. Thank you for this.
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Aug 3, 2014 @ 11:35 AM
Wow thank you! I really appreciate the detail of your review. So happy you like it :)
diaphane
.
permalink   Mon, Feb 16, 2015 @ 9:54 AM
GORGIOUS !!!
As I said to Latopa you are both climbing to the top of excellence, and top of demanding music :)