Us Universe Remixes
skip

Reviews for "Not a Fool (In Control)"

Not a Fool (In Control)
by Scott Altham
Recommends (22)
Sat, Jun 13, 2009 @ 3:51 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
morgantj
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 13, 2009 @ 4:00 PM
Nice and clean. Like the sounds a lot. Not crazy about the vocals. In the beginning I could recognize the use of the dblue Glitch vst. Wish I couldn’t recognize the tool used just by listening to the track. Excellent master quality.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 13, 2009 @ 6:43 PM
Yes this has a great edgy feel and I must say I think the vox is a good choice.

Only thing that got to me was the snare hit. To me it sounded too intrusive against the other sounds and took away from the overall feeling. I’d like to hear the track without the snare or maybe go the other way and drench it in reverb and stereo delay it left to right.

OK after sorting that out I’m now off to solve the global economic crisis!!
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jun 14, 2009 @ 1:54 AM
Hey RT, thanks for the comments. You’ve mentioned verby snare’s before, so clearly that’s a sound you like. I think the snare suits the short sharp rhythm (though maybe its a tad high in the mix). Always great to see how we interpret musical elements. Also appreciate the honesty. Ta Ta
colab
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 13, 2009 @ 8:02 PM
I’m in Morgantj’s camp regarding the choice of vocals - I think you have a very strong instrumental track here, but the vocals don’t bring out the best of it.

Separate upload of the instrumental track, please?
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jun 14, 2009 @ 1:48 AM
Hey Colab, regarding the vocal, I actually do agree. As I was writing this, even my wife mentioned that vocals sound odd. Not that they don’t fit, just that maybe another pella would add greater value to the mix than this one does.

In this instance, the backing track came first, so a pella (any pella) needed to fit. This one was the best match. The track took just a couple of hours too, so I’m a little on the lazy side and wouldn’t really want to go through changing the tempo just to fit another vocal (becomes a bit to much like work then ;-)
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 13, 2009 @ 10:53 PM
Perhaps you changed the vocals and/or snare, but this sounds very fine to me.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jun 14, 2009 @ 1:59 AM
Hey Sub. Thanks for stopping by, you’re a regular these days ;-)

No changes made to the mix. Ciao
Alex
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 13, 2009 @ 11:47 PM
I’m a fan of this pell(I mixed it too), but what you did is great Scott! Sounds very good!
I like it a lot
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Sun, Jun 14, 2009 @ 2:01 AM
Thanks mate
panu
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2009 @ 2:52 AM
some great edgy electro-funk grooved get down thingy here. the mix is perfect for a packed room full of drip fans. (the synth outro is classic!).
dripmanila
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2009 @ 2:17 PM
thanks for this great remix Scott! I just shared it on Drip’s Official Facebook Page!
madskilled
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 15, 2009 @ 1:17 AM
U r the Reigning King of CCMIXTER. Thats all I have to say about your productions.
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 16, 2009 @ 8:30 AM
cool sounds Mr. Altham - sounds very good with headphones…she has a great power voice…and your mixology is expertly applied as usual…enjoyed it!
TheJoe
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 16, 2009 @ 2:38 PM
Cool electro track!

I like especially the heavy guitar riffs at the beginning of the chorus. I would say “You_ve got the power!” ;-)
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 20, 2009 @ 6:44 AM
I’m really digging this. Make me want to get my sexy dance on.
Really nice mix.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Sat, Jun 20, 2009 @ 8:09 AM
Hey Scott. Nice mix. Shades of Axel F in there and cool choice of retro sounds. Sounds polished as always.
Joshua Hults
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 2:29 AM
surprising how the whole song through never got bored once, that takes talent ! Also want to say i read some other reviews about a snare this and that, and its 100% fine, blends perfect. I am going to use this song as inspiration. And yes, so far you are the best mix artist on the site i have come across, great work on the song.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Mon, Jun 22, 2009 @ 2:57 AM
Thanks a lot Joshua, what a wonderful review. Cheers