Beauty of Perspective Event
skip
Home » People » Scomber » Down with Vertigo » Reviews

Reviews for "Down with Vertigo"

Down with Vertigo
by Scomber
Recommends (10)
Thu, Aug 22, 2019 @ 12:37 AM

Uses samples from:

 
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 22, 2019 @ 12:51 AM
Snappy hip rhythmic groove, Leon
 
.
permalink   Scomber Fri, Aug 23, 2019 @ 3:19 AM
Thanks TRF, just following the beat and that wicked bass line. Had lots of fun with this :)
Nickillus
.
permalink   Thu, Aug 22, 2019 @ 4:16 AM
Infectiously catchy groove. Works really well with the vocals, and builds beautifully as different elements come in.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Fri, Aug 23, 2019 @ 3:20 AM
A wonderful backing track to build on, not much more to do. Thanks N!
marlowe34
.
permalink   Fri, Aug 23, 2019 @ 4:18 AM
Sad Story, Leon. I’m very sorry for that. But isn’t it an unavoidable end for those who are searching for the ultimate kick? I can’t suppress calling it a death wish.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Fri, Aug 23, 2019 @ 4:31 AM
The tag “comedy” might have given it away. His “death” was entirely figurative. Max is alive and kicking but gave up jumping off high things when his girlfriend had a baby. He lost his nerve and sadly, as I’m sure he would agree, died a little when he gave it up. Growing up I always felt sorry for his poor worrying mother and the security guards that lost their jobs after he outsmarted them.
Thanks for the review!
 
.
permalink   marlowe34 Fri, Aug 23, 2019 @ 4:43 AM
Okay, I did not realize the tag. But I’m still sad for those who did not catch the “jump” in time…
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sat, Aug 24, 2019 @ 5:44 PM
Quote: marlowe34Sad Story, Leon.

We think Scomber sounds and emotes a lot like Leon Russell so TRF calls him Leon.
 
.
permalink   marlowe34 Sun, Aug 25, 2019 @ 3:47 AM
Sorry, I live in Germany. That’s probably why I don’t get a lot of “american stuff”. I don’t even know Leon Russell. Should I?
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Aug 25, 2019 @ 5:41 PM
Leon Russell wrote some famous well covered pop songs like Superstar, Masquerade and A Song for You. Probably best known among Southern USA musicians for his band leadership, production and arrangement work on Joe Cocker’s iconic radio Rock & RnB “Mad Dogs and Englishmen” album and tour.

Whether you should know who he is and his music is debatable. So many fab artists not enough time to soak it all on. Russell is one of my top forty or fifty faves. A master songwriter and arranger.
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, Aug 28, 2019 @ 4:51 AM
Yo Leon, that bass and beat is right up my ally. Funky soulful hip hop.