Join Us Under the Tree - Add Your Musical Gift
skip

Reviews for "Things I love, things I hate"

Things I love, things I hate
by Scomber
Recommends (22)
Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 12:15 AM

Uses samples from:

 
panu
.
permalink   Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 5:24 AM
such a wonderful track, Scomber. beaucoup kudo’s to daughter, not just for her uplifting poetic sense, but for her excellent mic technique (no popping P’s nor ssiibbbiilllaannnnttt S’s). she sounds like she might be Australian, & a writer to be reckoned with. hats off to Dok and the production team.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 10:30 PM
Thanks Panu, you know I’m completely biased but I also marvelled at her mic technique. Mostly i’m blown away by her inflexion. The lisp makes it even more cute. No help from Dad on the words either. May get her to read some Keats or Blake. No pop screen because she thought it was a weird butterfly net and wanted to pull it off the boom and run into the garden.
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 6:16 AM
Utterly delightful and engaging, Scomber. What a brilliant track. It’s brightened my whole afternoon (plus the fact the window cleaners came last week. Thought you’d like an update). xxxx
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 10:38 PM
Thanks Cig
S x
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 9:06 AM
I don’t know who is more brilliant — Scomber or little Scomberella! With a heart like that, you may well have to keep a keen eye on this cutie pie! Although, she clearly knows what she is about. Fabulously fun and engaging. (This definitely goes on my “Smiley Songs” playlist.)
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 10:37 PM
I’m sure she’s been here before.
Aged 7 going on 27. When she was born she flirted with the doctor who delivered her. She already has 4 boyfriends at school and I regularly catch her mouthing her name against their surnames for the right fit!
Thank you SJ, I’m so biased.
I am tempted to upload her brothers latest, but I’m afraid he’ll become a gay icon.
“I’ve got a big fat tommy gun.” is the title.
Thanks for the nice review.
S x
Subliminal
.
permalink   Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 12:10 PM
Quote: ScomberellaI don’t like cockroaches
I’m scared of heights
and dogs that bite


Scomberella is the twin sister I never had. Would you consider adopting me?

I hate being wrong, but I love this song.
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 10:45 PM
I too do not like “crockroaches”.
In summertime they are as big as skateboards and if they look like they are heading in the direction you’re travelling you can hitch a ride on their back like a skateboard.
I may need to take you up on your offer for adoption. With the sea level rise vs the Netherlands plenty of room downunder for everyone.
I’m eyeing up the carpark at the local shopping centre as a potential reef break when the sea level goes up 7 metres.
Thanks Sub, congrats on your recent Ed pick, well deserved.
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 12:19 PM
http://jobobarikan.devianta...

send your daughter’s pix
n I’ll remix with them!

thanx!

jobob arikan
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 10:51 PM
hey Jobob, thanks for the offer but the ex wife may not be too happy seeing a pic of her daughter on a website with the word deviant in the url. I really love your work, but the nazi ex has me by the short and curlys on this one.
Cheers mate.
keep up the great work.
Scomber
 
.
permalink   jobobarikan Mon, May 18, 2009 @ 3:30 PM
I’ve one of those exes floatin too Scombey—

oh well!
Vidian
.
permalink   Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 1:12 PM
Oh, What!?!?
WHAT!?!?
this is amazing!!
Check this song off in one of the things that I love…
You have such a good feeling for this pella. Its so befitting, it sounds like your both just kids at heart :)
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 10:46 PM
Thanks Vidian.
I’m slightly biased though.
Cheers mate.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 7:12 PM
Now you’re getting the family into the act. I’ve got visions of the Osmonds all over again!

to the little one,to Big Bro and to Dad for giving the stage to the true stars!
 
.
permalink   Scomber Sun, May 17, 2009 @ 7:24 PM
A bit more like the Partridge Family.
Me in my David Cassidy wig, cordoroy flares and puffy sleaves. Can you drive the bus and book the gigs?
Thanks RT!
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Mon, May 18, 2009 @ 12:21 PM
this is pretty great scomber. how bout sharing that scombrella pella? :)
 
.
permalink   Scomber Mon, May 18, 2009 @ 1:07 PM
Thanks MCJiB, sure will, but away from the studio for a cpl of days.
Cheers mate
 
.
permalink   Scomber Wed, May 20, 2009 @ 1:52 AM
I’ve posted the pella.
Thanks dood :-)
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 4:02 PM
This is absolutely brilliant, Scomber. What a great idea! Let your daughter know that, come what may, she’s just validated my career as a musician. I’m completely serious about that :)
 
.
permalink   Scomber Tue, May 19, 2009 @ 4:11 PM
Gee thanks DoK. She picked your track straight away, saying that it sounded like a disco fairy doing her steps on an oversized xyxlophone that lit up under her feet as she played. Big is one of her fav movies.
Thanks Man
aliteralmind
.
permalink   Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 10:52 AM
How very sweet and creative.
AT
.
permalink   Sat, May 23, 2009 @ 8:49 PM
Maybe its just a Dad thing but this makes me want to run upstairs and just give my little ones a hug—-just because they are who they are, Scomber you must be very proud—this makes me smile for so many reasons. thanks
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sun, May 24, 2009 @ 3:08 AM
Love the use of your kids here Scomber. Reminds me how much I love the aussie accent (specially on the kidsters) and makes we want to go find my old ‘Round The Twist Season 1’ DVD (greatest kids TV show ever?… maybe, without my pants (show related)).
Down With Ben
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2009 @ 9:43 AM
This is priceless stuff, man. Thanks for sharing.
debbizo
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 24, 2010 @ 5:26 AM
I’ve just discovered this gem and the pella! Your kids are doing great work. Love it!