Perfect Harmony Remix Event
skip

Reviews for "Rise again (treatment)"

Rise again (treatment)
by oldDog
Recommends (21)
Sun, Dec 23, 2007 @ 6:44 AM

Uses samples from:

 
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 29, 2007 @ 10:10 PM
The blend of technical skill, creativity, and thrift-with-the-tools here is so very impressive. It might, if I were a traditionalist, cause me to say that I should give up remixing altogether, except that I would never have begun remixing if this were a competition-by-slide-rule for determining technical skill.
I’d rather say I’m glad I am part of the society which is this board, because so many folks, including especially you lately, bring forth such lovely tunes, that enliven a quiet evening and keep music fun.

I am one of those “quiet joy in the season” people who completely gets the “much quiet, little joy” point of view. I think this treatment captures the sorrow and the muted joy, just as the season demands.
 
.
permalink   oldDog Sun, Dec 30, 2007 @ 2:27 AM
Thanks for the kind comments - and thanks to everyone else for listening and reviewing!
narva9
.
permalink   Sun, Dec 23, 2007 @ 7:55 PM
Oh wow…it’s like the best Christmas present ever!!! I never thought about doing it as a slow country swing…but now I can’t hear it as anything else.

Thanks so much Ross. The harmonica is just awesome.

All the best in the New Year.

n9
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 24, 2007 @ 4:04 AM
This is simply beautiful!
So calm and romantic, everything is fine on this amazing tune.
A well deserved editor_s pick.
jaspertine
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 24, 2007 @ 8:28 AM
Narva’s right. It really sounds like this is how the song was supposed to be played all along. Excellent job!
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 25, 2007 @ 12:10 AM
Well, you were really inspired on this one, all is so ‘real’, so ‘nice’. The ideal song for this Christmas day. I didn’t know this Acappella, the melody is splendid and your arrangments exalt it, in perfection..It’s like if that song had always existed..
shagrugge
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 25, 2007 @ 7:22 PM
old Dog on a roll, another perfect mix from Da OD
Numeron
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 27, 2007 @ 3:19 AM
Ditto to what Ditto Ditto said! This is one of the best examples I’ve heard recently where the music and vocals were MEANT for each other - well done!
Chief_Wax
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 29, 2007 @ 1:09 AM
Great song just really needs to take out your feedback pronto!!!!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 29, 2007 @ 7:06 PM
In these days of the magnifecent DAWS it is very easy to get carried away and try to enhance a mix with the available toys but this mix goes to show how a great touch and a few simple sounds can make something very special.

Excellent work!!
Budapest BluesBoy
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 31, 2007 @ 4:18 AM
5 stars from all stars…
J.Lang
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 2, 2008 @ 5:25 AM
Like it was said, Sounds like the music and vocals were meant for each other. Top Notch Production.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 9, 2008 @ 10:08 AM
Every once in a while a partnership develops that creates something very special.

You two got it goin on again.
tkdsky
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 27, 2008 @ 3:53 PM
Awesome!
colab
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 22, 2009 @ 10:59 AM
Now this was a thoroughly delighful surprise.

I am going through old uploads, and here over on page 335 I came across this wonderful piece. It’s just beautiful. Very appropriate and respectful treatment of the vocals.