Robot Attack, Site Sluggish
skip
Home » People » Kara Square » Pollinators » Reviews

Reviews for "Pollinators"

Pollinators
by Kara Square
Recommends (16)
Sun, Jun 5, 2022 @ 8:14 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Ezra Skull
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 5, 2022 @ 9:13 AM
This is a clever and fun…and it rocks!
 
.
permalink   Ezra Skull Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 11:41 AM
I’ve come back to this a couple of times. It’s very good.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 11:57 AM
That’s so nice. I’m delighted that you dig. Thanks so much, Ezra.
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 5, 2022 @ 9:42 AM
Delightful, an educational warning and a real mood lifter.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 11:58 AM
Thanks for listening, Speck! I’m happy you like.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 5, 2022 @ 10:16 AM
I don’t think I ever heard the words “we all might die” sung with such joyful glee before. I mean I know you don’t mean it that way, but the music man… Great job! The vocals at the end rock my world too. Your voice is luscious. Bravo for this super fun and educational remix!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 12:01 PM
Haha! True, true. I must be over-compensating to eliminate the fear from the truth of it all? Oh, I don’t know! It just came out that way! πŸ˜‚ Thanks so much, Susan.
Apoxode
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 5, 2022 @ 10:41 AM
Okay, now this is my jam, Kara :)
I love it, it’s like TMBG ft. Kara, so smart and fun!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 12:04 PM
Awesome, Apoxode! Yessss… it totally has some TMBG vibes! Cooooool.

Did you ever hear their children’s album called ‘No!’? I sure loved that (and was in my 20s when it came out… I’ve always been a kid at heart).
 
.
permalink   Apoxode Tue, Jun 7, 2022 @ 4:25 AM
Oh yeah, “mouth in the shape of an O, no no no” so cute, I think that had Robot parade too, if I’m not mistaken. Probably my favorite is Fibber island :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Jun 7, 2022 @ 5:22 AM
Haha! Yep! Those are great! I still get “Don’t cross the street in the middle, in the middle,in the middle,in the middle,in the middle of the block” stuck in my head anytime I cross the street.
Darkroom
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 5, 2022 @ 10:59 AM
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 12:04 PM
Thanks, Darkroom!
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 5, 2022 @ 11:06 AM
This is so creative and an uplifting song that really educates us about an important issue. David Attenborough needs to do a Pollinators series with this track as the theme song. How totally awesome!!!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 12:11 PM
Hey thanks, Emily! Yesssss… that would be very cool. There really needs to be a documentary about pollinators. I LOVE your song, btw. Definitely parallels, indeed.
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 5, 2022 @ 1:58 PM
Music is the best teacher, and I know I learned something about pollination and it’s impact from that. And who doesn’t like some retro new wave rocking to teach you it?
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 12:20 PM
Right on!! Thanks so much, Admiral. I’m really glad you liked it!
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 5, 2022 @ 2:39 PM
Oh Kara I cant tell you how happy this beautiful track makes me :)

Almost as happy as the day my lad Theo came to me and said “Dad will you buy me a baritone ukulele?”

Which of course I did … straight away!

He has developed into a very accomplished musician much better than me on the guitar plus he plays keys and drums. He is 18 now :)

He is pleased as punch that you named checked him in the pella :)

Which is (the pella) fabulous with a great message!

Thank you so much. Made my June :)
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 12:32 PM
YAYYYYYYY! I’m so happy you dug this!!

Amazing that your son played this at 12 and is now 18. So cool to learn that he kept playing and learning instruments. And he started with a baritone ukulele? Theo has excellent taste!!

Thank you for all of the music you share. Truly. You are so gifted. It was such a pleasure to work with your song.
spinningmerkaba
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 5, 2022 @ 9:38 PM
Lizards on the ground spreading pollen all around! I love it! I’m adding this to my garden playlist. Ha! Bat out of a cave! Love it!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 12:33 PM
Haha! I’m glad you dig it, Spin. And cooooool! Thanks for the playlist add.
 
.
permalink   spinningmerkaba Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 12:55 PM
Watering my apple tree to this in my headphones!
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Tue, Jun 7, 2022 @ 5:23 AM
πŸ’¦πŸŽπŸŒ³ + 🎧 = πŸ’—πŸ’—πŸ’—
Radioontheshelf
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 10:16 AM
Perfectly polinated
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 6, 2022 @ 12:34 PM
Hey Radio! Thank you!
Bluemillenium
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 9, 2022 @ 1:14 PM
Good vibration in this mix and good work Kara
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jun 13, 2022 @ 8:53 AM
Thanks so much, Blue! I appreciate it.
Robert Warrington
.
permalink   Sun, Jul 10, 2022 @ 5:23 PM
I love your approach to your material here, both the subject and the samples - such as the way you introduce the (brilliantly chosen) guitar parts with a playful nod to the heightened conventions of live performance. The playfulness throughout is the key to why everything works so well, and the dexterity on display, obviously.
 
.
permalink   Kara Square Mon, Jul 11, 2022 @ 10:25 AM
You are so kind, Robert! Thank you for your incredibly thoughtful and detailed review. This was definitely a fun one to make… I’m so glad the playfulness comes through.