Momentum Secret Mixter Signups
skip

Reviews for "Saturday Morning 4 a.m."

Saturday Morning 4 a.m.
by gurdonark
Recommends (15)
Sun, Nov 29, 2009 @ 6:10 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
essesq
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 29, 2009 @ 6:22 PM
Rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated …Happily I am very much alive. Just ruffling through a weeks worth of e-mails after being away and I got the upload notice on this one. I thought you were a pretty optimistic character but this is dark as old stale coffee. Effective though ;-).

Thanks for picking up the pella. Your work always pokes away at my purposes for doing what I do and challenges me to think about it in new ways. There is no greater gift a remixer can give than that.
 
.
permalink   wolf sebastian Sun, Nov 29, 2009 @ 10:50 PM
your review gave me a good chuckle!

i am glad you are healthy and well - it helped me relax and enjoy this mix :)
 
.
permalink   essesq Mon, Nov 30, 2009 @ 1:10 PM
A quick footnote to my review. I didn’t realize that the morning after I posted it was Mark Twain’s birthday, and my first line is a famous one of his. Ahh sweet serendipity …
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Nov 30, 2009 @ 3:13 PM
I started out with this upbeat, meditative bit of simple melody I wrote yesterday for a different purpose. Then I remembered you had a vocal track, so I thought I would use the melody for the track. Then, although I saw the the voice track had an upbeat redemptive ending, it sounded better as a kind of lament. Next thing you know I’m snipping and editing into something a bit downcast. I think it is pretty dark, but I still think that dawn is always around the corner.
colab
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 29, 2009 @ 8:21 PM
And here I listen to your music and get an overwhelming sense of optimism. Funny that.

You’re a good kid. Don’t change. Unless you want to. You know what I mean.

 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Nov 30, 2009 @ 3:15 PM
I think of my music as “optimistic”, too, even when it is “darker” music than I post here. I am not much for the light/dark/mood distinctions grafted onto electronic music. To me, it’s sound more or less as sound. Yet the spoken word track did end up getting edited into
something a bit downbeat—for the moment.
AIR_LOMEG
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 30, 2009 @ 7:41 AM
This is the soundtrack I was looking for during the silent early afternoon walks on the frozen November fields of my youth. I went that walk every day on my way back from school. November made it possible to cross the fields. Only scarecrows and that large open space against the foggy and almost infinite background of the mountains. Again, there’s something with your music, something that is particular and strangely familiar and that makes one remember.
Some of the finest remixes of essesq’s material are made by you. I’m glad to see you’re still working with her lyrics and voice. b.k. :)
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Nov 30, 2009 @ 3:28 PM
I like essesq’s ‘pellas.

Yes, for me, the inspiration here was the despair of teenage November
fields.
Carosone
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 30, 2009 @ 3:15 PM
The sound itself is brilliant in this piece, and gives hints of sun and snow. I like it so much! The words, “as dark as coffee” ,are scattered and remind me “Different trains” by Steve Reich, where spoken words had a melody there, and do have a rythm here.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Dec 1, 2009 @ 9:10 AM
Thank you for your kind review. I like that idea of “hints of sun and snow”.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 1, 2009 @ 8:11 AM
The voice is well set and accompanied by the sounds and touches of your music. As all moments of existential contemplation, this too can ultimately be infused with lightness or darkness, depending on your mood.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Dec 1, 2009 @ 9:11 AM
Thanks. I agree that contemplation is light or dark as the mood of the moment strikes.
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 1, 2009 @ 12:43 PM
Love this sound.
Love this atmosphere..
Niemandsland
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 3, 2009 @ 11:54 PM
The time is dripping heavy - Brittle - sadly - pretty as an uncut stone!
warmly J├╝rgen