Temperate Transitions Secret Mixter--Sign Up
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Valves » Reviews

Reviews for "Valves"

Valves
by gurdonark
Recommends (16)
Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 1:30 PM

Samples are used in:

 
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 2:09 PM
I really like the oddness of your tracks. I’ve been into experimental electronica for years and the stranger the better. There’s plenty of variety in here and I do appreciate the attention to detail that goes into music like this (like different delay rates and intentionally tricking the sequencer / quantizer into making the instrumentation sound loose and less mechanical. Nice!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 3:52 PM
Thank you for the review! I do love odd melodies sometimes. I appreciate your mentioning “tricking the sequencer” because so often in my work tricking the sampler and the rigidity of the sequencer is the hardest part.
fourstones
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 28, 2009 @ 5:04 PM
yes, it’s really very musical in how there’s a definite motif (or several actually) that you work, and re-work, that gives it an anchor, even throughout the weirdness. The beat programming/engineering is really good too.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 3:54 PM
Yes, for all its weirdness, it’s never really a noise piece at all, but instead a non-pop musical piece.
Thanks for the kind words on the beats—I don’t do as much with beats as others do, and it’s fun to try.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 8:34 PM
I felt my biologic rhythms shift as I listened — my heart racing, then slowing, my breath being held for a moment, then released. Amazing how sound effects us so viscerally.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 3:54 PM
I’m glad I excited the hoped-for visceral connection to the rhythmic way things work. thanks for commenting!
narva9
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 29, 2009 @ 10:49 PM
Beautifully unsettling. Sonic impatience? Weird yet lovely. Thank you - n9
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 3:55 PM
Thank you! I love that phrase—sonic impatience.
Chuck Berglund
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 30, 2009 @ 9:30 PM
Very Cool…Inovative..not odd to me..Industrial like i closed my eyes and pictured Valves closing opening feeding their nutrients to the machines then the heart valve closing and opening the flow of blood to thy heart. Make a great Track for a Doc!…Im not blinded by Science!…Great Soundwork!…
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 3:56 PM
Thanks! your mental listener’s image is what I hoped to evoke.
DoKashiteru
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 1, 2009 @ 1:42 PM
hehehe, this is cool! Eerie, strange, yet somehow accessible and oh-so-catchy. Great stuff
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 3:56 PM
Thanks! I love eerie, sometimes.
FGrn Grn
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 1, 2009 @ 2:32 PM
Cool
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 3:57 PM
many thanks!
Quantum Theor(y)
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 2, 2009 @ 12:09 AM
Sweet remix. Love the weird vibe.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 3:58 PM
your spooky dub was so cool that I had to do this off-kilter homage to it.
colab
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 2, 2009 @ 8:50 PM
I’m sure I’ve talked about Ralph Records and the Residents here before - but there’s a thing here with the wobbly pads and the sort of shrieking sounds that make me think you’re secretly one of the band members.

But you couldn’t be, of course, because this is so much better.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 4:00 PM
I love Ralph, too, and old Residents work surely influences my sense of melody (as does, to throw a different curve ball, the early songs of Ron Mael).

The Residents hail from Shreveport, a town not 3 hours drive from where i grew up in gurdon,arkansas. Perhaps it’s in the water.
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 13, 2009 @ 7:34 AM
http://jobobarikan.devianta...
Used it here R.
Thanks!
jb
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jul 13, 2009 @ 8:06 AM
Hurray! I’m glad that you use my work. Can’t wait to go see it.
 
.
permalink   jobobarikan Mon, Jul 13, 2009 @ 11:09 AM
Quote: GurdonarkHurray! I’m glad that you use my work. Can’t wait to go see it.

take you favorite plant!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Jul 13, 2009 @ 11:11 AM
I love the way that different images have different assortments of “visitors” to the face of the sunflower!
wellman
.
permalink   Mon, Jul 13, 2009 @ 8:14 AM
I have never been into this style of music (experimental) so I cant say a lot..but I do think this particular piece is full of emotions and motifs..