Holiday Funk & Blues Event
skip
Home » People » gurdonark » Innocence » Reviews

Reviews for "Innocence"

Innocence
by gurdonark
Recommends (9)
Sun, Apr 27, 2008 @ 8:45 PM
 
narva9
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 27, 2008 @ 9:03 PM
It compelled me to read the poem out loud in time to your delightful composition… and such a glorious experience it was!

Lovely!
n9
 
.
permalink   shimoda Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 1:24 PM
Narva, I can totally hear you reading the poem in my head. Perhaps you should do that!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 4:19 AM
I can hear her doing it, too.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 4:18 AM
I had not thought of reading the poem out loud to the music—although I did think of the music as a kind of accompaniment for the images of the poem, or vice versa.
thanks for the review.
shimoda
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 1:27 PM
This is sort of remixed tone peom that works great with the setting. So under the radar and basic that it fits right where it should under the piece. I’d read it myself, but hearing Narva’s voice in my head is better. Nicely conceived and done!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 4:20 AM
Thanks! I like that “under the radar” because so often I get enamoured of sounds in the sample and “ping” them a bit much.
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 8:11 PM
This is really brilliant, in ways more subtle than I could ever muster. I like when you bring forth naivete, you really understand it.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 4:21 AM
Thanks. It’s funny—I like heavily produced music, as well as more minimal stuff, but rarely make much. I’m not sure if that’s aesthetic or just a disinclination to have to work in 23 tracks!
duckett
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 11:31 PM
In a way, I’ve almost been waiting for you to directly address this, since other works of yours have alluded to it- that which is both lost forever, yet never leaves us.
Thanks for reminding us it’s not always bad, to try for something a little beyond ear-candy…
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 4:22 AM
Thanks, Duckett. I like to address innocence, because I think it’s a rare commodity, worth preserving.
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 28, 2008 @ 11:55 PM
I’ve been living in a school for young children (where the mother of my children is teacher), a few years ago. And your music remember me exactly what i could hear through the windows, when i was working at home. My brain has recorded those peculiar sounds which punctuated each moment of a day at the school. I think that i can remember each sound details. That’s why i love the atmosphere of the films of Jacques Tati, that’s why i like your work, because, you just have to close your eyes..to listen..and here you are..Thanks for those “souvenirs”..Nice work.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 4:22 AM
Wouldn’t it be lovely to be able to make the musical equivalent of Mon Oncle? That’s a goal to which to aspire!
radiotimes
.
permalink   Wed, Apr 30, 2008 @ 6:38 PM
Well Narva took me back to warm milk and teddy bears and now you’ve put me back in the playground with my famous yellow cardigan and its railway train design! (Hand finished by a doting Mother badly in need of knitting lessons!)
Great ambient piece and as with all your work well thought out and executed.

Great stuff!
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 4:23 AM
Many thanks. anything with a yellow cardigan design must be good.
FGrn Grn
.
permalink   Thu, May 1, 2008 @ 11:53 AM
Always with the musical movies. Nice stuff
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Mon, Mar 30, 2009 @ 7:45 PM
used this tune here http://www.break.com/userco...

Thanks!
jb
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Mon, Mar 30, 2009 @ 7:48 PM
many thanks to you! I’m grateful.