Temperate Transitions Secret Mixter
skip

Reviews for "HipLife Flowz (MIDImix)"

HipLife Flowz (MIDImix)
by duckett
Recommends (11)
Wed, May 14, 2008 @ 6:57 AM

Uses samples from:

 
Alan Lu
.
permalink   Wed, May 14, 2008 @ 4:15 PM
Nice flow (pun, however weak, intended). My usual treatise on vocals is to bring them out, but in this case, I’m too busy groovin’ to this track to care. And I wouldn’t understand the vocals anyways.
Seems a bit stagnant developmentally. Might want to take more time to build to the full sound, but that’s my personal opinion.
Solid.
 
.
permalink   duckett Wed, May 14, 2008 @ 6:57 PM
Thanks- like I said in the description, just something basic; I wanted some feedback on the general idea before trying to get all ambitious with it… I appreciate the positive vibes though!
BillCarson
.
permalink   Thu, May 15, 2008 @ 12:58 AM
When you said “Basic” I say “good”!
Love the contrast between the tribal (or afro style) melo and bass and the old school drumline… Don’t know if it was your goal but that track really reminds me of some African HIP HOP.
Great job!
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, May 15, 2008 @ 4:24 AM
Thanks! While this remix might not exactly be making J-Que or Zapp Mallet lose any sleep, I still appreciate the compliment :D
beckfords
.
permalink   Thu, May 15, 2008 @ 9:10 AM
another good un’ ol duckster..have you cloned yourself a couple of times? cos u get sooo much work done on here ;-D peace!
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, May 15, 2008 @ 4:07 PM
Thanks! No cloning machines here, just occasional flurries of remixes, followed by agonizing over what I should’ve done better…
LS, now- HE’s got friggin’ helper elves, or is a robot from the future, or something…
 
.
permalink   beckfords Fri, May 16, 2008 @ 8:48 AM
fe real… lol.lol.lol.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Thu, May 15, 2008 @ 6:10 PM
As you say its a little basic but with lots of potential so yes grab it by the throat shake it about a bit and I think you’ll have a very nice mix on your hands!
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, May 15, 2008 @ 7:19 PM
Thanks for listening- I’ll have to give it a few days, then come back and see what I can do; I get what you’re saying, hopefully I can bring some more “oomph”, “sparkle” and “twist” to this
;-)
Doghouse Riley
.
permalink   Thu, May 15, 2008 @ 6:16 PM
Wail, let me just step out on a tender limb here an say (in relation and not contrary to my MI7 tag) that there are two kinds a musicians/composers/producers/etc…, those who understand “groove” and those who don’t. Period. Big Hairy Man. The End. And you, my ol pal Duckett, obviously do. Nuff said. Groove on, me Droogie.
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, May 15, 2008 @ 7:14 PM
I certainly do appreciate those words, DR. Sometimes I hope that people can hear where I’m trying to point to, and ignore the obvious gaps in production/arrangement that an ignorant soul like me can make.. nice to see some reassurance I’m not just tolerated for the amusement value provided
;-)
AT
.
permalink   Thu, May 15, 2008 @ 7:09 PM
I wish I could do what you do with beats—guess its that understanding groove thing that DH is talking about. Good test for groove in my house is if it makes my three little kids dance and they were all three shaking their little hips to this one. Enjoyed alot, thanks
 
.
permalink   duckett Thu, May 15, 2008 @ 7:15 PM
Young ears can be a great test, so that’s a strong compliment to me- Thanks!
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Fri, May 16, 2008 @ 3:19 AM
Hey Duckett
i think i will try a duckett style for my next one:D
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, May 16, 2008 @ 8:20 AM
kulimu
.
permalink   Fri, May 16, 2008 @ 3:55 PM
I love the sound you’ve got here. It sounds like much more than the sum of it’s parts, maybe because all the basic parts fit SO well together.

Very addictive!
 
.
permalink   duckett Fri, May 16, 2008 @ 5:07 PM
Thanks- maybe it’s no epic, but positive feedback’s always nice
;-)
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 8:51 AM
great track here- it does really capture and the bass line is rich and deeep. The bass then is real? Nice..
 
.
permalink   duckett Sat, May 17, 2008 @ 10:30 AM
Thanks! Not real bass, but glad you thought so- everything was off my XV-5050 rack module, and post-processed a bit.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 10:56 AM
Long time ago(again) that I reviewed. No coincidence that yours is the first one because it is mindblowing. One of your best till now, sort of satisfaction to see you today on first place of the remix list.
You are busy like a bee ;-), nearly every day something new from you and now you gather the sweet honey of compliments that is more than deserved. Like Shagrugge_s last track, this is great in it_s way. I am going to be jealous about this work which is the greatest compliment I can give in the moment. Very great work with an overall tremendous sound. TOP NOTCH, Sir duckett!
 
.
permalink   duckett Mon, May 19, 2008 @ 1:24 PM
Wow, Joe- Thanks! Unfortunately, now I can’t leave the room, until my head shrinks back to its normal size ;-)
J.Lang
.
permalink   Tue, May 20, 2008 @ 7:13 AM
Duckett….wow!!! Wow !!!!! The drums,,the bass..wow
Really nice….REALLY NICE!!
 
.
permalink   duckett Tue, May 20, 2008 @ 10:18 AM
Thanks J! I seem to do best with keeping thing relatively simple and tight (as long as the initial idea works too, heh).