COVID-19 & Us Universe Secret Mixter
skip
Home » People » Donnie Drost » The Cuckoo » Reviews

Reviews for "The Cuckoo"

The Cuckoo
by Donnie Drost
Recommends (17)
Sat, Nov 27, 2010 @ 8:12 AM
 
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 27, 2010 @ 9:43 AM
You had me at the intro… love the cello. This is really a piece with interesting movement… love it about 3/4 through when the vocal chorus takes over and leads into the flute (wonderful choice)… only to end cycling back to the cello. Awesome.
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 4:41 AM
Thank you very much for this nice review! Really glad you like it!
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 27, 2010 @ 11:36 AM
yes this is really good, very fine setting for Lisa;s classic pella. Nice job
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 4:42 AM
Thanks for the compliment!
timberman
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 27, 2010 @ 2:33 PM
From the Lennonesque start and onwards to the high energy pop in the middle to the emotional epic ending, choirs and all I think this is just wonderful music.
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 4:44 AM
Thank you, Per!
 
.
permalink   texasradiofish Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 3:06 PM
yes, does have a Beatles-like intro.
debbizo
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 27, 2010 @ 3:43 PM
You had me at the intro too Donnie! I love that flute…and the cello… and Lisa’s vocals are just divine.
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 4:45 AM
Ha, glad I got you. Thanks for review!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 28, 2010 @ 3:05 PM
Nice mix, orchestration and changes, Donnie. Nice spatial feeling. Cello and flutes are welcome sounds.
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 29, 2010 @ 12:56 AM
Great mix Donnie –really nicely done.
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 29, 2010 @ 9:10 AM
Whoa. Love it. You’ve found a perfect balance between hard/soft and dark/light here in your production.

Perfect choice of pella and sounds.

What I imagine Single Gun Theory would sound like today (Lisa sounds exactly like Jacqui Hunt here)

SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 4, 2010 @ 10:59 AM
I’m late to the party so I don’t have much to add other than I liked this very much and agree with most of what everyone else has said already! Bravo!
vo1k1
.
permalink   Sun, Mar 6, 2011 @ 6:59 PM
I find this mesmerizing. It’s a weird feeling of deja vu like I’ve heard this band that does not exist. Like Dead Can Dance meets Massive Attack on a downtempo day. I’d like to listen to an album of this. The production value is excellent but invisible, leaving the creativity bare.
 
.
permalink   Donnie Drost Mon, Mar 7, 2011 @ 10:02 AM
I am really happy about these kind words. Thank you so much!
Steven M Bryant
.
permalink   Tue, May 3, 2011 @ 3:16 PM
Fantastic…The break after the intro was unexpected and very good. Your vocals stood out most of all for me! You have a very beautiful voice!