Momentum Secret Mixter Playlist
skip

Reviews for "Secret Chex Mix (Vidian)"

Secret Chex Mix (Vidian)
by djolliej
Recommends (14)
Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 11:37 PM

Samples are used in:

 
Lars J. Brouwer
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 7, 2010 @ 11:54 PM
a bit too much compression for my taste but do like the atmosphere!
debbizo
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 3:14 AM
I agree that there is a bit too much compression in the first part. There are some interesing moments and transitions. You’ve done well to combine so many samples.Congratulations on your first official remix! Looking forward to many more.
Snowflake
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 7:39 AM
great first remix! your transitions between parts are smoothly done and you have created a continuous piece that flows and develops.

the compression doesn’t bother me. but hey, i like compression :)

hopefully this will be the first of many remixes to come! nicely done!
Calling Sister Midnight
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 8, 2010 @ 7:50 AM
I love compression unless it clips. And all it did was make my little media speakers go “fizz” Very nice for a first mix!
Ivan Chew
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 10, 2010 @ 7:28 AM
It sounded pretty coherent to me. First mix*? I couldn’t tell :)
[edit: *unless you meant your first secret mixter remix. Then again, I still can’t tell lol]
Vidian
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 1:39 AM
Sorry for the late review :P
I’m always late.

Sounds good in my headphones. So cool to hear such amazing mixing of my stuff. :D I really liked it, and I loved the second half.

ps. your avatar is (bazaar???) I love you already :D
 
.
permalink   djolliej Mon, Nov 15, 2010 @ 8:16 AM
Just wanted to say thanks for all the reviews and recommends by everyone.

This actually was my first real remix. All the music I have produced prior to this was original material and/or used stock sounds from my equipment and software. This remix was a lot of fun to make. I spent a few days just extracting samples and had about 20 or so to start with.

I can’t wait to do it again.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 12:29 PM
A booming start leads into melodic percussion, as if a marimba strolled through Halloween into the days of the dead. The melody is propulsive and likable, and it all fits in well with the percussion. Then the break into the little keyboard thing is a nice change of pace, and the way that the keys aren’t always the “easy” melodic progression is a nice touch. I like the way that each motif varies just when it begins to feel like a loop, as if the loop generator were being constantly reset throughout the live performance. The little vintage synth in the late middle is cool, as if the Commodore met Adam and they formed a new melody together, a more perfect union. Very creative song—lots of ideas, lots of fun being had. I really like it.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Sat, Nov 13, 2010 @ 6:09 PM
First remix? No way! You took on quite a challenge incorporating so many samples — and you did a terrific job! The transitions work really well. Bravo!