Time of Terror Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Anchor » Welcome Home » Reviews

Reviews for "Welcome Home"

Welcome Home
by Anchor
Recommends (25)
Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 12:25 PM

Uses samples from:

 
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 12:43 PM
Now this is the sort of track that really should be a Christmas hit. It may not be intended as a song for the upcoming Festive Season, but it has warmth and depth and valuable sentiments beautifully expressed. xxxxxx
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Dec 1, 2010 @ 12:09 AM
thank you Ciggi…
always a pleasure to hear your your thoughts on matters musical!
Speck
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 3:21 PM
Like Ciggi said, high potential for becoming a holiday classic. It has all those beautiful sentiments you’re supposed to feel this time of year, or anytime you think of home, and also the sadness for those of us who hear in the lyrics more of a non-existent ideal than a reality. Great bittersweet backing track too. Truly beautiful.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Dec 1, 2010 @ 12:11 AM
yes - I wanted to capture some of the poignancy of the bittersweet -
thanks for the review Sir Speck!
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 8:43 PM
Christmassy
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Dec 1, 2010 @ 12:12 AM
funny this song was not intended to be a holiday song at all -
It was written in the summer in fact a few years ago….
but I can see how the inviting spirit of the lyric could be extended to a sense of festivity…
thanks!
timberman
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 30, 2010 @ 9:47 PM
Beautiful. The lyric, your singing, the music. Like an ancient medieval british troubadour piece in a modern setting. Lovely
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Dec 1, 2010 @ 12:14 AM
Yay - quoth I…
I wonder as I doth wander….!
Thanks Per -
your review is close to the psychic truth…a different time and place.
Cheers!
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 1, 2010 @ 7:02 AM
Oh brother - this is absolutely beautiful.

I love your singing here - very emotional, very sensitive, very real.

Great, great work.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Dec 1, 2010 @ 9:15 AM
Thanks for checking in Sir Colab….
review appreciated!
oberonskye
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 1, 2010 @ 11:03 AM
Beautiful, lyrics that reached a part of me I thought was unavailable anymore. Simple but so powerful. Never have trouble listening to your singing and always impressed with your phrasing…
 
.
permalink   Anchor Wed, Dec 1, 2010 @ 1:08 PM
a lyricist always likes to hear that his words have an impact -
that means the intent was successful! Thanks!
Janu Madu
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 2, 2010 @ 5:55 AM
I am very impressed Anchor!!!!! I am not sure what is going on here but, your voice is becoming more beautiful and lovely to listen to.
I loved the last song “Beloved” and I love “Welcome Home” too. Whatever creative inspiration has become your muse as of late I like and am looking forward to the next creation.
CherryGollogoly
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 2, 2010 @ 7:20 AM
Oooooooh, I love it….the music had me swaying, then smiling, then the words, then the tears…. so beautiful, Anchor, and then when I got to the end and realized it is dedicated to me, my heart almost burst… thank you, thank you, thank you….
Kara Square
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 2, 2010 @ 3:00 PM
Beautiful. Completely beautiful.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 3, 2010 @ 10:50 AM
I love, love, love this song. It is just incredibly warm and full of love.
VickyDan
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 10, 2010 @ 9:18 AM
I used this “pad for welcom” but absolutely not in this context voice and musical, I just listened.
Merveilleuse chanson, super arrangement musical.
Sorry, I do not know much about your directory, but I will endeavor to fill this gap (and I hope that our mutual friend “Per” help me.)
Subliminal
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 30, 2010 @ 9:34 AM
Ah, the Welcome Home project. I felt very honoured that you asked me to do the mix and even more honoured that you guys decided to go with my mix (although I personally liked Radiotimes’ version better). It was important for me at the time, since I had had some bad experiences with only mixing (not remixing) other people’s stuff.

This was always a great track with a beautiful vibe and this version is a lovely variation with some very good new vocals. But then again, I have always been a fan of your voice.
medicisoundsystem
.
permalink   Sat, Feb 26, 2011 @ 8:03 PM
THis is what Peter Murphy would sound like disguised as Robin Hood serenading maid Mariam in Sherwood Forest.
Sturzstrom
.
permalink   Wed, Jun 15, 2011 @ 8:34 PM
Somehow I missed this. The production is great and to my ear you sound a LOT like Edwyn Collins here (which is no bad thing). Well done.

http://www.youtube.com/watc...
Jeris
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 16, 2011 @ 2:48 PM
Yes, one of my all-time favorites on ccM…doesn’t get much better than this.