Time of Terror Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Anchor » Baudelaire » Reviews

Reviews for "Baudelaire"

Baudelaire
by Anchor
Recommends (28)
Thu, Jun 11, 2009 @ 5:15 PM

Samples are used in:

 
essesq
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 11, 2009 @ 5:44 PM
Love it. Great stuff. Great words, great music, lovely lovely combination of voices. SackJo sounds like an angel soaring through the heavens. Thanks for this.

Nice to see you back Anchor. Missed you :-).
 
.
permalink   Anchor Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 5:54 AM
Dear E -
many thanks - I agree about SJ’s vocal treatment. Thanks too for keeping an eye on me!
Briareus
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 11, 2009 @ 6:48 PM
You’ve both done a beautiful job on this piece. I’m very honored to be part of it.
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Thu, Jun 11, 2009 @ 7:44 PM
I think this is an example of how each part helps define the others to create something much more sublime than the elements. Your track is integral and provided great inspiration. THANK YOU!
 
.
permalink   Anchor Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 5:55 AM
This is one of my favorite pieces of music you have made and that we have worked on - the instrument choices are so apt and the clarity of their layering is remarkable.
colab
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 11, 2009 @ 6:50 PM
I agree it’s very nice to have you back. The vocals are terrific, and really open up a range of possibilities to work with.

So.

Where can I download them? :)
 
.
permalink   SackJo22 Thu, Jun 11, 2009 @ 7:46 PM
Anchor graciously invited me to load the pell over here:
http://ccmixter.org/files/S...
 
.
permalink   Anchor Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 5:56 AM
I appreciate your thoughts (as always) Colab Sir! - Thanks & Susan has uploaded the pell on her page.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 11, 2009 @ 7:28 PM
I can hear that the old magic is still there in abundance!

The band are very good too so get them to stand up and take a bow!
SackJo22
.
permalink   Thu, Jun 11, 2009 @ 7:50 PM
This mix is just so beautiful — I can’t believe I got to be a part of it. Anchor, you sound fantastic — present and musical, love the Anchor harmonies. And Briareus, the backing track resonates inside of me. I don’t know if I can thank you enough for inviting me on this exotic journey across the purple sea.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 5:59 AM
Dear S - a swaggering bow and a nod of recognition to your vocal prowess!
panu
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 1:29 AM
this is more than a great, great track. the simultaneous return of Anchor & Briareus paired with the angel SJ puts it in the realm of transcendant experience.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 6:00 AM
compliments accepted from Panu - one who has traveled to those Purple- Realms himself!
John Pazdan
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 5:53 AM
It wasn’t so much that I missed Europe, or even the Hebrides. It wasn’t the fact that spewing my not quite fair share of carbon on a frivolous tour made me feel a non citizen of the whirl. nope..not even a discussion with a long time colleague in Den Hague about why humidity in Chicago makes flatwound strings sound like they are from, well, you get the picture, don’t you?

Anchor had considered all of that, but it was old hat, ancient gnus… and while Johnny the Sock, who isn’t related to Louie the Scarf or Antknee the Codpiece fired up the Farfisa, he was setting a ..drift..on things. Not that Anchor ever drifts, at least not in that way chillens, I mean his name is Anchor, you dig? It was more a return flow to the Old Way he has adapted since that life-changing incident aboard the SS Minnow, the one he doesn’t talk about, the one that involved the Methuselah of Remy Martin and the dramatic Black Helicopter-led rescue by those “government people”, the one…well, as Panu would say..”some dogs best lef’ settin on the porch”.

Which is simply to say, that steampunk fashion aside, current home burrowing back to the dusty stack of surreal poetry (from your time spent at Trinity, Dublin, at least my time spent at Trinity Dublin cowgrrrl, and I will leave it where it lay for now baby) aside (and I’ll have an aside of that while you’re up (h/t Marx Brothers et al), this is the perfect music for a June evening in 2009.

The middle aged waitress, the one from Kankakee, the one with the unicorn shedding a tear tatoo, left my quart of shandy with a grain alcohol flavored kir chaser on the table..en’-joy.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 6:05 AM
You realize that this review entitles you to the status of permanent honorary membership in the Baudelaire Society with special honors of “Curiosités Esthétiques” as a bonus Laurel!
Thanks John!
 
.
permalink   Johnny SockHead Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 4:57 AM
Steampunk? Now that I think about it, Anchor could have been delving in that area long before it had that name.:)
Kaer Trouz
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 8:17 AM
Ahh to be the chaffe fellow who roams the roads doing nothing. This is fantastic, really surreal.
 
.
permalink   Anchor Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 9:13 AM
Hey my Piscean dumpling! Nice to hear from you - I’ve missed you! Thanks for the listen and the comments on song too. Be Inspired this Summer! x Mr. Mejans
Carosone
.
permalink   Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 12:58 PM
It was nearly one month that you uploaded your last remix, and I was starting wondering where you were. Now I understand, if you join hands with others it takes some time to meet, to prepare, to be all ready, but in the end, what a joy you all 3 give to us listeners. And if this is not an editor pick, I wonder, which is?
 
.
permalink   Anchor Fri, Jun 12, 2009 @ 1:15 PM
Caro-
this is among nicest reviews I ever received…many thanks - in some ways your endorsement is as satisfying as an Editor’s Pick!
Grazie!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2009 @ 7:42 AM
What a richly coloured and textured feast of sound! This is nothing short of magnificent.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 16, 2009 @ 1:06 PM
Anchor,

knowing that you write so intense and beautiful lyrics, this one sounds like a modern fairy tale.
Lovely vocal duett with SackJo22 on Briareus fine backings.

If there is somebody who can do songs like this, than it_s you!
Johnny SockHead
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 3, 2009 @ 4:52 AM
Not of this country…not of this world. Wonderful old world / middle eastern mixture & flair. Nice combo of vocals. Imagery is, as always, heady!
jobobarikan
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 11, 2009 @ 6:04 PM