Listen to Hidden Treasures Remixes!
skip
Home » People » Jeris » Think of Nothing » Reviews

Reviews for "Think of Nothing"

Think of Nothing
by Jeris
Recommends (17)
Sun, Jan 25, 2015 @ 5:03 PM

Samples are used in:

 
Martijn de Boer (NiGiD)
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 25, 2015 @ 5:38 PM
Very nice Jeris, love it
(I kinda hoped you’d pick it up.)
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Jan 25, 2015 @ 6:05 PM
Thanks man, that bass is groovin hard!!
latopa
.
permalink   Sun, Jan 25, 2015 @ 9:08 PM
Martini and a smile! very chill mix Jeris, finally a real organic percussion groove…(more variations on the bongos would have made it better)and the bass groove is in the pocket
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Jan 25, 2015 @ 10:51 PM
Thanks! The first 4 bars were a bongo loop and then the rest was actually 3 big loops I made… so almost every measure after that had some variation. But, after listening again the variation was so subtle it sure didn’t sound like it…thanks for the tip, I like this new mix a lot more. Added some conga too :)
 
.
permalink   Martijn de Boer (NiGiD) Mon, Jan 26, 2015 @ 10:02 AM
Do you know this percussion MONSTER Manolo Badrena?
 
.
permalink   Jeris Mon, Jan 26, 2015 @ 11:12 AM
Wow…that’s an awesome jam. Thanks for sharing that link!
copperhead
.
permalink   Mon, Jan 26, 2015 @ 11:26 AM
Very smooth composition. Nice choice of elements used. A tip i discovered when making harmonies with the melodyne. If something is sung more than once in a song and you are making a harmony out of it, use another sample of the same lyric for the harmony. It doesn’t mimic the exact waveform and sounds more natural.

Is Sade in the house or is it Dido?
 
.
permalink   Jeris Mon, Jan 26, 2015 @ 11:32 AM
Oh yeah…I don’t know why I didn’t check. I usually use random pitch and time offsets to mimic that. But, yeah…you’re right, why mimic a second take if it’s available naturally?…lol
Doxent Zsigmond
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 27, 2015 @ 2:12 AM
Nice chill, smooth and clear ;-) Makes me think about sunlight we lack these days as summer is still far away.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Tue, Jan 27, 2015 @ 10:22 AM
Thanks, Doxent!!
diaphane
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 28, 2015 @ 2:49 AM
It’s absolutely delightful !!!
And Orrisroot’s voice is a perfect choice. I imagine myself once again in Havana bay, having a drink next to the sea, between dream and reality.
 
.
permalink   Jeris Wed, Jan 28, 2015 @ 5:52 AM
Thanks, and thanks for the mini mental vacation you just gave me :)
Siobhan Dakay
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 1, 2015 @ 9:11 AM
Samba. Coolest kind of. Great vocal work. (Just checked the pella and uuuuuh….this must have been a freaky load of work) ^|^
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Feb 1, 2015 @ 10:10 AM
Hmm…yeah it is. I just added ‘samba’ to the tags. I got pretty adept at tweaking vocals with Ableton, now I’m getting pretty adept with Melodyne. Thanks!
keytronic
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 1, 2015 @ 9:51 AM
If I could I would but I can’t…do the same thing you once did…..

This excellent Jeris !
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Feb 1, 2015 @ 10:11 AM
Thanks man!
wnm
.
permalink   Sun, Feb 8, 2015 @ 5:00 AM
GREAT.
Just curious, what did you do to the vocal track??
The original really sucks,but with your “treatment” the vocals are very clear, just perfect.
I’m working on it but I can’t get anything decent.
That’s frustrating because I spent a while on a music.I’ll probably give up.
I suspect Orris used one of those denoisers that ruine everything on a track….
 
.
permalink   Jeris Sun, Feb 8, 2015 @ 10:20 AM
Thanks. I use a similar process on most of my vocals.

1. First I try to cut and arrange the vocals in Ableton without any time or pitch manipulation at all.

2. Then I use Melodyne to manipulate time, pitch, formant, modulation, etc.

3. For harmonies, I create a double, change the pitch, then add random pitch drift and random time offsets. As Copperhead pointed out, I really should have found a second take and used that (if available)instead of creating a harmony from the same sample. But if it isn’t available the offsets can create a believable harmony…sometimes. Even if it isn’t a harmony doing this will sometimes add more depth to vocals. Sounds weird and flangy when you listen to it on its own…but in the mix it sounds better…sometimes. I wonder if I forgot the offsets on this. I usually get better results.

4. Then I add a vocal effect from Izotope Nectar. I actually just use a free version so I have to record the track as audio in sections because it stops after about 30 seconds. I really need to just buy it. I think I used a folk preset on this one, I don’t remember. On harmonies, I usually use a second Nectar preset.

5. Finally I added an additional vocal effect on both vocal tracks. I used “Vocal Compressor-3 Band” from Izotope Ozone 4”…which I do own. I turned the reverb up to 3.3

If you check back here in a few minutes I’ll have 2 more tracks uploaded. Vocals w/ harmony and vocals without the harmony. Just attribute the vocals to orrisroot not me if you use them. : )
 
.
permalink   wnm Mon, Feb 9, 2015 @ 10:17 AM
Thank you so much!
Much appreciated.
I’m just uploading your new files.
My last question is, what do you use to convert flac to mp3?
I get one tons of programs with malwares….
 
.
permalink   Jeris Wed, Feb 11, 2015 @ 5:18 PM
Sorry it took me so long to get back… I use an app called Music Converter. I just went to the app Store on my mac and searched FLAC. Looks like there’s better options now…but this is what I use http://www.iboostup.com/app...