Temperate Transitions Secret Mixter--Sign Up
skip

Reviews for "A short reflection about love"

A short reflection about love
by TheJoe
Recommends (16)
Wed, Jul 9, 2008 @ 6:50 AM
 
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 9, 2008 @ 7:58 AM
Wow. This is an absolutely terrific reinterpretation. I thought I had it figured out in the beginning, only to be very pleasantly surprised when the beat kicks in … and then having another “whoa” moment when the distorted blippy sound comes in at the halfway point.

The buildup is just outstanding in this track - both in AM’s vocals and in your instrumentals … but the instrumentation in particular deserves special attention - the music at around the halfway mark is some of the best music you’ve done.

Ahh - I’m a happy guy now. Not a bad way to start the morning. :)

 
.
permalink   TheJoe Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 4:16 AM
Thanks a lot colab!

I appreciate your compliment on “…the best music you_ve done”, but I am still working on the ultimative best music I ever will do :-)!

Thanks again for support and leaving a comment!
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Wed, Jul 9, 2008 @ 11:04 PM
yes. absolutely loved it. honest and heartfelt. just the perfect arrangement for this. you own this. awesome.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 4:20 AM
Thanks to you too MCJITB!

You said it right, a lot of heart went into this.

Thanks again for leaving a comment, always appreciated :-)!
George_Ellinas
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 5:15 AM
I feel you Joe i feel you …
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 6:22 AM
Thank you George!

Comment is much appreciated!
I hope you are well!

How is your tour planning going? Could you find a D 50/550?
 
.
permalink   George_Ellinas Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 6:44 AM
yes i have some gigs with my band for this summer and yes i found a D-50 i have bought a Kurzsweil for now and i m thinking to get an old Alesis too, the next one will be probably a TS -10
Anchor
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 7:48 AM
J -
This is the greatest cosmic luscious lounge music heard in sometime. You captured the vocalese spirit of the pella (in my most Mark Murphy mood)and placed in a bed of rich tones. Your piano work is great in this. Thanks for the participation on such a quality level.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 8:06 AM
Thank you Anchor!

I will print this comment and put it on my wall! :-)

You don_t know how I admire your contribution for this track. You really found magical words and vocals for it.

It was a pleasure to work on this. Thanks again also for the Mark Murphy advice. You both have a unique style in your own way and instead of M. Murphy it_s a good thing that you are allowed to deliver your work on ccmixter!
oldDog
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 12:07 PM
I love the way this manages to be both over-the-top (in a great way) and sincere at the same time! - matches Anchor perfectly.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jul 18, 2008 @ 3:50 PM
Thank you oldDog!

getting such a review of one of the great composers here means a lot to me. I recently had a look on your homepage to listen to your various works. I now remember a piece for baritone saxophone which blew me away.
ditto ditto
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 12:39 PM
It’s true that we are not used to hear Anchor remixed like this .
Very amazing and original remix. Impressive part of piano too..!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jul 18, 2008 @ 3:52 PM
Thanks ditto ditto!

I really ask me what is the way to hear Anchor “usual”!? :-)
Here are so many different remixes of Anchor that it_s an amazing thing how much he can inspire.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 12:56 PM
What a great sounding beauty. The quality is dripping from my headphones right into my ears. And as has already been said, a not often heard setting for Anchor’s voice, but fitting oh so well. Compliments to both!

[subliminal message]ed pick[\subliminal message]
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jul 18, 2008 @ 3:55 PM
Thanks a lot Subliminal!

Well you know, this was the only way for me to remix Anchor for my thinking. But i am sure, there could have been hundreds of differnt tries though. I made however my decision for this one. ;-)
BOCrew
.
permalink   Thu, Jul 10, 2008 @ 9:28 PM
AH thats really a cool trakluv the piano

deepR
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jul 18, 2008 @ 3:56 PM
Thank you BOCrew!
spinmeister
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 1:28 AM
It is impossibly hard for me to imagine that you did this without being on the same stage with Anchor.

It feels like you are playing off each other during a special concert where everyone wears tuxedos and evening gowns.

This is emotional in a supremely classy way.

I raise a glass of champagne to both of you! A real musical treat.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jul 18, 2008 @ 4:00 PM
Thank you Spinmeister for this kind review.

When I did this, it really was like Anchor was sitting here beside me. I could feel it.
But I wear an old blue jeans while doing this. No tuxedo_s on my body :-(

And I am looking forward to the day where we can raise a glass of champagne together in the real life :-)
radiotimes
.
permalink   Fri, Jul 11, 2008 @ 6:12 AM
As you well know I like putting Anchor through his paces in a mix but I must say that whilst this has cheesiness written all over it, it also has tons of greatness as well.

Its one of those mixes that I come across here sometimes that makes me say to myself, “leave that pella alone it belongs to someone else.”

Joe this belongs to you!!

Magic!!!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jul 18, 2008 @ 4:04 PM
Thank you RT!

I had to laugh a lot about your comment on cheesiness.

And again, I would see it with pleasure if you would put your hands on it too, you know, your styles are a permanent surprise!
AT
.
permalink   Sat, Jul 12, 2008 @ 9:19 PM
Well Jo this is just a perfect setting for Anchor, you make it very easy to form images in ones mind. Your piano playing is lovely as are the drums youve made.
I also like how you build up to the electronic elements.
Lovely work.
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Fri, Jul 18, 2008 @ 4:07 PM
Thank you AT!

I take the compliment for the piano and the electronic elements, but the drums are loops from the Cubase internal soundframe content which sounded for me so well, that I used them. But I did some editings there though especially on EQ.

I am glad you like it!
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 2, 2008 @ 1:30 PM
Wow this is soooo good. You should be well proud of this one. Is has real feeling and since I’m reviewing this after a day out on the booze (its gay pride day today here in amsterdam) it means I’m totally vibing to this track right now (no seriously, I’m waving my hands around like an idiot)… A C E spells Brilliant! … wait, no it doesn’t!?
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Sun, Aug 10, 2008 @ 9:09 AM
Hello Scott!

Thanks a lot for the review and sorry for being so unpolite to response so late. And yes, I think Anchor and me are still proud of the track and we are glad you like it. I really would have like to see you waving around your hands.
And now I have seen that you have uploaded a bunch of new songs. I am coming there over soon!
 
.
permalink   Mindmovie Sat, Aug 16, 2008 @ 3:57 AM
Great instrumental work, outstanding Piano and arrangement work - although I have to state that I do not like the vocals at all. Would love to hear this as an instrumental track or with a singer who can compete with the backing you have created. Man you have really got it !!!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Sun, Aug 17, 2008 @ 12:20 AM
Thanks for the review Mindmovie!

I do respect your opinion about the vocals of Anchor Mejans and I know, everybody has a different taste. The story behind this song is a bit more complex and so in my very personal sight, Anchor has done his best to take the right mood in coherence with his lyrics, for making this a unique track where I have no doubts about his contribution. :-)!
If you like, you should have a look on his profile to see, what is all behind this fascinating musician.

Thanks again, comments are always appreciated.
The.Spirit.Of.Light
.
permalink   Sat, Aug 16, 2008 @ 6:48 PM
man.. you have finally done a very nicely nuanced piano playing and arrangement job. Let me shake your hand! :o)
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Sun, Aug 17, 2008 @ 12:23 AM
Thanks you TSOL!

You know, as I am digging all your work, this compliment means a lot to me and I can say as well for Anchor.

Okay, lets take our hands and shake, shake, shake! :-)
duckett
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 11, 2008 @ 8:48 PM
Wow. I truly feel bad that this has been up since 7/09, and it completely escaped my attention; there’s truly something unexpected, yet utterly delightful, about listening to the results of TheJoe remixing Anchor Mejans!
 
.
permalink   TheJoe Wed, Dec 17, 2008 @ 10:33 AM
Thanks duckett!

You know it_s never too late for a review especially when it_s such a nice one and coming from you! :-)

Happy holidays for you and many unexpected remixes from you in 2009!