Time of Terror Remix Event
skip
Home » People » TheDICE » Extinct » Reviews

Reviews for "Extinct"

Extinct
by TheDICE
Recommends (18)
Sat, Apr 6, 2013 @ 1:44 PM
 
short hopper
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 6, 2013 @ 3:12 PM
Sounds very good to me. The intro is not distracting at all, and, to my ears, the music has a somber quality to it. In particular, the horns give a sense of foreboding that matches perfectly with Kara’s lyrics.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Apr 8, 2013 @ 6:12 PM
Thanks for your interesting review and for listen. I appreciated very much!
Wired Ant
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 6, 2013 @ 3:47 PM
A successful remix with very assorted layers! Very well done and witty is your drum arrangement and the placing of the trombone!
Love it when the little Ska-Dice made its way to shine!
A very good, clear and balanced production too
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Apr 8, 2013 @ 6:14 PM
I appreciated the word witty, cause it’s exactly what i tried to do with that. Thanks Wired Ant for your kindness and for listening.
Speck
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 6, 2013 @ 4:40 PM
Toe-tappin’, conscious ska. Nicely done.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Apr 8, 2013 @ 6:15 PM
thank you very much, Speck.
copperhead
.
permalink   Sat, Apr 6, 2013 @ 6:35 PM
I am digging this Diceman. Kara sounds great and is right in the pocket. Love the ska feel too.
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Apr 8, 2013 @ 6:23 PM
I appreciate when you say that something is right :) thank you very much Copperhead.
unreal_dm
.
permalink   Sun, Apr 7, 2013 @ 9:48 AM
As always packed full to the brim with good ideas – sounds good too
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Apr 8, 2013 @ 6:26 PM
Thank you very much unrealdm.
I enjoyed a lot your superior mix after completing this.
Rey Izain
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 8, 2013 @ 6:14 AM
Dice bro for me this had a lovely ska (as Wired said) and Toyah feel …really loved it as it feels like an updated version of the old romantics pop tracks that many grew up with
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Apr 8, 2013 @ 6:30 PM
I think i have that old romantics stuff forged in mind, i can not evolve. Thank you very much Rey.
Kara Square
.
permalink   Mon, Apr 8, 2013 @ 8:56 AM
Yeah, I agree with short hopper- the “horns give a sense of foreboding” that works well with the vocal message. This is an awesome mix, DICE. I like the vocal harmonies you’ve created. The percussive accents throughout are great. I like how there is space in the mix… leaves room for thought. Nice delay/echo on parts of the vox. Really, it’s just a very solid remix. Thank you for using our stems!!
 
.
permalink   TheDICE Mon, Apr 8, 2013 @ 6:32 PM
Thanks Kara for your amazing stems. Was a lot of fun doing this mix, very quick! I’m very glad you appreciated. :)
Quarkstar
.
permalink   Tue, Apr 9, 2013 @ 3:05 AM
Beginning is fine, its good.

I think the arrangement matches the hope in Kara’s lyrics.

I like this lots. Love the way the music has several extinction and evolution events, following Kara’s guide. Great sounds and mix.

I could almost hear the bass as a precussion element by adding a little more top end to it, a bit of twanginess and having it less muted, but thats just my opinion. On my system the sub-bass is overpowering.

Great use of the instruments, very well mixed with every instrument clearly defined.