Beauty of Perspective Event
skip

Reviews for "You Believed It Yourself"

You Believed It Yourself
by Siobhan Dakay
Recommends (25)
Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 1:25 AM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
fluffy
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 1:31 AM
This particular rhythm is doing weird stuff to my brain, or maybe it’s the ouzo I drank a little while ago. Definitely an interesting take on how to make the vocal work in a completely different style though. That’s some pretty crazy dissonance going on too. I think I like it, but I’m not sure just yet. Give me some time. ;)

This sort of reminds me of Belle and Sebastian if they were on an acid trip, or something.
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 1:38 AM
Enjoy the Ouzo. It might makes sense when your brain is back to none-birthday mode.
And wow….your B&S comparison works a bit.
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 2:24 AM
Very cool. It reminds me of something that might be heard in the background of a Guy Ritchie film.
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 6:56 AM
Thank you MJ. I myself try to find out where the piano line is coming from…..I can’t recall…that’s really annoys me a bit..
Doxent Zsigmond
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 3:13 AM
This is very cute remix. Like what you did. Very British indeed.
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 6:56 AM
Thank you DZ….
urmymuse
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 3:21 AM
Well I think its great! Like a Madness track made in a psych ward
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 6:57 AM
hahaha….but I don’t do drugs.
But maybe someone put something into my long island ice tea….
Quarkstar
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 3:45 AM
I love how you have planned this, it has a complete arc from start to finish.
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 6:58 AM
Thank you QS for carefully listening and your kind review. :-)
P7R7L5 (DJ Yegor)
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 4:16 AM
WOW…
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 7:05 AM
Thx :-)
Speck
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 5:27 AM
I know I like it. Immediately and muchly. I think you may have a touch of weirdness yourself ;)
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 7:06 AM
hehehe…thanx Speck you may be right :-)
Kara Square
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 5:37 AM
Oh yeah! Totally love it. Those guitars are awesome with the piano… crazy cool drums… another quality, captivating mix!!
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 6:55 AM
Thank you Kara. Oh what a great day.

I really love ccMixter secret mixter release days…
 
.
permalink   Snowflake Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 4:07 PM
i too love Secret Mixter release days! i needed to be reminded of the power and connection between us all and this was absolutely what the doctor ordered. i’ve been working too much on ccMixter behind the scenes and was becoming overwhelmed and almost lost in all of the tasks and checklists. this Secret Mixter has gone straight to the heart of the matter — and i feel so grateful for the music we all share. :)
Snowflake
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 4:05 PM
this is very, very incredible. your piano work is lovely! great drum track and wonderful bass and guitar. your chord changes are fantastic! you’ve framed a wonderful song around fluffy’s cool pell (very British indeed and i love it!). you’ve constructed a track worthy of Air Studios :) i’m impressed. bravo!
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Mon, Jun 15, 2015 @ 9:59 AM
Wow. Thank you very much for this extended review and for listening carefully. :D
Scomber
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 5:33 PM
Peculiar, but very suitable choice of chords. Fits well with vox and very well balanced.
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Mon, Jun 15, 2015 @ 10:02 AM
Thank you very much scomber. Your compliment means something big for me.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Sun, Jun 14, 2015 @ 8:02 PM
I like that guitar riff later in the song, because it’s a bit unexpected after the piano piece. I think it’s great that you took an as-yet unremixed ‘pella and brought it a new bit of life, a new birth(day), if you will.
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Mon, Jun 15, 2015 @ 10:03 AM
Thank you very much. Yeah…i was missing the bridge so I wanted to put something else “unexpected” in there…
Hans Atom
.
permalink   Mon, Jun 15, 2015 @ 6:41 AM
I love being on your mind! Sounds so nice! A bit like slaughterhouse in the end, but thats much, much appreciated.
 
.
permalink   Siobhan Dakay Mon, Jun 15, 2015 @ 9:58 AM
Danke Hans, insbesondere beim EQing der Gitarren musste ich immer denken: Der Hans, der kanns. :D
duckett
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 16, 2015 @ 11:55 AM
The piano reminds me of Rick Wright (“Paint Box”, “Summer ‘68”, etc.) Nice!
latopa
.
permalink   Tue, Jun 16, 2015 @ 4:26 PM
You did it…