Holiday Funk & Blues Event
skip

Reviews for "Dedicated (Why Can't We Not Be Somber? Remix)"

Dedicated (Why Can't We Not B...
by Sawtooth
Recommends (6)
Wed, Mar 21, 2007 @ 12:36 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
NxSG
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 21, 2007 @ 1:35 PM
Hi Sawtooth,

this remix is really cool stuff. But I think the chorus need some bass, and the acappela at the end shouldn’t have this WalkieTalkie effect, it’s too loud.

But really cool, 5 stars!!! Good work.

a-chill

NxSG
 
.
permalink   Sawtooth Wed, Mar 21, 2007 @ 2:05 PM
Actually that last acapella part at the end was supposed to be the chorus, I think. But I liked that last part more so I decided to use it as the chorus.

The chorus not having any bass was deliberate, because I thought it made it sound more foreboding with just the string sample in there. But that’s just me.

And as for the Walkie Talkie effect, that was actually an amp simulator, because I couldn’t get it heard any other way unless I layered it over and over again…maybe I should have done that.

But thanks for the review all the same. :)
 
.
permalink   NxSG Thu, Mar 22, 2007 @ 9:38 AM
kk, i just thought. nice work anyway ;).

a-chill

NxSG
KCentric
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 21, 2007 @ 5:20 PM
I hear where u were going on this one. Cool!

I deleted the pella to make some changes but I may not reload it.

I guess u you got a ccMixter exclusive :)

Thx,
-k
 
.
permalink   Sawtooth Wed, Mar 21, 2007 @ 6:23 PM
Oh. That would explain it.

Thanks for the review, and sorry if this has caused any trouble or anything somehow.

If you DO reload it I may wanna rework this one.

Thanks again for the review. :D
DJ BLUE
.
permalink   Wed, Mar 21, 2007 @ 9:43 PM
i agree with k…i can see where you are going with this. the pace of the vocals and tempo of percussion work well and the strings add a nice anticipation.
 
.
permalink   Sawtooth Thu, Mar 22, 2007 @ 11:49 AM
Thanks for the review. :D
plurgid
.
permalink   Thu, Mar 22, 2007 @ 9:25 AM
Yeah … this is pretty good.

K should definitely re-post this pella … it’s good! Now I wanna mix it!

I like the orch sounds on the beat.

a good one!
 
.
permalink   Sawtooth Thu, Mar 22, 2007 @ 11:49 AM
Thanks for the review. Glad to see this is such a-kinda-sorta-almost-hit. :D