Endurance Secret Mixter--Mix Mode
skip
Home » People » Pitx » April » Reviews

Reviews for "April"

April
by Pitx
Recommends (12)
Wed, May 9, 2007 @ 3:57 PM
Play April

Uses samples from:

 
bombero
.
permalink   Thu, May 10, 2007 @ 1:11 AM
Super!!! Is this are loops which you use???
 
.
permalink   Pitx Thu, May 10, 2007 @ 7:42 AM
The guitars and bass are played “live”: i make several takes and then i select the best one. Drums are sequenced from a basic pattern (loop)
a13thstar
.
permalink   Thu, May 10, 2007 @ 9:11 AM
Dis is funky, man! Luv teh guitars and stuff!
J.Lang
.
permalink   Thu, May 10, 2007 @ 10:47 PM
Oh Yes..this i like. I love your take on this. Love the Guitar work. Very very nice.
oldDog
.
permalink   Fri, May 11, 2007 @ 9:11 AM
Yeah, this works so well, and shows a whole different way to go with CG’s vocal -I can imagine some smokey bar late at night with Ry Cooder accompanying!
PorchCat
.
permalink   Mon, May 14, 2007 @ 12:09 AM
Top-shelf perfection. Dreaming, delirious. This is a for a night of whiskey and dancing with your baby. Absolutely amazing work! *meow*
calendargirl
.
permalink   Mon, May 14, 2007 @ 8:29 AM
gorgeous, unique. may i suggest working without programmed drum loops? the guitar work is so special and can hold the vocal very tight. old dog is very right here - think of ry cooder’s ‘chicken skin music’, or (you guessed it, my favourite) cat power’s ‘you are free’. minimalist powerful stuff! i have posted your mix here, sending many thanks from cgirlx
BeeAge
.
permalink   Mon, May 14, 2007 @ 4:13 PM
The Ry Cooder parallel was right …
I really liked the guitar.
The programmed drums don’t follow the feeling of the song entirely sometimes. Even though I can hear you really tried hard to make them fit.

Nice work!
Wave Theory
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 10, 2007 @ 5:16 PM
Checking out the calendar songs website brought me back to this track and I’m glad it did. I’m very much enjoying the guitar. I hear a pentatonic blues approach very reminiscent of Billy Gibbons when he was still primarily a blues player, especially in the closing bars. Check out “Blue Jean Blues” off of ZZ Top’s Fandango Album to see what I mean.

I don’t mind the drums at all. Sounds like you are using drum loops rather than sequencing (maybe loops you made yourself?). If so, in my opinion keep it up. It’s the way to go towards developing your own sound. Very fresh sound for this website all round. Looking forward to hearing more.
gurdonark
.
permalink   Tue, Jul 10, 2007 @ 5:50 PM
I think this is just lovely, and the guitar is a joy to hear, and perhaps also to sample.

I liked the virtual percussion well enough, but I might suggest you go with a lighter, “a touch of cymbal here, a brush wave there” approach rather than the more traditional set you have here, just to give the guitar a bit of space in which to work its magic.

But that’s not to take away from a great mix.