Pollinators Secret Mixter Signups
skip
Home » People » Loveshadow » Looking 4 Love » Reviews

Reviews for "Looking 4 Love"

Looking 4 Love
by Loveshadow
Recommends (23)
Tue, Nov 24, 2009 @ 6:36 PM

Uses samples from:

Samples are used in:

 
Songboy3
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 24, 2009 @ 10:37 PM
Wow. This is an achingly beautiful & delicate ballad. The voices compliment each other wonderfully. I’m a great believer in the KISS principle (Keep It Simple, Stupid)! Magnificent! I’ve listened to this 3 times already & everytime it goes off, I get angrier & angrier at this cold I got. Merci!
 
.
permalink   Songboy3 Wed, Nov 25, 2009 @ 5:36 AM
My god, Jeff -you have this elegant, heartbreaking falsetto working in tandem with Ciggi’s breathy, trembling vocals that work the hell out of this song! Whew!
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Wed, Nov 25, 2009 @ 11:52 AM
Falsetto = Helium
Tandem = Village in West Yorkshire
Breathy = Cigarettes
Trembling = UK Summer
 
.
permalink   Songboy3 Wed, Nov 25, 2009 @ 11:53 AM
LOLOL!!! Jeff, you are totally bonkers!!!!
Lasswell
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 25, 2009 @ 12:50 AM
Shadow…..I don’t know what to say. You just keep dishing up gem after gem. What a gift you have! BRAVO!
CiggiBurns
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 25, 2009 @ 1:21 AM
I have a complaint - you made me late for work listening to this. I thought I’d just listen to a little bit, because I couldn’t resist it, but then was so captivated by what you’ve done that I had to listen right to the end. It’s wonderful, LS, and I love the way you’ve turned it into a duet whilst maintaining the mood. Thank you for creating something so sensitive and beautiful. xxxx
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Wed, Nov 25, 2009 @ 11:54 AM
I think its good too. Glad you like it.

We are the Peters and Lee of CC Mixter.
panu
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 25, 2009 @ 4:38 AM
absolutely stunning, Shadow.
it’s funny how the chill bump factor increases according to how simple & beautifully played the piece is. this had me ‘bumped up’ with a tear in the eye the whole way.
colab
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 25, 2009 @ 6:19 AM
That will do, LS; that will do.
SackJo22
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 25, 2009 @ 7:46 AM
I just love hearing how we inspire each other, and the whole concept behind this treatment. The vocals are terrific, and that harmony at the end is lovely. Bravo sir.
Carosone
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 25, 2009 @ 1:22 PM
I also like this one, you do not only do R&B, or keypop! This reminds me the shock the monkey remix on your webpage, but you put yourself into the arena with your voice and you don’t come out bad at all. Amazing
MC Jack in the Box
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 26, 2009 @ 10:11 AM
first of all, this is just another really awesome job, inspired pairing of your singing with Ciggi’s, and the mix and guitar are stellar.

one thing occurred to me as I listened to this though, I thought it would be cool if the whole backing mix had the slight hiss that’s present in Ciggi’s vox track. I’m not being flippant or critical, I know it’s hard to match up without EQing the hell out of things sometimes, but to me anyways, there’s a timeless classic feel to this arrangement and performance, a “vintageness” I guess, and for me, that goes to vinyl.

or at least fake vinyl, the snap crackle and pop kind. :)

but nuf said. outstanding job to all.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Thu, Nov 26, 2009 @ 2:06 PM
I know there is a separation in the audio quality of Ciggis vox and the track and think that the solution you suggest would help minimise that. But i choose to leave it as by trying for the highest audio quality and leaving it might, just get some of these vocalists to consider themselves worthy of investing, developing and practising better technique.

That’s not a point of ingratitude but a compliment to the work that’s being done here and a recommendation to take themselves seriously.

Should Randall Cunningham have under thrown because Mike Quick was too slow ?
 
.
permalink   MC Jack in the Box Thu, Nov 26, 2009 @ 7:55 PM
ha, all great points! and valid!

I’m loathe to criticize anyone for putting up vocals, but like you said we should all strive to put up the cleanest and best possible source for others to use. I know some are limited by hardware limitations but just understanding simple stuff like using pop filters and avoiding plosives, signal capture and avoiding clip, etc.

and I hope you didn’t think I was being critical of your mix or how you conceptually approached it. very clean and neat as you are known for. I guess the hiss made me think of listening to this particular song on old vinyl, and I suppose Ciggi’s track (for better or worse) put that thought into my head. :)
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Fri, Nov 27, 2009 @ 3:25 AM
MC i don’t mind the conversation at all. Its supportive criticism and proves you are listening. Going for a `vinyl sound was not something i had even thought of.

One of the unexplored potentials about CC Mixter is the songwriting union. Its no longer a remix. Its working to create a final version that might be submittable to publishers.

I think the diverse improvement in people working in here in all genres is inspirational and vocals are often more than 50% of a mix.

No reason these days for a singer not to able to progress towards better recordings of their work.
And theres lots of help too.

http://www.soundonsound.com...
HEKTOR THILLET (coffeeeurope)
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 26, 2009 @ 7:42 PM
There was this Irish lady’s ummm music, I heard forever ago, which I became obsessed with for about a month. Sometime after I suffered memory loss—lol …and forgot all together where I had heard it… Thought it was “Clannad” for a time; wrong. Anywho! This reminds me of that music I lost.
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Sun, Nov 29, 2009 @ 3:49 AM
This is why you’re cc’s no. 1
radiotimes
.
permalink   Sun, Aug 19, 2012 @ 6:22 PM
One of the good things about having stepped away from CCM for a while are the moments when you find some real gems.

This is a great piece of work even by LS standards and Ciggi once again proves she can not only sing it up a storm but she has that great gift of writing lyrics that are thought provoking and beautiful in their own right.
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Sun, Aug 19, 2012 @ 7:30 PM
Thank you my son, and I agree Ciggi is a very talented gal .
 
.
permalink   CiggiBurns Mon, Aug 20, 2012 @ 7:38 AM
Suddenly Monday seems an okay day! Many, many thanks rt and LS. I’m on Cloud 9 …. and 10 and 11. And this is an absolutely exquisite version.
Gregglectic
.
permalink   Thu, May 21, 2015 @ 1:41 AM
Wow. I feel that if more songs on ccM were like this, I wouldn’t dare uploading anything…

Now my memory fails: is the guitar riff by chance taken from elsewhere?