Yin of Yang Mixing In Progress
skip
Home » People » Joel Frijters » Ask Again » Reviews

Reviews for "Ask Again"

Ask Again
by Joel Frijters
Recommends (16)
Mon, Sep 14, 2020 @ 5:44 PM

Uses samples from:

 
Snowflake
.
permalink   Mon, Sep 14, 2020 @ 7:31 PM
I LOVE these lyrics and melody! Would love a separate pell and a type-out of the lyrics. Your vox and that lovely ringing guitar are so well paired. Thank you so much for making sure no mixter was left behind!! You’re the best!!!
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Tue, Sep 15, 2020 @ 2:52 PM
Thanks! For all the community has provided me over the years helping out in this way is the least I can do ๐Ÿ˜ I shall type the lyric out soon and re-record some pells and upload them soon as well!
Cheers!
Whitewolf
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 15, 2020 @ 9:36 AM
Right on! Great mix, lyrics were very nice, has a sort of 90’s indie feel to it. I can imagine how much fun you had with this. My only question is, was it meant to be cut off like that at the end, or is my laptop not quite working properly?
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Tue, Sep 15, 2020 @ 2:54 PM
Admittedly the quick cut ending was laziness on my part trying to get the track out sooner ๐Ÿ˜ Your eats and laptop do not deceive you ๐Ÿ˜ Thanks for the kind words!
Cheers!
urmymuse
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 15, 2020 @ 9:48 AM
Thanks so much for this!

Svelte is one of my favs of the “instrumental done in hope of a vocal” sample sets i have posted on the site in the least few years.

Really glad it caught your ear and love what you have done with it, especially at such short notice.

The “no mixter left behind” principle is a really important one and i thank you for your commitment and for this wonderful present :)

 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Tue, Sep 15, 2020 @ 2:56 PM
Glad you enjoyed it! I had to do very little in the end to the backing track but given time I may play a bit more in the ethos of the track ๐Ÿ˜ I have been on receiving end of the โ€˜no mixter left behindโ€™ so I too appreciate it ๐Ÿ˜
Cheers!
Mr_Yesterday
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 15, 2020 @ 11:40 AM
Nice track! More time travel…I’m getting a mid-70’s Bowie vibe off your vocals, nice and edgy over the top of another decade’s instrumentals.
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Tue, Sep 15, 2020 @ 2:58 PM
Itโ€™s funny you picked out Bowie I found myself leaning that way while I recording it ๐Ÿ˜

I just love playing in music and this was a great backing tracking upon which to play ๐Ÿ˜
Cheers!
Kara Square
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 15, 2020 @ 2:56 PM
YASSSS! This track is on ๐Ÿ”ฅ! Jumping out of the speakers with poptastic deliciousness. Love it. “We must start with apology.” Such a wonderful message. Thank you so much for leaving no mixter behind, Joel!
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Tue, Sep 15, 2020 @ 3:02 PM
You are too kind my friend! As your review came in I was listening to your track with the Admiral (I think it was anyway) and I was thinking the same ๐Ÿ”ฅ ๐Ÿ”ฅ ๐Ÿ”ฅ!!! Agreed with apologies - Thich Nhat Hahn has a beautiful mantra (in 4 parts) and 50% of it is asking forgiveness as the first step in any relationship whether they are friend, foe or anything in between ๐Ÿ˜
Be well my friend!
Cheers!
 
.
permalink   Joel Frijters Tue, Sep 15, 2020 @ 3:03 PM
Correction! It was you and Mr. Yesterday rocking the groove thang ๐Ÿ˜
Siobhan Dakay
.
permalink   Sun, Sep 20, 2020 @ 5:58 AM
I think this is so much back to my indie parties as one can think. Wonderful mix. Really excellent.
Apoxode
.
permalink   Tue, Sep 22, 2020 @ 5:17 AM
Super sweet, Joel! I must first say I love this track by urmymuse, and second that your lyrics go great with the mood of the original.
Great mixing, I hope you release your vocals separately :)
MalreDeszik
.
permalink   Sat, Sep 26, 2020 @ 1:47 AM
Applause
good listen