Beauty of Perspective Event
skip

Reviews for "Goodbye December (Hester Prynne Mix)"

Goodbye December (Hester Pryn...
by Kaer Trouz
Recommends (24)
Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 11:26 AM
 
Scott Altham
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 11:50 AM
Manic (yet controlled)… Inventive… Smart…. Love It . Great vocals too.
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 1:14 PM
wow, that sounds a lot like my psychiatric diagnosis!:)Glad you liked. I have to review slipping yet, I am on my second listen and just amazed.
 
.
permalink   Scott Altham Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 1:29 PM
Cheers, i know theres a slight vocal syncing issue there, which im gunna fix :-)
panu
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 12:26 PM
there is so much personal troof in this, it’s presumptuous to even think about reviewing it. so i won’t. but it does make me think of what joni might have sounded like at 20 minus several hundred cartons of marbs, and it makes me want to write better music. whew!
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 1:17 PM
thanks PM. The song is not actually too autobiographical at all, rather an amalgamation of experiences based upon friends, and a little of myself. It also has to do with single motherhood.
** I have never smoked.**
sheever
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 1:41 PM
good job
Scomber
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 2:33 PM
Really nice lyrics Kaer and heartfelt delivery as always. Merry Christmas.
Anchor
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 2:50 PM
This was great M’dear. I had to chuckle however - it brought on a memory of my final school dance long ago…my date was a very cool (albeit moody) artistic girl…she caused a sensation that night because she had sewn a red letter “A” on the breast of her formal gown!
But I digress…this is a wonderful mix…has a real sense of good production and of course your touching vocals, both heartfelt and tongue-in-cheek at the same time. Loved it.
Loveshadow
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 4:27 PM
Decembers a tricky month to break up in. Too early then you could be seen as avoiding buying a present, too late and you may have brought the present already and lost the reciept and then be stuck with perhaps a pink hairdryer.

You have a very solid quality to this mix. I like it better when the New Order type drums are gone in the latter part but i might take this one and beat it with my commercial hammer. :-)
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 4:35 PM
Ok, good enough. Everyone knows my love for innapropriate and irritating drums. As for breaking up, does it ruin the mood if I tell you I will be married now for three years in January? KT has a much crazier life than I do though…..
 
.
permalink   Loveshadow Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 4:58 PM
married eh congrats ?

looks like someone lost the receipt then :-)
 
.
permalink   Kaer Trouz Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 5:25 PM
the secret lives of suburban housewives with dark and terrible pasts…..
radiotimes
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 5:17 PM
I like the flow of this and putting the story aside it is a very enjoyable trip through the senses.

I agree that the drums whilst still very attractive (must have been red ones!) are a little over the top but overall they do add to the feel of the piece.
duckett
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 6:18 PM
narva9
.
permalink   Wed, Dec 10, 2008 @ 10:48 PM
Wow sometimes you scare me. There’s so much dark emotion in this piece. Beautiful, fragile, tormented…the song (not you). Great job.

n9
simonlittlefield
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 11, 2008 @ 1:49 AM
I’ll give it an A
slumberlords
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 11, 2008 @ 2:45 PM
ive always love your lyrics, but youve outdone yourself on this one. very good indeed

V
TheJoe
.
permalink   Thu, Dec 11, 2008 @ 4:05 PM
Great lyrics and vocals on a suiting soundtrack. These drums couldn_t be better for it! ;-)
J.Lang
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 13, 2008 @ 3:04 AM
John Pazdan
.
permalink   Sat, Dec 13, 2008 @ 7:59 AM
“Mitzing Manhattans, Hawthorne, her erudite songstress warbling and New Order tubs into one smash pop opus, Kaer T shows the ccM whirl that not everything is comin up Shannon”.

Goosetown Gazette entertainment section/ 12/08
Mahadin
.
permalink   Mon, Dec 22, 2008 @ 6:55 AM
Very original indeed! I like the lyrics, effects on the voice and pads, but agree with the rest that the drums could be more subtle.