COVID-19 & Us Universe Secret Mixter
skip

Reviews for "Great Red Spot"

Great Red Spot
by Fireproof_Babies
Recommends (13)
Mon, Nov 24, 2008 @ 2:32 PM

Uses samples from:

 
billraydrums
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 24, 2008 @ 5:01 PM
I like it!! The guitars are a bit out front for my ears (hey I’m a drummer) But otherwise, badass!! Thanks for making this stuff sound so good.

You should do a themed album. I hope you do!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Tue, Nov 25, 2008 @ 7:47 AM
Thanks Bill Ray! I’m not really happy with the mix. I was going for a scalding metal type sound. I’ll probably revisit this, and fix it if I can.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Wed, Nov 26, 2008 @ 6:31 PM
Just tweaked the mix; Mostly your drums. Added some subtle reverb, and a bit of boost.
panu
.
permalink   Mon, Nov 24, 2008 @ 5:50 PM
as a former sagittarian i can say you’ve captured the burn of the GRS here. and it’s great to hear 2 guys devoted to playing on real instruments get together.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Tue, Nov 25, 2008 @ 7:51 AM
Thanks Mr. Moon! A former Sagittarian? hee…hee… ok :)
Scomber
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 25, 2008 @ 1:30 AM
Great red spot! Glad you’re running with the concept dude. I can see the GRS swirling in my minds eye as I listen; but please, just stop at the Jupiter system.
I think “The Rings of Uranus” would be a bit too NSFW and may frighten the little children.
Love the guitars and agree with Billy Ray that you have the makings of a themed album.
I used to go out with a girl called Callisto who I saw the other day (20 years on) - gravity had certainly taken its toll :-0
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Tue, Nov 25, 2008 @ 7:55 AM
Glad you can dig it; and thanks for the idea! Your review is crackin’ me up.
radiotimes
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 25, 2008 @ 6:11 AM
The drums are a little too dry for me but nothing to detract too much from another guitar thrashout treat!
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Tue, Nov 25, 2008 @ 8:00 AM
hmmm….well that’s a thought. Something’s not quite right to my ears. Metal’s a tough one for me to get right. Glad you like it, and thanks for the advise/listen! I appreciate it.
Subliminal
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 25, 2008 @ 9:39 AM
Oh yeah, nasty…I agree on the dryness of the drums, but the guitar fest is great.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Wed, Nov 26, 2008 @ 5:26 PM
Thanks Sub……gonna try to fix the drum/mix issues mentioned in these reviews. Once I’ve recovered from the illness I’m currently suffering, that is :(
Or perhaps sooner, ‘cause it shouldn’t take much.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Wed, Nov 26, 2008 @ 6:34 PM
Ok…..between trips to the toilet, I tweaked the mix. Mostly the drums…boosted and in a less dry environment.
Clarance Boddyker
.
permalink   Fri, Dec 5, 2008 @ 12:52 PM
Great track, sounds like a soon to be lo-fi classic.

This track needs a singer getting her Janis Joplin on, strategic lyrics and placement with some rock crooning and wailing.

This sounds like a garage band who are polishing their style in a real garage, the lo-fi vibe on this is electric.


I hear that in my head, but until then, great job FB and Billy Ray. (Killer drums man, you rock, you absolutely rock!! I am not worthy and yes, I am being sincere!)

PS - Yes, the drum sound is a little dry, but no less effective, this track doesn’t work without the drums, the spirit of progression on this is killer. But yeah, maybe the drums could be turned up a little, but in my opinion, the way they sound now don’t make the drums any less commanding a presence.

It may sound cheesy, but hearing this makes me want to the see the band in person (Well, I know it is Billy’s drumwork remixed by FB, but this feels like a group of guys who know each, just the vibe)

If I heard this on the radio and I didn’t know the name of the band, it would plague my mind until I found out who it was.
 
.
permalink   Fireproof_Babies Fri, Dec 5, 2008 @ 5:10 PM
Mr. Boddyker, That’s a great idea, ‘bout the female rock vox. I wish some enterprising vocalist would remix it. Yeah, it’s Garage; and brother I’m down with with lo-fi like you wouldn’t believe. I often prefer it to the pristine and polished. Thanks for the listen and review!
tkanupp
.
permalink   Tue, Dec 9, 2008 @ 11:13 AM
I love this. As a standalone, the guitars are a bit too dirty for my taste, but in the context of the GSR, I think it creates the imagery perfectly. Proof that songs don’t need lyrics to say something.