Holiday Funk & Blues Event
skip

Reviews for "Thinkin' About It - Side A"

Thinkin' About It - Side A
by Carosone
Recommends (40)
Sun, Oct 24, 2010 @ 12:24 PM

Samples are used in:

 
Admiral Bob
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 24, 2010 @ 2:20 PM
Almost an eighties Commodores kind of treatment. I like that you’re bringing the funky, with the compressored strat comps, slap bass and all that ride cymbal work. Really great stuff!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 1:09 PM
We spent 25 days to do this, I’m glad that you like it and find the ‘80 black music root behind this.
Songboy3
.
permalink   Sun, Oct 24, 2010 @ 7:57 PM
This is crazy! Fantabulous! You went in! Carosone, this is so proper on so many levels for so many reasons! EXCELSIOR!!!! This definitely has a home in the mp3 player!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 1:12 PM
I’m so happy that you at least like it! My children are singing bits of this all the time (I’ve been playing this song on loudspeakers 100 times in one week to mix and master the recordings at home).
 
.
permalink   Songboy3 Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 1:49 PM
The kids were singing it? That’s one of the best compliments ever and a testament to how good your remix is! Congrats, Sir!
colab
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 4:55 PM
Love it. Great treatment for this pella. You’ve done what I’m so often too lazy to do myself - construct a song complete with verse, bridge and refrain that sound completely natural together.

Lovely track.
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, Oct 26, 2010 @ 2:45 PM
Well, the (12) original voice tracks already had a verse, bridge, chorus division, L&R, so this is all due to Songboy’s generosity and abundance.
TheJoe
.
permalink   Mon, Oct 25, 2010 @ 11:36 PM
Wow! Now this is something!

I haven_t been here around for a long time and dropped in in a free minute.

You have done all justice to thi track. What a great work and I assume that is was a bunch of work to play and to mix.

I remember my ever first remix where I spent weeks with my friends to do as well.

So, all my compliments for such a remix and for the work on this.

To quote colab: I also admire that you made an “old fashioned” arrangement with intro, vers and chorus. This is something that you don_:t hear very often.

Congrats also on the ed pick!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, Oct 26, 2010 @ 2:47 PM
I am happy to hear that someone else takes some time to put up a song, I also agree that one might do a remix even with half of the vocal material uploaded by Songboy.
I walk two feets above the ground, it’s my first ed-pick ever!
urmymuse
.
permalink   Tue, Oct 26, 2010 @ 12:07 PM
Wonderful treatment, top line cool and funky. Just been playing it loud, my family like it too!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, Oct 26, 2010 @ 2:49 PM
Ah ah I like this family thing. Thanks for reviewing
Morebit
.
permalink   Wed, Oct 27, 2010 @ 1:08 AM
Congratulations, arrangement is awesome. Vocals are very well placed, compressed. Overall sound is great, and perfectly fits to this cool funky stuff. Amazing work!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Wed, Oct 27, 2010 @ 1:47 PM
1 review!! Thank you. Then I saw your profile, member since 2007. have you cleared out something? it is a pity, if we judge from your “january”.
 
.
permalink   Morebit Wed, Oct 27, 2010 @ 2:25 PM
I’m not a good review writer:)
and i didn’t care about my profile here, since only making January. That’s the only track I’ve made from a stem i found here. Remixing nowadays is not my favourite thing, January rested on my desktop almost 1 year, i’ve listened to it accidentaly, and i liked it enough to upload:)
J.Lang
.
permalink   Fri, Oct 29, 2010 @ 10:48 AM
100 % in the groove
 
.
permalink   Carosone Fri, Oct 29, 2010 @ 2:43 PM
Thanks jlang I am glad you stopped by.
mykleanthony
.
permalink   Tue, Nov 2, 2010 @ 1:26 PM
“SweeeeeeT!!!”
 
.
permalink   Carosone Tue, Nov 2, 2010 @ 4:36 PM
hey Michael, thank you much for the review, but.. are you sure you are not reviewing the wrong side?? Side B was supposed to be the sweet side, this had to be a little punchier!!
 
.
permalink   mykleanthony Tue, Nov 2, 2010 @ 5:12 PM
Hey!!! NAh Man!!! This here is that FUNKY kinda SWeeeeeettttT!!!!! Nah mean? ……and because this track is so “FUNKY SWEET”, I’ll even forgive you for spelling my name wrong! (smile)

Peace! ;)-
Anomaly_Jonez
.
permalink   Wed, Nov 3, 2010 @ 6:30 AM
So an ultra classic vocal styling this is just so groovy on so many levels great job.

I’m downloading this for my radio show on www.Mixposure.com/chat, tonight at 8pm PST, the theme is freedom and this is perfect.
Thanks

AJ
 
.
permalink   Carosone Wed, Nov 3, 2010 @ 1:15 PM
I took a look at your website, great! it’s also big news for me and Songboy to be part of your show!! Unfortunately 8pm PST is 5am in this part of the world, so I cannot join the chat, I hope you will have some lowfi record of it to send me by email, it would be too interesting for me..
texasradiofish
.
permalink   Thu, Nov 4, 2010 @ 10:10 PM
Ultra smooth retro R&B/soul feel. Fabulous, C
 
.
permalink   Carosone Fri, Nov 5, 2010 @ 4:31 PM
Oh, texasradiofish, you too! I am so glad that you all stopped by to write a line to this.
Anchor
.
permalink   Fri, Nov 5, 2010 @ 11:08 AM
I’ve been traveling - hence my late review…
I always enjoy your expertise…
sounds good with headphones too!

Keep up the good work!
 
.
permalink   Carosone Fri, Nov 5, 2010 @ 4:34 PM
Thanks Anchor I’m surprised that you liked this one as well, I thought you were more off-the-beaten-track (do they write so? I guess it may be understood even if not correct). Be ready for the next one!
copperhead
.
permalink   Thu, Jan 6, 2011 @ 5:41 PM
Nice work Carosone. This is very special and I can feel the love put it in :)