Time of Terror Remix Event
skip
Home » People » Briareus » Torque » Reviews

Reviews for "Torque"

Torque
by Briareus
Recommends (5)
Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 5:47 PM

Uses samples from:

 
gurdonark
.
permalink   Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 6:29 PM
I really like that melody you’ve written for this, and the roving bass line is great. Any time a synth lead has a vaguely macho kazoo sound, it’s good by me,and the beats really work with this one.

The issue for me in this is the relative weight of the elements in the mix. The bass is so very cool here that I want to hear it pulled “up” and roving while the vocals sound a bit “set on top”. It’s easy to understand why you pull the vocals up so much, because it’s a really nice vocal, but I’d like to hear them fitted into the mix a bit more.

I really like that backing wash of synth/stringsish sound, and the trippy feel you get. You really take a vocal that could go one way and fit it into a different way.
 
.
permalink   Briareus Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 7:17 PM
Thanks G. Good feedback as usual. I spent all of a half hour on it - after I laid down the fretless track, it felt…complete. The vocal is so good I didn’t want to tamper with it. But you’re right, a bit more balance is called for. This one is worth doing again, and I’m looking forward to the other mixes of this.
 
.
permalink   gurdonark Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 7:24 PM
I knew you had fallen for the ‘pella, and posted quickly. Although I tend to post and move on, being of almost no skill, you’re so close to something really fun here that this may be one to remix a bit and place the better mix in place of the one you have. I wish I had your gift for hearing a ‘pella and coming up with a melody. I am lucky to be able to write instrumentals.
 
.
permalink   Briareus Tue, Jan 8, 2008 @ 7:49 PM
Yes, I fell hard, and with limited time these days, wanted to do something, at least.

Like good wine it needs to age - which is why I always wait at least 15 minutes before unscrewing the cap.

I’ll sit on it a bit and then remix it as it matures in my brain.
§įǷǷƔ�?ʗʯǷ
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 9, 2008 @ 6:59 PM
Let me just say I like this a lot!!
you say you only spent a good half hour on this, well you think its semi disrespectful towards the artist when you make such statements? And why if such a great melody you got going on why would you cut yourself short? (and we’ve all done it), then I love that poetry about the wine, but 15 mins till its aged? Where you buy your wine? The drive through?
“I LIKE THE TRACK and I think you did A GOOD JOB on it?
“SIP of This Cup?
 
.
permalink   Briareus Wed, Jan 9, 2008 @ 7:55 PM
Wow. You troll in deep waters.

It was 30 minutes - four one take tracks and vocals straight up. A little compression, a little EQ, then master, then post.

If it came off as arrogant, that was not the intention. Just the opposite, really. My time is so limited these days that I normally would have ignored the pella, but I love the depth and feel to it and wanted to do a little something as an acknowledgment to her art. (And since I wrote it, I might as well post it)

Complete simply means I don’t think it needs more keys or horn or whatever - the sonic spaces, while sparse, are enough.

Beethoven got this (Moonlight Sonata with your Boonesfarm, anyone?) I’m just learning this, and not always remembering the lesson.

Do I repeat 16 bar passages? Is that looping? Best review your Beethoven again.

But thanks for the thoughts.
pinkcutiepie
.
permalink   Sat, Jan 12, 2008 @ 4:08 PM
Dude, this is freaking awesome. The vocals totally go with the music and all that. Sweetness!!! :) ;) ^_^ -_^
 
.
permalink   Briareus Sat, Jan 12, 2008 @ 6:03 PM
Thanks PC.
Mana Junkie
.
permalink   Wed, Jan 9, 2008 @ 4:27 PM
Quick and sweet… now this is a pretty funky beat you created for her vocals and I like it.