Branching Out Secret Mixter
skip
Home » Forums » The Big OT » a survey on ccmixters

a survey on ccmixters

laurawr
permalink   Tue, Jul 20, 2010 @ 10:37 PM
Dear ccMixters,

I am a graduate student from the Communications and New Media Programme at National University of Singapore. My name is Rong Wang. This is the first time I speak in the community (as an extremely quiet user of ccMixter) and I am actually seeking your help with an interesting online survey. (Hope you will find it interesting.):)

Currently I am working on a project about online peer production, under the guidance of Prof. Giorgos Cheliotis http://profile.nus.edu.sg/f... who is a leading member of Creative Commons Singapore and has worked on many international projects on open licensing and open collaboration. This project focuses on online communities that are passionate about music production. It aims to examine how people collaborate online, why they are willing to make contributions, and what benefits they derive from their participation and from interacting with peers in the community.

As a respected online music production community and a prominent early adopter of CC licenses, ccMixter makes a perfect exemplar for us to do the case study. It is so successful in attracting both professional musicians and amateurs to make contributions to the community output. We have been quietly studying ccMixter for some time now, as observers, but this time we want to hear what the users themselves think about their participation. Therefore we plan to do an online survey in ccMixter, with all registered members as potential respondents. The survey covers questions about why you choose to upload your music to the ccMixter community, the types of relationships that you build with other members, and the expected benefits for you and for the whole community.

Here is the link to the survey, http://www.surveymonkey.com...